We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Beach Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added A Beach Retreat to your Saves list
A Beach Retreat
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Sale - 20% Off
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Arcadia, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Absolutely, one of the most relaxing clean, comfortable with excellent customer service, we've had in quite some time. Thank you for a nice break:))) We'll be back to visit ABR again. Much needed rest and relaxation. All staff members are super nice and care about your stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have now stayed here 8 times and have enjoyed every visit. Many things to do here ( rent boat, jet ski, fish, restaraunts,) all walking distance. Staff and hotel are great with laid back lifestyle. So kick back have a drink and go be part of the drum circle.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were wandering looking for a beach hotel and got lucky finding this lovely place. The owner greeted us and showed us a large one bedroom with a living room and kitchen. It was beach view unit that is spacious and well equipped. We were only steps away from the water. Enjoyed everything during the stay and will definately go back soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutz, fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I booked well in advance. At the time of the initial booking, the room we really wanted was available for our first night, so we booked 2 different rooms for the stay. In May, we received a call from Natalie stating that there had been a cancellation and she could get us into a different room for the entire stay. We jumped at the chance. The cost was a little more, but we would be right on the beach vs the pool. When we arrived the room was just as it looks online. Clean, and ready for a great family weekend. Everything was great. The outdoor shower was nice, however, a foot shower would have been better. Overall, I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are locals, so we love having a place that we can get to very fast but it still feels like a real vacation. The staff is excellent and the rooms are great. Cleaning staff is great too. I was given peeks into the vacant rooms to help me decide which rooms were the best for my family for my NEXT visit. Nokomis beach is never full of tourists and is always a great time. We've made this place an annual vacation spot for the time right before school starts. LOOOOOVE it. I have a few tips ... bring ice and lots of towels. There is no ice maker and no daily housekeeping (not that the bath towels are good for the beach anyway). Walmart is a mile or so north on Tamiami and the race trac gas station just north on Tamiami has great coffee!

Room Tip: the website is great for showing you where the rooms are as well as their view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Good: The staff was friendly and nice. The beach is gorgeous and at A Beach Retreat you're literally just steps from it. We stayed in the "bridal suite" as they say call it as it is a favorite of newlyweds and it is the "best" room for the view. It is on the second floor and has big picture windows with beautiful ocean views. The price is economical compared to Sarasota beach stays. Close to Tamiami Trail and restaurants/shops.

The Bad: Most uncomfortable bed I have slept on in my life! And I slept on a concrete floor with a futon for a few years. This thing was like a slab of the hardest stone you can think of. I love an extra firm bed, but this was ridiculous. My poor husband couldn't take it for more than a few minutes and ended up sleeping on sofa pillows he pushed together on the floor and wrapped a sheet around. The pull out sofa bed was not any better. So much for "romance".

The kitchen smells like "roach infestation". If you live in Florida, you know that smell. It is distinct and nauseating. You do not get this smell from a few roaches. There has to be a real infestation going on. It was most prevalent by the stove. I did not cook in this kitchen. I put everything in the fridge and did not eat off of anything without washing it first in hot water and soap! Several of the glasses had lipstick and/or food particles on them too.

Towels are like sandpaper. Thin and rough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRetreatManager, Manager at A Beach Retreat, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
We always appreciate people taking the time to send comments. We really listen to online travel reviews to let our staff know when they have done something exceptional as well as be able to immediately correct and improve something that a guest may not have had time to tell us about during their stay. We appreciate your nice words regarding our friendly staff and our gorgeous beach/location. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort you felt during your stay. After reading this review & inspecting your room, we did find a hole in the drywall behind the stove that did produce a musty smell which we have since repaired and fixed. None of our rooms have ever had any kind of bug infestation. We have monthly pest control service and in the event any bugs are ever seen, they come right out to address it. The owner has also purchased a memory foam pad for the mattress for any guests that prefer a softer mattress. All of our units are individually owned and furnished, so hopefully you will come back and give us another opportunity to show you the high level of cleanliness and service our guests are accustomed to.

Sincerely,
Natalie Foster
Property Manager
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you would like to visit Florida like it was in the past, then you will enjoy this location. Quiet, restful, and a great staff to help you with your needs. You can fish, even have docks to leave your boat, walk the beach, and just relax. I also enjoy to meet new people and talk to the guest there, everyone is friendly and polite. This is my location when I visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Retreat

Address: 105 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Beach Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key is a condo hotel that offers beach and bay front vacation rentals located directly on the Gulf of Mexico in Sarasota, Florida. Whether its a weekend getaway or family reunion, A Beach Retreat is the ideal location next to world famous Siesta Key and just north of Venice, Florida. Experience the quiet island charm of Casey Key while still being close to everything Sarasota has to offer. Our tropical setting with fabulous beachfront vistas is perfect for weddings, family vacations or simply a much needed escape from the hustle and bustle. Bring your boat - we have private slips available with shore power. Waterfront dining as well as Gulf Harbour Marina are within walking distance. Casey Key is known for its excellent fishing. Bring your camera and capture one of our amazing sunsets. Nightly, Weekly, and Monthly Rentals Available. Be sure to ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beach Retreat Hotel Nokomis
a Beach Retreat Nokomis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Beach Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.