We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodations on a nice beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Beach Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added A Beach Retreat to your Saves list
A Beach Retreat
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 Beachside Efficiency
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Carbondale, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Basic accommodations on a nice beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This resort is like a small motel from the 1950s. The rooms are clean and well maintained, but small and rather dated despite having appliances that work OK (not counting windows that will not stay open and a door that barely locks). The bed had skimpy sheets even for Florida.

The main attraction is being located directly on the Gulf in a quiet setting, directly on a nice public beach that faces west for great views of sunsets. The down side is that the resort has few amenities other than a small swimming pool and a small, attractively landscaped patio overlooking the beach. The only service within walking distance is a rather sketchy bar and grill.

If this were a motel in some typical small town, the rooms would rent for about one third of the price. The price is apparently competitive with other accommodations in the area, but no bargain, which is why I rate it "average" rather than "very good" based on its beachside location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Found this place on line and liked it a lot, but once we arrived, fell in love with it! The website doesn't do it justice. We had units 32 and 33 and they were very clean. The people that run it and the other staff are wonderful. Very friendly and found them helpful. The location is awesome! Can't beat it, having the beach and the bay steps away from each other. Will definitely be vacationing here again. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had rooms 32 and 33 and you get to park right in front of your rooms, which was convenient. Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful beachview room with a kitchenette. Outdoor grill and beach chairs available for guests. Bed and sofa comfortable and rooms were clean. Perfect casual spot to relax and watch the sunset!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent two nights here while in the area, and we wouldn't go back. We were in room #5, a sort of studio. The mattress was worn out and stained, which I became aware of because the sheets and mattress pad did not fit and kept popping off during the night. The sheets were made of polyester - too hot for Florida - and were torn.

The kitchenette was okay, but who needs a fridge and full stove with oven on vacation. The furniture was dated. The best thing was the cable TV, which had a good selection of channels.

The beach looked nice, although we did not have time to use it. There was decent parking not too far from the rooms.

I requested a bill for our stay, but was told they only issue the small credit card receipt. All in all, not a very professional operation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is really an awesome stay. We got a condo overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the view was stunning. Just steps away from the beach and plenty of restaurants and stores nearby by. The condo was clean and had ample room for 2 adults 2 children with a good size kitchen area. The location is the true treat when you stay at this hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was such a pleasant get-a-way! We spent two nights this weekend for our wedding anniversary. this was s departure for us, being mostly full service hotel or BandB travelers. A Beach Retreat is a Do It Yourself spot. Efficiencies, clean, well maintained grounds, safe. Beach and gulf units. We had a small kitchen, fully appointed with full size fridge, coffee pot, microwave, toaster and plates, glasses, etc etc. We were able to make breakfast both mornings. And take our wine and cheese out for two spectacular sunsets! The room was steps from the beach, and - for the price - was an amazing experience. The complimentary loungers made our beach time so comfy. This is a not a "Dial 0" place. You are pretty much on your own, but frankly, we felt like we owned the place! Private, intimate, comfy. A MUST TRY!

Room Tip: Stay beachside for the few extra dollars! Bring your groceries to save time and money during your tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We wanted a beach and spring training baseball weekend and found this online. Casey Key is new to us and a nice little find. Easy drive from most of West Florida and convenient to both Ft. Myers and Tampa airports, it's got a bit of Old Florida feel. There are many different room choices at this hotel but because of Spring Break we did not have as many. The resort is split in half by the main road (small enough that it's almost not noticeable) with one side on the beach and one on the canal. Our room #45 was on the canal side. It was an efficiency for 2. The room was nice, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice and more than enough. The was a full size fridge, stove, microwave, sink, and coffee pot with all the plates, cups, and silverware needed. Office Staff was very nice. We brought our bikes and found it a perfect bike riding area. Quick drive to either Sarasota or Venice.

This room had a beautiful view from the slider to the canal and the boat docks, but unfortunately it was right next to the public boat ramp which was noisy. Not a huge problem except for a group of very noisy and rude teenagers that seemed to hang there everyday we were there. One kid would park his blue hydrosport with a Yahama engine at the dock and commence to raise hell with his teenage friends for the rest of the day. (local kid, friend of the staff?). My suggestion would be to avoid any room by the canal/docks as the hotel seems to allow anyone to just fish off the docks or throw cast nets.

All in all, a nice experience. If management would enforce their No Trespassing rules, it would make it all the better. I would recommend this hotel if you got a beach side room away from the boat ramp. If you can't, choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the canal side due to loud local teenagers and lack of enforcement of No Trespassing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Retreat

Address: 105 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Beach Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key is a condo hotel that offers beach and bay front vacation rentals located directly on the Gulf of Mexico in Sarasota, Florida. Whether its a weekend getaway or family reunion, A Beach Retreat is the ideal location next to world famous Siesta Key and just north of Venice, Florida. Experience the quiet island charm of Casey Key while still being close to everything Sarasota has to offer. Our tropical setting with fabulous beachfront vistas is perfect for weddings, family vacations or simply a much needed escape from the hustle and bustle. Bring your boat - we have private slips available with shore power. Waterfront dining as well as Gulf Harbour Marina are within walking distance. Casey Key is known for its excellent fishing. Bring your camera and capture one of our amazing sunsets. Nightly, Weekly, and Monthly Rentals Available. Be sure to ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your A Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beach Retreat Hotel Nokomis
a Beach Retreat Nokomis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Beach Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.