We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eclectic clientele and perfect sunsets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Place to Be Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added A Place to Be Motel to your Saves list
A Place to Be Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   212 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dock your Boat for $25
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“eclectic clientele and perfect sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Staff was friendly and responsive, other guests laid back and from all over the world. Atmosphere was inclusive and felt like a community. Under new management and you can see improvements in the quality of the rooms and cleanliness. The sunsets across the street are exquisite, not to mention beach going and fishing. Charter fishing boats available to go ocean fishing too. Caught dinner and barbequed on hotel sight, delicious, can't wait to return!

Room Tip: second story room had view and was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJurina, Public Relations Manager at A Place to Be Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of the motel. We have updated our rooms and renovated the pool. I'm glad you enjoyed the barbeque area on the bay. It is truly beautiful to have both the inland waterway docks and the ability to go across the street to the beach.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

A place to be has a fabulous location on Casey Key. We could walk right across the street to the beach and had a view of Sarasota bay from our room. Prices were fair, and there was a lot to do nearby. We absolutely loved the grilling area near the pool, and gathering area that sits right on the bay. We will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: The second floor apartments generally have a deck and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgecomb, Maine
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place is great. The people are extremely nice, and the location is perfect. Maybe a little rough around the edges, but this is mainly just contained to the actual infrastructure, which hasn't been replaced in quite a while. But, if you can look past that then there are some amazing rooms in a very cool old-Florida atmosphere. This time the management literally put in new carpet for us before the stay, so they truly do care about making guests happy. Also the management is relatively new and seems to care a bit more about upkeep.

Bottom line, I love this place and have been coming for a very long time. If you need everything to be surgically clean then spend a lot more elsewhere and miss out on interacting with cool, laid back folks.

Truth be told, I'm glad the sidewalks are a bit cracked because it keeps out all the crybabys (and the no vacancy sign!)

Room Tip: 104 is my favorite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJurina, Public Relations Manager at A Place to Be Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks for the review!! You're right, we are under new ownership. They've made a LOT of changes to the rooms already, and plan to remodel. We will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Positives: (1) close to the beach - only 125 steps to the beach (2) management was willing to give a discount for our stay after we complained about no wifi (3) free giveaways like shark teeth, ref magnets and postcards at front desk (4) has a kitchen.....

Negatives: (1) No wifi signal inside and in front of room 118 (2) No curtain covering the sliding glass that is right beside the bed - the cloth blinds were flimsy and one could be seen from the common patio (3) Stagnant water in the front porch (4) bedsheet and bed cover were stained and not replaced (5) front desk staff could not be reached after 3pm despite calling their hot line

Room Tip: avoid this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJurina, Public Relations Manager at A Place to Be Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We apologize for the dirty linens and wifi disconnection. At he time of your stay, the bank was in possession of A Place to Be. We are now under new ownership, and they have big plans to remodel each and every apartment. In the meantime, we have clean rooms, friendly touches of old Florida, and a lovely pool and deck area. I hope you'll try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I used to frequent this motel many years ago and loved it then. I just returned after probably 10 years and was not impressed with the lack of updating. It was clean but everything was old and not really kept up. Especially the pool area. Lots of missing tiles and just plain old worn out furniture, etc.. The lady at the front desk is very nice and friendly. Also very helpful but the place really needs an update. It really wasn't too bad because I spent MOST of the time at the beach anyway but if I had planned on relaxing by the pool or in the room, I would've been really dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJurina, Public Relations Manager at A Place to Be Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hey Sandee, thank you for your honesty. At the time of your stay, A Place to Be was owned by the bank. Now we are under new ownership, and they have re-done the pool area. All the tiles are in place, and the water is pristine! They are adding new furniture everyday and other old Florida touches to the rooms. We plan to remodel (just waiting on permits) so check back for some exciting changes. Don't worry, we still offer our great rooms and apartments in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the third place I've stayed at on Casey Key. I prefer Suntan Terrace, but it was booked. When we got here (family of four) we were led to a studio apartment with two twin beds. Luckily, the manager realized her mistake and gave us a king one bedroom on the river. Unfortunately, it was not only upstairs, but had this nice picture window on the inter coastal river which is obscured by an old gross roof for boats, and there were no boats even there. It's an old hotel, but we don't mind rustic. Parking is touch and go. Wifi was good at the first twin bed room, but couldn't access it from the king. Definitely won't be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJurina, Public Relations Manager at A Place to Be Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I'm sorry your stay wasn't what you were expecting. At the time of your visit, the motel was owned by the bank. Now, we have new owners that cleaned up the rooms, added new furniture and decor to bring the Old Florida feel back to the place. Our wi-fi received a boost as well.

The owners will continue to renovate more heavily in a few months. In the meantime, we hope you reconsider coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We've been coming down for years. If you are looking for 5 star glitz and chocolates on the pillow, forget it. But if you're looking for an interesting, clean, comfortable old school Florida motel/marina, this is it. Friendly staff, beautiful beach across the street. A real mixed bag of rooms available, ranging from a simple efficiency to a multi room family apartment. Nice swimming pool, clubhouse and patio. Fun communal BB grills, too. Shuffle board even!

Room Tip: Pretty quiet area in general, but if road noise bothers you, ask to be closer to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Place to Be Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place to Be Motel

Address: 212 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — A Place to Be Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in beautiful sunny Florida. Visit A Place to Be Motel on Casey Key in Nokomis, Florida, and experience charming old Florida. Residing right on Sarasota inland waterway, you'll have access to private fishing docks, boat slip rentals, and charter fishing. Cool down in our swimming pool, or use the private beach easement to Nokomis Beach. Onsite we provide a game room, outdoor grills and gathering areas such as our deck overlooking the bay. No matter what, you will find A Place to Be the perfect place to let the stress melt away by the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your A Place to Be Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Place to Be Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.