We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay in paradise !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island House Apartment Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island House Apartment Motel
Save
You added Island House Apartment Motel to your Saves list
205 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275-3371   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Valdosta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An awesome stay in paradise !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just got home from a 3 week stay at Island House, that was the most awesome vacation ever. The managers, Staci and Earl, are absolutely the greatest. They make each guest feel welcome and at home. Earl went out of his way to show all the guest that were interested, a sea turtle release one night. Staci, at the end of her shift, knowing that we would be gone by the time she got back, personally came to our room and wished us a safe trip home. The beach is beautiful and basically right out the back door. The accommodations are extremely inviting but don't expect maid service because you are at home away from home. We liked it so well that we made reservations for 4 weeks next summer, but will be back again for 2 weeks at Christmas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but we feel the top floor is better for the views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Spending 8 days here and am nothing short of impressed. The place is old fashion, with no pool but when you step out your back door and are 20 feet from the beach sand who needs a pool! The managers (Staci and Earl) are AMAZING! Super friendly and willing to accommodate! I honestly cannot speak high enough of this place. There is no maid service but you get a true feeling of being home here, they provide fresh linens and supplies as needed. I don't think I have ever experienced peace and quiet like I have here. If peace and quiet is what you seek, then THIS is the place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just spent 11 days at the Island House. This was a yearly visit as we have stayed there at least the past four years. If you want everything you need, especially peace and quiet and relaxation, this is for you. Staci and Earl, the managers are there to solve any issues you might have. We love it because you can sit on the "patio" and watch the sunset with new friends that you make while you are there. It is so relaxing and wonderful. Plan ahead because everybody who stays there wants to go back and there is limited space. We have our room reserved for next summer!

Room Tip: All the apartments face the water. The motel rooms do not but the beach is just a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok I really wanted to keep this a secret but.... This place is awesome, immaculately clean room, awesome view of Gulf, quick access to beach, everything we needed in the efficiancy room . We walked in and were taken by surprise, all we had to do was hit the beach! And a huge thank you to the management Stacy and Earl two wonderful people. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay of true relaxation!

Room Tip: A true touch of old Florida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I can't rave enough about Island House. The rooms are clean and simple, which is perfect when you spend 99% of your stay covered in sand! I was wary about the murphy bed, but both my husband and I found it plush and comfortable. The beach is clean, uncrowded and immediately at your toes when you walk outside. I loved that there was a kitchen in our apt. and grills available outside. We bought fish from Walt's Fish Market in Sarasota and grilled it while taking in the amazing view! Staci and Earl are super friendly, too. We already booked our next visit! What a gem!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We love the Island House! The location is perfect, the view is fantastic, and Staci and Earl are the most accomodating hosts/managers! We go every year and have never been disappointed. Book early for best room selection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My cousin and I only had one night to spend at the beach, so we stayed in one of the road-side motel rooms. I cannot wait to come back for 3 nights, so I can spend them in a gulf-side room! The location is awesome! The view is amazing! Earl, the hotel manager was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island House Apartment Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Apartment Motel

Address: 205 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275-3371
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island House is located on beautiful Casey Key. It is a small motel with efficiencies and 1 BR apartments facing the Gulf of Mexico. The efficiencies and BR apts. have full, well equipped kitchens and you can enjoy a quiet, unspoiled tropical paradise directly outside your door. Island House also has motel rooms which do not face the gulf, but are equipped with a refrigerator/freezer, microwave and coffee pot, and are just steps from the beach. Our quests keep returning year after year and so will you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House Apartment Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.