We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place in the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pops Sunset Grill

Pops Sunset Grill
112 Circuit Road, Nokomis, FL 34275-3006
+1 941-488-3177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Nokomis
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Pops features fresh grilled seafood, oyster bar items, over sized burgers, sandwiches & wraps. Daily Specials and weekend entertainment.We now feature several Craft Beers on Tap and by the bottle. We have seating for large groups and welcome families. Pops is a local favorite. Try one of our Fresh Oven Baked Flat breads or nosh on a basket of fried shrimp, clams or crab cakes. Our little place is located right on the water, we are laid back and have an excellent team of friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff! Drop by for Happy Hour 3-6 Daily!
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place in the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Love the outdoor casual on the water experience! Can't resist the Bahama Mama Burger topped w pineapple! Boaters pull right up to dockside. Beautiful view of Intercostal drawbridge. One of our fav local hangouts

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Joy2ewe- thank you for your recent visit to Pops and taking the time to share your comments on TA. We love the Bahama Mama Burger as well, Be sure to check out or website as we will soon feature the return of the "half of burger Mondays"...you will not want to miss that!
cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    189
    70
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pops Sunset Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We did not eat there but did go for drinks and entertainment. The drinks and wait staff were great and the music was really good and entertaining for a two man band. I would definitely go there again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings laidback51! Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and feedback on TA! Hurry back, come early and try something from one of our varied menu items...fresh seafood, wood grilled specialties, traditional steam pots and other local favorites! See you soon!
cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun casual spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tables on the water are popular, the Steamer Pot is a good choice, not necessarily a culinary delight but certainly a good menu choice. The outdoor tables with fire pits are great for conversation groups. Pops has a fun bar; parking is sometimes tight.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings P73arsam- Thanks for your recent visit to Pops and sharing your comments on TA! Lots fun stuff going on here!Check out our website for the new calendar of events, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere and Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We've been to Pop's twice and love the outdoor area with live music, dancing, and dining. They have many different dining areas. They were quite busy on a Saturday night so we asked for the first table available. We were disappointed when they said it was an inside table, but it was actually on a covered deck right next to the water, which was lovely. The food is pretty good but stay away from the alligator ribs--lots of meat but not very tasty. We will continue to go back because the place is so fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello lizzardtiff- Thanks for visiting Pops and sharing your comments on TA! Sounds like your group had a good time; that's what we like to hear! Come back again soon, we will have some new items off the grill for you to try!
cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We got to Pops which sits on the intercoastal waterway in Nokomis / Casey Key -right around miday. .the menu had plenty good choices. .reasonable prices and a great atmosphere.. !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings danno17314! Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and taking the time to share your experience on TA. We appreciate your stopping by and hope to see you again soon and often!
Cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pops Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pops Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.