We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pops has changed for the better...and worse.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pops Sunset Grill

Pops Sunset Grill
112 Circuit Road, Nokomis, FL 34275-3006
+1 941-488-3177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Nokomis
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Pops features fresh grilled seafood, oyster bar items, over sized burgers, sandwiches & wraps. Daily Specials and weekend entertainment.We now feature several Craft Beers on Tap and by the bottle. We have seating for large groups and welcome families. Pops is a local favorite. Try one of our Fresh Oven Baked Flat breads or nosh on a basket of fried shrimp, clams or crab cakes. Our little place is located right on the water, we are laid back and have an excellent team of friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff! Drop by for Happy Hour 3-6 Daily!
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pops has changed for the better...and worse.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We always enjoy going to pops, but this time not as much due to changes.

Change #1 - pro- beautiful courtyard seating.
Pops has outdone itself by setting up 5 or so gorgeous fire rock tables under the shade of their trees.
Con- hostess never mentioned it was first come first serve, so we watch 3 groups come after us just seat themselves. We assumed a reservation had been had for all. Not the case. 55 minutes later we got a table.

Change #2 - the menu
Pro- well laid out and great look menu
Con- everything is more expensive

Change #3 - the food
Pro- many things are still delicious, ESP the conch fritters.
Con- grouper sandwich has changed for the worst. And portions of all items has decreased.

Still enjoy pops...but it doesn't feel like a hidden old Florida gem anymore.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Greetings Toopzeros- Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and taking the time to comment on TA. We appreciate your positive comments on our new Courtyard, it has really become a great place to "chill out". I am not certain I understand your seating comment, but can share with your that all Patrons are greeted and asked if they prefer indoor, outdoor or courtyard seating. Depending on number in your party, the firepit tables are based on Community Style seating whereas smaller parties can sit together- actually, we have heard many favorbale comments in this regard as folks like meeting and sharing stories with new friends. If it is a larger party, they might have firepit to themselves. When Pops is hopping, Patrons can wait a little longer for waterside seating.

We have put alot of thought into our new menu offerings, it is always important for us to keep familiar favorites along with some fresh ideas. I assure you that we have NOT reduced our portion sizes; it is possible things may appear a little different since we changed from Disposable Plates to our new Dinnerware, but portions are the same generous servings we are known for. As far as pricing, Everything seems to have gone up everwhere these days, we do everyting we can to continue our reputation of good value for fair price while providing very fresh ingredients. By far, we are one of the most reasonably priced waterfront restaurants in our area!

We look forward to your return visit, hopefully sitting by a firepit and enjoying a cool refreshing beverage sooner than later! Thank you again for your patronage!
Cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    187
    70
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location & Service....food just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location, with indoor and outdoor dining, outdoor tiki bar and firepits, and very friendly waitstaff that are very accommodating. Now you know when a review starts off raving about the location that the food might not be so special, and in this case that's how I feel. The blackened hamburger was not much different than any other charred burger i have had and the grilled mahi sandwich was boring. The coleslaw kind of bland and the grilled vegetables tasteless. Go for the drinks and the location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Greetings Dakota3496- Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and taking the time to provide some feedback on your experience.We do take a slightly different approach when serving many of our sandwiches and specialty items; we serve a wide variety of condiments "on the side" so our guest can choose their preferred pairings or try something unique like our spicy bistro, banged up ranch or pina colada sauces. We hope that you will come back soon and look forwrad to serving you again! Safe travels, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Easy going waterfront seafood (and more) grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

3 of us went to Pops on a Sunday for lunch. It was crowded, but we were seated immediately in one of the non-dockside tables. Service was swift and accurate. I had the fried shrimp basket and it had plenty of medium shrimp and fries. My wife had the fried oyster basket and thought they were a bit overcooked but otherwise good and our friend had a veggie burger that she said was very good. As an appitizer (and experiment) we ordered the fried pickles - they're good! Check was $50+ forthe 3 of us, very reasonable for Florida. Place had a nice feel to it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Greetings JohnRCentralVer- Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and sending nice comments our way on TA! We very happy to hear that you ,your family and friends had a nice time at Pops! Come back and see us again real soon...the weather is a little warmer than Vermont this time of year...cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location/good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located on the intercoastal, this is a great restaurant to go to for a sunset meal or anytime. Outdoor eating is delightful, and you can watch the boats even while you wait. There is a pleasant garden-like waiting area . Food was very good. This was our second year to go here and we loved it again!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Beth058- Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and sharing your positive experience on TA.

We hope to see you again soon and often! The weather keeps getting better by the day! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Seafood!! Worse meal of our FL trip/Crummy View”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Pops Sunset Grill this past week while visiting his mother who lives in the area . We read the reviews on Tripadvisor before going and while most were 'positive' reviews, we did note there were a few 'negative' reviews. Knowing 'you can't please all the people, all the time', we decided to give it a try knowing full well we were in for a the authentic 'Florida Fish House' experience, but Pops is awful! It was the worst seafood I've ever had. Sadly the best thing we had to eat was the 'side' salad'. The lettuce was fresh and crisp. The review of the food goes down from there. My husband and I split a seafood platter. The food came out cold and visually looked pathetic; like it had been sitting out for 2 hours. While the crab cakes had some nice crab meat, they were soggy and greasy. The scallops and shrimp were also terrible. They were tiny and again soggy, limp and greasy. The coleslaw was bland. It tasted like cabbage tossed in watered down mayonnaise. My mother-in-law got the grilled seafood platter. The shrimp on her platter were bigger in size. I tried one and gagged on the overly smoked/wood flavor. Beer and wine was severed out of plastic glasses, which is to be expected since it is on the water; just don't expect any good wine. The restaurant does sit on the water on the inter coastal waterway, but if you like sitting out in a patio with a view of rotted wood buildings and corrugated metal buildings, then I guess you will like the view. Earlier in the day we ate at Casey Key Fish House and the food, view and 'Florida Fish House' beat Pops hands down!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings LABO19. Thank you for your recent vist to Pops and taking the time to comment on your experience. We take all feedback provided and review with our managment and staff, I am sorry that you did not have an opportunity to interact with our Guest Service Manager or one of our supervisors who would have tried to reslove any issues you had while still at Pops.
We are fortunate to serve many patrons each day and our goal is to try and make everyone of our guest happy. It is dissappointing to see we were not able to do so in your case. Kind regards, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pops Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pops Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.