We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location/good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pops Sunset Grill

Pops Sunset Grill
112 Circuit Road, Nokomis, FL 34275-3006
+1 941-488-3177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Nokomis
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Pops features fresh grilled seafood, oyster bar items, over sized burgers, sandwiches & wraps. Daily Specials and weekend entertainment.We now feature several Craft Beers on Tap and by the bottle. We have seating for large groups and welcome families. Pops is a local favorite. Try one of our Fresh Oven Baked Flat breads or nosh on a basket of fried shrimp, clams or crab cakes. Our little place is located right on the water, we are laid back and have an excellent team of friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff! Drop by for Happy Hour 3-6 Daily!
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location/good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located on the intercoastal, this is a great restaurant to go to for a sunset meal or anytime. Outdoor eating is delightful, and you can watch the boats even while you wait. There is a pleasant garden-like waiting area . Food was very good. This was our second year to go here and we loved it again!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Beth058- Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and sharing your positive experience on TA.

We hope to see you again soon and often! The weather keeps getting better by the day! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    189
    70
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Seafood!! Worse meal of our FL trip/Crummy View”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Pops Sunset Grill this past week while visiting his mother who lives in the area . We read the reviews on Tripadvisor before going and while most were 'positive' reviews, we did note there were a few 'negative' reviews. Knowing 'you can't please all the people, all the time', we decided to give it a try knowing full well we were in for a the authentic 'Florida Fish House' experience, but Pops is awful! It was the worst seafood I've ever had. Sadly the best thing we had to eat was the 'side' salad'. The lettuce was fresh and crisp. The review of the food goes down from there. My husband and I split a seafood platter. The food came out cold and visually looked pathetic; like it had been sitting out for 2 hours. While the crab cakes had some nice crab meat, they were soggy and greasy. The scallops and shrimp were also terrible. They were tiny and again soggy, limp and greasy. The coleslaw was bland. It tasted like cabbage tossed in watered down mayonnaise. My mother-in-law got the grilled seafood platter. The shrimp on her platter were bigger in size. I tried one and gagged on the overly smoked/wood flavor. Beer and wine was severed out of plastic glasses, which is to be expected since it is on the water; just don't expect any good wine. The restaurant does sit on the water on the inter coastal waterway, but if you like sitting out in a patio with a view of rotted wood buildings and corrugated metal buildings, then I guess you will like the view. Earlier in the day we ate at Casey Key Fish House and the food, view and 'Florida Fish House' beat Pops hands down!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings LABO19. Thank you for your recent vist to Pops and taking the time to comment on your experience. We take all feedback provided and review with our managment and staff, I am sorry that you did not have an opportunity to interact with our Guest Service Manager or one of our supervisors who would have tried to reslove any issues you had while still at Pops.
We are fortunate to serve many patrons each day and our goal is to try and make everyone of our guest happy. It is dissappointing to see we were not able to do so in your case. Kind regards, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visit this restaurant several times a year, and it's never disappointed us. Always great service, and delicious food. This visit we brought friends from the UK who had never been here before. They said they will return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings HappyInVenice! Thank you again for yur partronage of Pops! We know that you have many dining choices and given your extensive travel and reviews, we really appreciate your taking the time to send such nice compliments our way! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Pops! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love Pops!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great renovation! Fun place to dine alfresco, great food and reasonable prices! It would be helpful if they took reservations or had call ahead seating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear WheninRome5583- what a call sign! Thank you for you recent visit and taking the time to comment on TA. WE share all comments with our staff and your positive note is one of the best compliments we can receive. Hurry back!...cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oysters Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a rainy day and no sun, the wife and I headed out to find something to do. Lo and behold we stopped into Pops for a drink and oysters. Shortly after ordering, the sun peaked out from the clouds and the view was awesome looking out over the intracoastal. Two dozen oysters later we decided that we better save room for dinner. Oysters were fabulous, Patrick our waiter was excellent and the Yuengling was cold. A great time and the sweetest and tenderest oysters ever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Pops Sunset Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings Jacktownman! We are very happy that you found our little place on the water! Thank you for your very nice compliments of our Staff and Food & Beverage! You hit all three key elements of a successful experience, good food, friendly staff and cold beer! Please come back and see us again soon...we look forward to seeing you! Cheers, Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pops Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pops Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.