We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is tough to beat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Sands Beach Resort
433 Casey Key Rd, Nokomis, FL 34275   |  
Hotel amenities
annapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The view is tough to beat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a week in Feb. at this 'no frills' motel. The owners (Sue and Allen) are extremely accommodating. The rooms vary from really nice to just okay. They were clean and had all the right stuff for our week's stay. The beach was beyond beautiful and if quiet is what you're looking for this is the place. No high rises in this neighborhood and a few really good places to stop for lunch, dinner, drinks or some really good ice cream. I'll be back...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had the 2 bedroom on the 2nd level looking out at the Gulf. Very beautfiul view. This is 4/10 mile from the main beach and is quiet and peaceful. We took photos of the sunset each night. The other occupants that we met had come there for 22 years. Beds were comfortable, everything in the kitchen and room worked fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visit Casey key each Christmas and its the highlight of the year! My family have stayed at gulf sands for many years and the location is superb! The beach is just in front of the apartments and the sunsets are exquisite!
The apartments have always been shabby but very clean. This year we were gutted to find the apartments dirty and falling into serious disrepair! The curtains were hanging by one hook and didn't offer any privacy. The bathroom was dirty and the sheets for the beds were like something out of a squat! There also seemed to be some dodgy long term residents in the apartments! Despite having paid for three nights we checked out and went to the Hampton inn where we felt much safer! We were gutted!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

i thank you guys for a nice peaceful enviorment.. cant wait to go back.. i was amazed by how beautiful the sunsets were from my room and outside my room. beach was never to crowded and meet great people. if your looking for a great time this is your place...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Website is misleading, location is GREAT. Room was absolutely discusting it appeared it wasn't cleaned in month's for God sake the remote had bugers on it. Bedding hadn't been change in God knows how long, pulled the blankets back and found hair on them. This place could be a GOLD mine, obviously it's not ran RIGHT!!!!!! Will never return there until rooms are updated and they have new management

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

If you are looking for a friendly laid back kind of place right on the beach, this is it. My husband and I stayed with my sister in a two bedroom unit. We sat on the deck with a glass of wine looking at the stars and listening to the water at night and walked the beach with our coffee in the morning. A great blue heron wandered around the property. A manatee swam so close to the shore one of the children in the water could have touched it! Not a lot of frills, but a lot of personality...we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

What a great hide away! If you are looking for a quiet layed back vacation this is the place to stay, right on the beach, and I mean on the beach. Gulf Sands is no frills so if you are expecting the Hilton, Sheraton, Marriott this is NOT the place for you. It's a great place to "hang your hat". The innkeeper Alan Redmon is great, he makes you feel like part of his family. The guests are great too, many have been going to this gem for 21 years or longer. Each day the guests & Alan would sit out to view the spectacular sunsets with wine, cheese and crackers. Honestly it's the best kept secret in Nokomis. Also what I liked is the hotel is small maybe 11 units. The other day there were a total of three people on the beach, remember this is "peak season" you can enjoy watching the dolphins swim by along with many tropical birds.
Right down the road are mansions that you just can't fathom, Steven King along with Oprah have places here. Five minutes to Venice, I'd recommend dining at Pine Apples for dinner and Anita's for breakfast both responablity priced and great food.
My wife and I can't wait to return next year, the deposit is going in the mail today so we can go back to paridise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulf Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Sands Beach Resort

Address: 433 Casey Key Rd, Nokomis, FL 34275
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Nokomis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gulf Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list