We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   106 Bayshore Drive, Niceville, FL 32578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Niceville
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a nice place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got to the hotel in the late afternoon and my husband checked in. He came out to the car with a smile on his face. "I just had a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie and was given my choice of a free drink for staying here!" (he had a bottled Bud-light in his hand) Needless to say, that was a good start to the stay. Check-in was quick and efficient, and the receptionist was very nice. There was a nice coffee-bar right next to the check in area as well.

We went up to our room on the second floor (close to both the elevator and ice machine) and found a nice, clean room with a king-size bed. The air conditioner/heating system worked just fine, the filtering curtains were clean and worked just right. There was a microwave and refrigerator and both were clean and in good order. The wood furnishings were fairly new and clean. The room looked well-cared for. The bathroom was fully stocked with shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. The wall hair dryer was clean and worked at full power, not something you see in many hotels.

We went out to eat and found several restaurants within 1-2 miles of the hotel. There is a Ruby Tuesday's right in front of the hotel, an easy 2 minute walk from the front door. After coming home that evening, we watched a movie (TV worked just fine) and then retired for the night. All in all, just what you would expect from a well-run Holiday Inn Express. There were other visitors spending the night, but the rooms seem to be well-insulated and there was little or no noise.

The next day was even better. After a good, hot breakfast down in the dining area (5:30-9:30) which was staffed by a friendly, attentive person, my husband left to go to a business meeting. I stayed behind in the room to finish getting ready to leave after going to the gym. It was easy to get a late check out, so I had time for a good workout.

The gym was just great. I walked in and found brand-new equipment: a treadmill, elliptical, and bike. There was an adjustable bench with a full set of dumb-bell weights and a multi-station exercise platform.

Now, I've never seen this before anywhere. There was a full coffee bar setup (and all the containers were full of either regular or decaf coffee) and it included the sugar, non-sugar sweeteners and creamers, and there was a table beyond the exercise area that had bananas available for an after-exercise snack. The large water bottle was full and ready for use. The water was very good. In a separate area, there were the washer and dryer systems. You could exercise and wash/dry a load of clothes at the same time. Truly efficient.

While I was exercising, the owner performed a walk-through of the facility with the head manager in attendance. It was obvious the hotel was well-maintained and the entire management staff was proud of the facility. They even asked for any inputs I might have.

When my husband came back and got ready to leave, we asked the front desk for directions and received all the help we needed and more. We left knowing that this was the one hotel we would stay in if we drove back through Niceville anytime soon. Top ratings all around.

(There is an outdoor pool, but we didn't use it since it was early late January/early February and fairly cold.)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor close to the elevator and enjoyed the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
12
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped by The Holiday Inn Express a few days prior to our return trip home to Canada as we were taking a side trip to Houston to visit friends and didn't want to take both large suitcases. We were delighted that the hotel could accommodate this request. From the moment we were greeted the first day and then upon our return, we were very impressed by Jennifer, Grace and Lanette. Grace remembered me as I had phoned several days before to confirm our reservations and driving directions from our condo in Panama City Beach. Everyone on their staff were cheerful and helpful. For example, we needed transportation from and to the airport as we had returned our rental car. Jennifer recommended Scotty who was excellent, his limo was lovely and the rate was reasonable. We felt so welcomed and truly appreciated everyone's effort to make our stay comfortable. Traveling is tiring for senior seniors and so this made our trip home easier to handle. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well, after my flight was cancelled and I'd already turned in my rental car, I was disparate to find a nearby hotel room. The airline staff recommended this hotel and I'm glad I took their advice! Check in was a breeze, including the free welcome beverage offer (which I was really happy for after the previous few hours experience at the airport!). Room was clean and spacious. My only issue With the room was that the air fresher or whatever they use was overpowering. Maybe I just have a sensitive nose... And the mini fridge was noisy. But all in all I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Was not in a good mood when I left the airport - my flight had been cancelled & I had to spend another day in Florida. But when I walked into the HOliday Inn Express, my mood brightened. The lobby was clean, sparkling, and filled with a wonderful floral fragrance. The counter person was engaging, helpful, and quickly assigned us to a king room on the first floor. Grabbing a free hot cookie, my wife and I made our way down the inviting hallway to a wonderfully clean and inviting room.
We used our hotel's 10% discount at the Ruby Tuesday's next door for dinner & after a little TV we retired to a great night's sleep on our crisp linens.
Breakfast in the morning was terrific - I had the biscuits & gravy, 2 pork sausages, and a hot cinnamaon roll. Orange juice and hot chocolate completed my meal. My wife went for the cheeses omelet with her roll and banana. There were also plenty of bagels, fresh pancakes,cereal, muffins, etc.
I then used the hotel's free computers and printers to check in for our flights.
Great experience after our unfortunate delays on Delta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

William, at the front desk, and Amy graciously and competently assisted me with a reservation glitch from my sponsoring agency. The 2nd floor room was so clean-even the shower curtain was not mildewed! The mattress was firm and supportive. The hot breakfast was diverse, tasty, and extended from 5:30-9:30AM. For the winter, there were cookies for the guests. It was a quiet hotel for quiet guests, easily within walking distance of Ruby Tuesday's restaurant, and a short drive to the airport. My only complaint is that the elevator needed labeling, since it blends in so well.

Room Tip: I was in the front building on the 2nd floor (there is another building); my room was clean and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our main goal is to make our guest happy and for them to enjoy a comfortable, clean room. Thank you for the advice on the elevator, I will speak to our engineering dept. about that issue. We look forward to your return!


Thank you,

Jennifer Crook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

You have to go eat at the Dockside cafe down the street and enjoy the hotels ice cream social. They give out a free beer when you check in... how cool! You will enjoy the clean rooms and big screen tvs!



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGestring, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We love when our guests take advantage of our amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is by far one of the best I have stayed in. Very clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. I was actually able to sleep because of the comfort of the bed and pillows. That is a rare find in most hotels. I will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGestring, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We love being a Great Hotel Guests Love. Stay in Niceville anytime you would like to "Stay Smart" with a great night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB

Address: 106 Bayshore Drive, Niceville, FL 32578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Niceville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Niceville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® Niceville - Eglin AFB. Our centrally located hotel is minutes from Eglin AFB, Army 7th Special Forces Base, Northwest Florida Regional Airport (VPS), Destin Commons Shopping, great golfing and the "World's Whitest Beaches."Our hotel is the best choice for business at Eglin AFB military complex, DOD contractors, EOD School and Duke Field and Fort Walton Beach area. Our meeting facility is ideal for groups up to 45 with Fast Fiber Optic Internet access, and A/V equipment. An executive business center features high-speed color printing, fax and scanner.Families love the abundant attractions close to our Niceville hotel. Bask in the sun on white sandy beaches and play in the emerald green waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Big Kahuna's Water Park, Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park and world-class shopping are just a short drive. Don't miss the Air Force Armament Museum near Eglin AFB.Each guest room is equipped with microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, free Internet access, flat screen HDTV's with HD channels. Our hotel's guests enjoy the complimentary Express Start hot continental buffet breakfast and daily newspaper. Exercise made enjoyable in our executive club fitness center with the latest in cardio and fitness technology, large screen HDTV, towel station and refreshing water and fruit bar! Or relax by the outdoor pool to enjoy Florida's sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin Afb Hotel Niceville
Holiday Inn Niceville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Niceville - Eglin AFB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.