We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bienville

Cafe Bienville
Bayshore Dr. and Edge Rd., Niceville, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Niceville
Description: Independently owned local fare.
Restaurant details
Description: Independently owned local fare.
Niceville, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If your looking for somewhere away from the Destin crowd to relax, wander into Niceville for a lunch at Café Bienville. I wasn't expecting much, but the food is top notch and I would definitely advise their sensation salad.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best in Town and home made!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We eat in or carry out at Cafe Bienville at least once a week. I've tried most of the items on the menu and many specials, and all are wonderful.

It's so hard these days to find food that is prepared fresh on site rather than coming in a bag, but Cafe Bienville owners make it fresh every day with a quiet smile and efficient counter service.

Go for the three sisters soup, the long roasted pulled pork, the perfumed rosemary chicken, or the salads which are always made with impeccably fresh salad greens and served with a variety of house made dressings.

Stay for the home made gelato- Mexican chocolate is indescribably delicious.

Come back to try the daily specials- including fresh fish specials most Fridays, the wonderful coffee and espresso drinks, and the beignets which really are as amazing as everyone says..and don't forget scones- my fave is the chocolate pecan scone with chocolate cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I definitely enjoyed this place. Ate there three times in the first week after trying it. The food is so fresh and tasty. The sweet potato chips are so light they almost melt in your mouth, and they are only one dollar for a huge mound of them. Prices are reasonable. You order at the counter and serve yourself with iced tea (which is very good). Then for dessert they have homemade gelato in various flavors. It's only $2.00 for nice size portion served in a cold glass. Great way to top off a good meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It was okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After reading the reviews, I wanted to try the place. It was okay- okay with a shrug. My salad was nice, but just a salad. The sandwich was okay as well. Did not live up to my own hyped expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“I should drop every other rating after eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I typically am pleased with most restaurants. Maybe I am easy to please or maybe I can just "pick'em." In any case, my 5 is not high enough to convey how good the food is here. The environment is simple and pleasing. Local art decorates the dining room without making it seem too girly and this art is for sale. You order at a window, pick up at another and bus your own dishes...and oh my God, it is worth it for the flavor and price. The rosemary pulled chicken tastes like rosemary without being overpowering. The muffuletta is better than those I have had in New Orleans. The olive spread is homemade and fresh and I think the bread is ,too. Then to top it off for a mere $1 more one can enjoy the best sweet potato chips you will ever taste. They are crisp and not greasy, flavored with cinnamon(I think), salt and pepper

For only $2 you can enjoy a generous portion of homemade gelato.

Definately going back to try the salads. Closed on Monday!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bienville also viewed

Niceville, Florida Panhandle
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
 
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
Niceville, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cafe Bienville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bienville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.