We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot for one night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A good spot for one night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This newly remodeled hotel has really improved. The beds are much nicer and the rooms are more finished looking. CLEAN is the new word. The hotel was well overdue. Most places on New Smyrna Beach are condos that rent out by the week, so this is a nice spot for those not able to stay a week. The pool is inconvenient and not worth much more than a dunk in. The walk from the rooms is also inconvenient and not scenic either! Do not expect the resort atmosphere or the condo amenities. If you need a nice clean place for a short stay so that you can get on the beach, this will work. The rooms are deep but do provide real views - not peak around that huge corner to catch a small glimpse type of view. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. There is garage parking available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review of our hotel. We do sport a fresh face and very proud of our hotel. We offer the best view of the beach and ocean and the staff loves to make our guests feel special.
Thank you again.
Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    90
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
150
115
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The two best things abut this hotel are location and price. Hotel is located right on New Smyrna Beach, and every room has an ocean view. Our 8th floor room on the north side allowed us to look down two miles of beach - very dramatic. South side rooms wold be similar. The $135 AAA weekday price we paid was a bargain, but even at this rate the hotel was maybe half full. NSB does not have the cachet of other Florida Beach towns, so prices are lower. We especially enjoyed looking DOWN on pelicans as they flew by!

Pros: price and location. Surprisingly quiet part of NSB.
Spacious one bedroom suite instead of just a room, with a small balcony, small residential refrig. and microwave (no stove), large bathroom with two sinks
Very clean room, remodeled in December 2012
Quiet room - except for hallway noise, heard nothing once neighbors went inside their room
Inexpensive breakfast at Seascape Restaurant - $2.22 for two eggs, two bacon, two pancakes with the purchase of a beverage. Attractive room right on the beach. Wanted to eat dinner there but only breakfast served during our visit. Only negative is the bright sun glare in the morning - dinnertime would actually be a nicer view.
Convient location in NSB just off route 44, the main road from I-95 and I-4, near places to eat.
No road noise
Very friendly staff who went out of their way to be sure our stay was good
Good water pressure in shower and good water dispersion from showerhead.

Cons: suite decor is plain and rather dark, bedroom especially dark as it was in the middle of the suite away from the beachfront windows (some rooms have the bedroom next to the balcony, but we preferred the sitting room next to the balcony like we had)
Furniture is very cheap looking motel quality - probably won't stay new looking long
Beds very firm and yet had low spots in them - not very comfortable - matresses not changed when room remodelled?
Balcony railing somewhat obstructs beach view - and that's what you're here for! Railing is very thick and at head height when sitting down on balcony.
Can't see much outside when sitting down in sitting room - room set up backwards so look a the balcony wall instead of the beach - couch should be on the side where the kitchenette is (maybe other rooms are set up better for view?)
CANNOT HEAR THE OCEAN FROM INSIDE THE ROOM! Surprisingly, the one small window in the sitting room does not open. Window and door are thick glass which blocks out ocean waves. If you prop the door open bugs will come in.
Your room a/c is on your balcony (not attractive) and get a/c noise next to you when running (so we raised temp when sitting on balcony).

I would give a 4.5 rating if I could, but will go with 5. Plan to return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We still seem to be the hidden jewel for New Smyrna Beach but with reviews like yours word is getting out. Thank you for being a guest at our hotel.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I arrived during torrential downpours and high winds. The staff was welcoming, and quickly checked us in. There was a slight problem with our room (the carpet was wet), and when we phoned the front desk that manager was up IMMEDIATELY. She apologized and immediately gave us the keys to a similar room. And offered us the weekday rate for our entire stay, to our pleasant surprise.

We had an oceanfront king suite, and there was a separate sitting area with a pull-out futon. This room (and our bedroom) had individual balconies overlooking the ocean. Both rooms had flat-screen TVs, free HBO. My (minor) complaint about the room is that I thought efficiency meant a kitchenette. There was a full-size fridge, microwave, sink, small (4-cup) coffee pot, a few plates/cups/utensils. But no cooktop or oven. Oh well, who knew microwaved eggs could taste so good!

The bathroom was clean, with plenty of towels and toiletries. Lots of hot water. Wish there was a makeup mirror, but that's a frequent complaint of mine in most hotels. The closet was large, and the dresser was ample. The bed was very comfortable. The housekeeping folks cleaned up as soon as we vacated the room in the morning.

There was a newspaper at our door each morning. I can't comment on the restaurant, because we didn't eat there. I saw a fitness room that looked well-stocked. There was a computer/printer on the first floor for us to print off our boarding passes. The desk personnel were always friendly. Plenty of parking. The pool area was quite nice, though we spent most of our time on the beach. I didn't hear noise from other guests during our stay.

Definitely wil stay here again on our next trip to NSB.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Very much appreciated and happy the staff treated you well. With our newly renovated hotel the staff is even more anxious to serve our hotel guests. Thank you.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

All the rooms have a sitting area, kitchen section and separate bedroom and bath so it really helps if you're a group of friends or family. The balcony however is a little disappointing because it has the air conditioning unit on it so it's not a truly quiet place where you can sit and listen to the waves come in. The pool area is fine except for the day a traveling baseball team and their families were staying at the hotel; a little too chaotic for really relaxing. The breakfast restaurant small so allow for wait time if the hotel is crowded. The location is good; you should walk the beach to the Breakers for great burgers at lunchtime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review and agree, it is a great view of the beach. Thank you and look forward to being of service real soon.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This use tobe a Holiday Inn . It is still a fantastic hotel . Excelant location right on the beach . We stay herea couple times a year for fishing. the2 room is great to accomodate 3 guys. possibly 4. great choice while in New Smyrna. For a good dinner yahave to go to The Garlic . For great burgers you have to hit The Breakers. Guiness on tap . Have Fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We could not agree more that the burgers are the best at "The Breakers". The staff and I appreciate the very nice comments about your stay with us and glad you and your buddy's had a good time.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in early April 2013. We travel quite frequently, but have never encountered such a friendly, welcoming staff as we did at this hotel. Everyone- front desk, housekeeping, restaurant staff, hotel manager, were helpful, funny, and the very best we could ask for to make our mini vacation a true VACATION !! The rooms were spacious and clean. We had a fabulous view of the ocean from our room. Had the special at the restaurant every morning for only $2.22, eggs bacon and pancakes, plus a fabulous view of the ocean worth waking up for. The Flager St. shopping area was a quick 2-3 min drive away, with great shopping and restaurants if you wanted some time out of the sun.
We will definitely return !! Loved it !!!

Room Tip: High floor, out on the point facing the ocean. But all rooms looked like they had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much the great reviews, it is very much appreciated.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When I walked in I was greeted with a smile, my room was very clean and obviously recently renovated, and I had a fabulous OCEAN VIEW! I was pleasantly surprised to find a full fridge and microwave, and a separate bedroom.. I needed a relaxing couple of days and got it. The beach was steps away, the pool was cozy, and the staff was so accommodating and happy. There were also a variety of restaurants within a few blocks. I could walk everywhere. I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: I found out all the rooms were oceanview! Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review and we agree, the view is amazing which is why people come and stay with us. You certainly came a long way from Mackinaw, MI which happens to be my favorite place in the world.

Thank you again and hope we can serve you again real soon.

Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Address: 1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our balconies offer a breath-taking view of the ocean where you can enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise or enjoy the activities on the beach. Our Seascape Restaurant has the coast's best view of the ocean with spectacular sunrises. In addition to our beautiful beach, you can view shuttle launches or rockets from the Cape or visit Orlando's attractions, both of which are a short drive away. The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel and Suites is host to a myriad of events during the Daytona 500 and Bike Week. Our Best Western-Oceanfront is a 100% non-smoking hotel and look forward to serving you soon! We love our guests and we will treat you right! Please note: guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. We no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Smyrna Beach (Daytona Beach) Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Holiday Inn Daytona Beach
New Smyrna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.