We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with kitchen area, on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Spacious room with kitchen area, on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have family in New Smyrna Beach, and so have stayed in town many times before in different types of accommodations. My parents stayed at this hotel years ago when it was under different ownership, and based on their experience I was a little nervous about staying here, despite good reviews. I should not have been worried - TripAdvisor reviewers did not let me down.

Check-in was quick and easy. We stayed on the 4th floor, and our room was clean and very spacious. The room had a hallway which connected the bathroom to the right, which was spacious enough for several of us getting ready in the morning; a bedroom with two good-sized beds and a nice-sized closet; and a living area on the left. The living area included a sleeper sofa, chair and coffee table, a square dining table with three chairs, and a kitchenette area with a nice-sized fridge, microwave, and cabinetry (no stove or oven).

The spaces were clean and while I wouldn't exactly call them fancy, they were nice and comfortable - not outdated or worn at all. Best of all, the balcony was large enough for a couple of chairs and had a great view of the beach. It was on the cold side while we were there, but I can imagine that in warmer weather it would be wonderful to open the door and hear the waves crashing on the shore nearby. I was pleasantly surprised by the room and could see staying here for a week or more on vacation - there was enough of a condo feel to make breakfast and lunch in the room, and then go out for dinner. Which, let's face it, is part of vacation...not cooking every meal.

The two things that kept me from rating this property a little higher? First, that there is not an included breakfast (which is not unusual for Best Western affiliated properties), although there is a restaurant on property and other options nearby. I just prefer that included in a hotel. The other thing was that we did experience a glitch upon check-out. We were overcharged on the room by a substantial amount. Luckily, my husband thought something seemed strange about the rate compared to what I had mentioned, and brought it to me. I confirmed the issue and brought it to the attention of the desk staff, who were nice about it and immediately corrected the problem - so it was not an issue in the end, other than a slight delay in our departure. The rate was correct on the document when I checked in, and I had the confirmation to show them, which was fortunate and probably helped speed the correction. However, this is a plus in the customer service area for me - mistakes happen, but it is how they are corrected that counts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you and I'll gladly take your 4 Bubble score. You did a great job describing our hotel and your reason for your score, thank you.
Richard Vyse GM-CHA
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    118
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
175
158
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during Speed Week. Family with 2 young kids. Everything was great from lots of parking, comfy beds, quiet room to a cheap good breakfast.
Friendly staff and right on the beach with great view...thanks we will be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much. I love the "King of Queens" and glad we had a celebrity with us. Seriously, we appreciate the nice comments and very excited your stay was a very good one. We appreciate your business.

Richard & Staff
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Best Western in New Smyrna ? Don't let the name deter you from experiencing a fantastic, modest size hotel on a clean, white beach that stretches approximately 13 miles and is not crowded like Daytona! I was pleasantly surprised to arrive into a newly renovated hotel with smiling staff greeting me immediately. (love the southern hospitality) . My room faced the ocean (as most do);but I had 2 balconies. The suite was spacious and tasteful. The restaurant also faces the beach and is very affordable. Boutiques and restaurants just a quick walk north on the beach.This was well worth my trip from Toronto, Canada. See you next year.

Room Tip: There are only a few suites that have 2 separate balconies: 1 off bedroom and 1 off sunken living/de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I'm so pleased your stay was a great one. We do try extremely hard to make sure our guests leave happy. Thank you very much and hope we can serve you again real soon.

Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stay at this hotel every trip to NSB. Staff is wonderful, views are perfect, nice beach to walk on, across street from a great fresh bagel shop for breakfast (cash only), short distance to nice dinners at The Garlic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel again. We do try very hard to make each and every guests stay a great one. Can I ask you to email me personally at hinsb@msn.com to discuss your review further please. It will help us do a better job and really want your input as a returning guest.
Thank you.
Richard Vyse GM
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in February 2013 and had a very nice suite with nice ocean view and balcony. Room had recently been upgraded and the front desk staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Will definitely be back to this property.
Larry - Oswego, NY

Room Tip: Was on the 8th floor in a room they just finished remodeling. They are working on some other rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It truly makes our day when a customer leaves our hotel a happy guest. We know we've done our jobs and appreciate your very nice comments. From my staff and myself, "Thank you, it was our pleasure".

Richard & Staff
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

great location on the beach, walking distance to mulitple restraunts, very clean and friendly staff, sleeping area is seperate from living room area - good for families with young children. all rooms face ocean with balconies .Great restraunt on site for breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
What a nice way to start my day is hearing from our hotel guests. I too, like the room set ups with the seperate bedroom and our little restaurant serves great home style food with the very best view of the beach.
Thank you very much.
Richard Vyse
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated and the room was well presented, large along with a microwave, fridge and a small amount of plates, cups, cutlery. With the grocery store just across the street, it provided a great location to pick-up breakfast and lunch items to enjoy in the room/on the balcony. Within a 15-20 minute walk to Flagler provided you with endless restaurants, bars and shops to choose from. The Boston Fish House and Upper Deck were directly across the street for easy meal access. All of the staff were very customer oriented and the housekeepers always provided outstanding cleaning services along with plenty of towels and amenties each day. One day we asked not to have our room serviced due to sickness and the next day she asked if I was feeling better....I was very impressed with this. Having worked in the hospitality industry for over 20 years I know when a hotel takes good care of their employees because it shows - from the front line staff, maintenance staff all the way along the line. We will definitely be back and our 14 days stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Good morning. Getting such a great review from someone who has been in the business as long as you have is quite a complimnet. Thank you. My staff does try hard to satisfy our guests.
We look forward to serving you again hopefully real soon!
Richard Vyse
VP Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Address: 1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our balconies offer a breath-taking view of the ocean where you can enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise or enjoy the activities on the beach. Our Seascape Restaurant has the coast's best view of the ocean with spectacular sunrises. In addition to our beautiful beach, you can view shuttle launches or rockets from the Cape or visit Orlando's attractions, both of which are a short drive away. The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel and Suites is host to a myriad of events during the Daytona 500 and Bike Week. Our Best Western-Oceanfront is a 100% non-smoking hotel and look forward to serving you soon! We love our guests and we will treat you right! Please note: guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. We no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Smyrna Beach (Daytona Beach) Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Holiday Inn Daytona Beach
New Smyrna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.