We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Islander Gets 3 Cheers & 5 Stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Islander Beach Resort to your Saves list
Islander Beach Resort
1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gilberts Cove, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Islander Gets 3 Cheers & 5 Stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

My wife and I recently took a break from our Nova Scotia weather and had a wonderful and relaxing vacation at the Islander Beach Resort. This was the third trip we have made to quiet and interesting New Smyrna Beach. Every stay was booked at this resort and we are never disappointed. The excellent staff is friendly and efficient. At the outside chance that something in our unit is not up to snuff, it is quickly remedied with pleasant humour. Sometimes when tourists visit other countries, they are treated as less than equals. We have heard too many horror stories about ruined trips, wasted money and spoiled vacations to not give proper kudos where they are de- served. The decor is appropriately tropical for the palm-treed locale. The lobby is decorated with one-of-a-kind art that is also featured in the resort brochure. The small cafe on site is perfect for a quick snack or poolside bite. It seems a small miracle that this resort was once a typical boxy hotel. The many and varied floorplans each offer pleasant surprises unto themselves {so you might have a different configuration with the same class suite]. The resort is convenient to all types of shopping and the activities staff are happy to assist with planning sight-seeing in town. We say 3 cheers & 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

OK, we have read the reviews of the New Smyrna Beach "Islander" hotel. From our point of view, as purchasers of a "RESALE" we are happy with the VALUE for our buck. We have been with the Islander for 3 years and are happy with the simplicity, cleanliness,and the "just-right-on-the-beach-ness" of it all.

It's not the Ritz, but neither is the price. We thought of selling since we just bought another, very expensive, high end time-share in Maui, but decided to keep it because it is SUCH a value for the two of us who live in So. Carolina,USA and just want a week of warmer weather in FL during the winter holidays.

Ask yourselves, what are your needs and wants before purchasing a timeshare. The Islander is not a bad deal for some folks (There are many who swear by this place and return over and over again for many years!) but for others it might not be the right thing. For us, it was a value deal, so close to home,.... but we also only purchased a one-bedroom and one-bath for only one week. Don't kid yourself on larger units and longer stays....you really pay for them in annual fees..... be wise according to your needs and pocketbook. As with any other hotels or resorts, your fees and expenses will go up with inflation...so don't be stupid about the costs of ownership. Look at this for the long run, when YOU WILL BE THE WINNER. Travel is NOT cheap, but time-shares are the way to decrease your expenses, ESPECIALLY if you have children to feed in expensive restaurants and desire to go to theme park attractions (that will break you right there!)

For us, this is a cheap vacation, to rest and restore our souls and minds before Spring Semester and the stress of teaching young adults begin..... but we have simple needs and smaller pocketbooks (as university professors.) Then we look forward to our EVERY-OTHER-YEAR-expensive-we-deserve-it-timeshare vacation in Hawaii. You get what you pay for, folks.

For the money, the Islander is a great value. Good luck and HAPPY travels to you!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

Me and my daughter just returned from a week at the Islander. we enjoyed all aspects of our stay. The staff was friendly, the room was very nice and had all needed amenities. There were numerous organized events for kids and adults if one chose to participate. We could always find a lounge chair to lay in. The large pool was never overcrowded. Located on a beautiful section of the beach (great view from our balcony). New symrna is not an overrun tourist area so if a nice peaceful, relaxing vacation at the beach is what you have in mind, I highly recommend the Islander. Also it was only approximtely an 1 1/2 hours to the orlando area if you want to visit Disney or Universal attractions. The only slight problem we encountered was the elevators were a little slow and small, however we were on the second floor and took the stairs most of the time otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

We stayed at the ISLANDER Beach Resort it was fine but I wish I had known the beds come out of the wall before we got there. There were 4 of us in the studio condo and it was kinda small. We were lucky we had taken a Aerobed with us for 1 of the kids to use. Otherwise the 16 yr old and the 12 yr old would have been sharing a bed.

I don't know what a 1 bedroom looks like, but I hope it is bigger than this studio. I did see a 2 bedroom after we arrived, it looked very nice. Maybe they should all go to 2 bedrooms.

The staff was great, the gounds were in good shape.

When the tide was out the beach was awesome. When the tide was in there is no beach. The pool was always clean just not open when you think it should have been, do to a few problems.

Restaurants we ate at in the area were very good. Touch of Italy and Mi Mexico were both awesome. Breakers was ok, not much on the menu to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

We just returned from a girls vacation in New Symrna Beach. We stayed at the Beach Islander Resort where one of the four girls in our party had a timeshare. This was our second stay as a group and the improvments they made last year really shined. We stayed on the 7th floor in a one bedroom over looking the ocean. We were lucky to get a two-bath unit with a pull out murphy bed. The units are small, but very functional with plenty of closet space to make the stay comfortable without alot of clutter. The staff and the people there where some of the friendliest I've ever encountered.

Beware if you're an early beach walker that beach access from the condo is not available until 8:00 a.m. when they open the gates to the pool. The grounds and the pool are kept clean and there are plenty of towels. But if you like those large fluffy towels for your chair, bring your own.

The tides in front of the condo changed daily. The first two days of our stay we could not get onto the beach until after 11:00 a.m., but that changed dramatically for the remainder of the trip when early morning beach walking and lounging was possible.

Enjoy your stay the staff will sure do their best to ensure that you do!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2005

My wife, 6 year old daughter and I stayed at the Islander on April 2-9, 2005. We stayed in unit 508. We have been here many times. This is a timeshare Condo but we do not own a timeshare. We just rent. This place is always a great pick. The units are not fashionable but they are very clean and well equipped. I cannot say enough about the staff and their friendly attitude. My daughter enjoys the daily Kids Club. There are planned activities everyday. The pool is large (for a condo establishment) and offers great vistas of the ocean from your lounge chair. If you do not have to have the Ritz and just want good clean family fun (that has been consistent for us 10 plus years) then this is the place for you. We will back in June.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Islander. We had a great time. The resort is quite attractive, has a very nice pool and lounge area, and is well-positioned on the ocean. The beach, although somewhat damaged by the recent hurricanes, offers a very scenic and beautiful place to walk. Our visit there was excellent and we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.