We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was my most disappointing trip after about 6 stays at The Islander” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Islander Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Islander Beach Resort
1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Johnsburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This was my most disappointing trip after about 6 stays at The Islander”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were in the #3 studio apt., which was supposed to sleep 4. Believe me, it really could only hold 2. There was a very small, cramped "bedroom" with queen bed, dresser, overlooking the ocean. The kitchen area was so small that there was hardly any countertop on which to prepare food. The table was a very small, dropleaf table, that if we had pulled it out to use would have taken up so much space one could not walk around it. There was a pullout sofa instead of a murphy bed. I have Never in my life slept on such a bad bed. It felt like we were sleeping directly on the bars and wires. They brought up a waffle mattress cover to put on it, but that didn't help at all. We had to close it up and my husband slept on the closed sofa, which was hard because it was way too short for him, and I slept in a recliner chair. However, the floor space was so small that once the recliner was opened it was hard for someone to get to the bathroom. We have stayed in other units at The Islander. This one was the smallest I have ever seen. It should be relabelled to sleep 2, not 4. Of course the pool area was still very nice.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep 4, don't get a room with a pull-out sofa. Make sure it has a murphy bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
42
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is an older resort that is very well maintained. The pool area is outstanding. Something for everyone. Staff is very friendly. The reason for not a better rating is, I called several weeks before arrival and stated that my husband is handicapped and walks with a walker and cannot walk very far and requested a room close to an elevator. The desk clerk said we were assigned room 202 and yes there was an elevator. What she didn't say was that room 202 was as far away from the elevator as you could get. When we arrived, I called the front desk and was told that they were fully booked and could not change rooms. As a consequence, my husband spent a lot of our stay in the room. Over 100 +plus rooms and they could not find one room close to an elevator? We are exchange owners from Bluegreen and I guess we are used to staff that is more accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipshewana, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our Six Floor View was amazing, staff was great, things for our Senior Boy's To do.....Thanks to one of the Board of Directors for helping me find this great Room. To Dana, we had a blast, Tom, thanks for the Autograph........ We will see you all Next year,,,,,,Indiana is too Cold.. Thanks for the great Time "Islander Rocks"...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copley, ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom ocean front for 5 nights, and didn't want to leave. The view was amazing! The pool was clean, and they play volleyball and bingo and have a great Sunday line up with contests for the kids and adults. Ice cream by the pool, tye dye shirts poolside, and they also have an adult only area. Great hotel! Will go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have been owners here for 25 years and come every March. What a great place to be, right on the ocean with a great pool area. The building is older but very well kept and updates are always going on. There is nothing nicer than to get up in the morning and sit with my cup of coffee on the balcony or in the kitchen and watch for the dolphins to go by. This year we had exceptional weather and the beach was very busy which was lovely to see, lots of people in the oceoan.
The bathrooms are a little small, but we always adjust. Kitchens are well equiped and if you need anything the staff is wonderful at taking care of you.
I always feel like I have come home as soon as we arrive here.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paintsville, Kentucky
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We highly recommend the Islander Beach Resort. We loved our stay and I can't think of one negative about our week there except for maybe the small bathroom but we didn't even mind that much...the service was great. We had an oceanfront one bedroom condo which was beautiful and our view of the ocean from the living room and the bedroom was the best I've ever had....it was all good!

Room Tip: Try to get ocean front, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Fl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

Very private, quiet, and well-equipped resort. Huge pool and separate kids area. Amenities were nice, rooms old but huge and 2 baths in the 1-bedroom was a major plus! Lots of 65+ but friendly, quiet crew. Beach views amazing. A timeshare resort that would rate as a 3 star, and an excellent value. Rooms could use new mattresses and wifi was so weak, it took 1/2 hour to connect and no downloading anything.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.