We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Going Strong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop

Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop
400 E 2nd Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
386-428-4621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: New Smyrna's oldest and most award winning restaurant. Established in 1946 and has been a landmark destination ever since. Wine spectator Best of Award of excellence since 1993. Florida Trend magazines top 200 for more than 15 years. Great seafood and Angus beef.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Still Going Strong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Norwoods for years. We especially love their wine festival in December. This is a great place to eat with very reasonable prices. I usually get the two lobster dinner and she enjoys the bone in NY strip. Try this place you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    230
    80
    54
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and a Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in New Smyrna for the weekend and wanted seafood, so I searched TripAdvisor and found Norwoods to be the highest rated seafood restaurant near us. We had about a 15 minute wait which wasn't too bad for a Saturday night around 8:00. We had a drink at the bar while we waited. Once seated the service was prompt. We had a Seared Sesame Tuna appetizer which was good. My wife ordered the Hog Snapper, Mediterranean style and she loved it. I had the 2 Maine Lobster special which was only $26 for 2 whole lobsters that were about 1-1/4 lbs each. It was also very good. We capped our dinner off with a lava cake for dessert. The menu had a great variety, and if we're in the area I would certainly go back to try some different things.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always on Our List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Norwoods is always on our list of restaurants to visit when we are in the New
Smyrna Beach area. Last night my husband had fried oysters and said the breading was a little heavy and very salty, but still a good choice. I had fried fish tacos which were delicious. The touch of pineapple was superb. A side salad was $2 and more than worth that price. My husband had his usual gumbo which he said was delicious as always. Beautiful location and excellent service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The only bad thing about eating at this restaurant was that we ate there the last night of our vacation. Wonderful food, awesome service by our waitress Lollie. The recommendations she gave were right on. And then.........dessert oh my homemade Carmel ice cream, lava cake and white macadamia mousse was wonderful. Wish we would have gone there a little earlier in the week. Highly, highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic early bird and even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have had the pleasure of renting a beach condo for most of the last two weeks. Not much for cooking we have tried most of the local restaurants. We keep going back and back and back to Norwoods for Happy Hour (11:30am to 6pm, needs to be 7pm) at the bar. They have an impressive list of Appetizers and believe me we tried them all and have not been disappointed in any of them. The unbelievable thing is that all the apps during the times above are 1/2 price and this is every day of the week. Along with the drink specials it is impossible to beat.

Our service has been wonderful! From Brandy, April, Jackie to Richard and Dennis, everyone has been just great. I would recommend them and Norwoods to anyone who wants a good meal and great experience. It has been our go to place for the two weeks we have been here and we will come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.