We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop

Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop
400 E 2nd Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
386-428-4621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: New Smyrna's oldest and most award winning restaurant. Established in 1946 and has been a landmark destination ever since. Wine spectator Best of Award of excellence since 1993. Florida Trend magazines top 200 for more than 15 years. Great seafood and Angus beef.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On a prior visit to New Smyrna Beach, we had been told of a restaurant that had been in business since 1946 and had it pointed out to us. On this most recent visit with my grown son, wife, and daughter we tried it. What a wonderful experience. The food was outstanding. All of the party enjoyed their choices, including my wife whose food selection is limited by Celiac Disease. The waitress, (LINDA) was most helpful in suggesting gluten free choices.

In addition Linda provided a great deal of information about the offerings and made the visit most enjoyable with her pleasant demeanor

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    193
    62
    42
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Norwoods feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great birthday lunch yesterday at Norwoods. They made us feel so welcome that we decided to stop back for an after dinner drink later last night. Richard made us yummy cocktails and we'll def visit again next time we're in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great food and service. Had some outstanding specials. Really pleasant experience. The drinks were strong and large. Atmosphere was nice and the manager checked with us twice on our evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for an Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with a quiet mid week dinner at Norwoods. Our server was named Jackie and she was great! She suggested a seafood dish that my husband loved on the mid day menu and I was able to customize a pasta plate to include more veggies instead of seafood. The new salads are super- lots of variety in taste and texture. The atmosphere was quiet and we were able to chat, and Jackie was attentive, friendly, and professional. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Truly traditional, consistently excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've been bringing guests to Norwoods sine the early 70's but they've been there since 1946. The food is traditional American cuisine with an emphasis on very fresh fish. I can t say how many times I've enjoyed my self there but it's certainly close to 100. This is a family owned, family run (very well) restaurant with the absolute best wine list within 100 mile radius. I've seen their wine store rated in the low 90's by Wine Spectator. They offer their wine at the table and in the store at very reasonable prices, No triple or quadruple markups here. If you're in the area, you must visit Norwoods. It's a tradition that should live on forever.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwoods Restaurant and Wine Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.