We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican at the Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clancy's Cantina

Clancy's Cantina
301 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
(386) 428-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Mexican at the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Good Mexican food beachside on Flagler! A BIG Plus is a full service bar, means killer Margaritas! Everything was reasonably priced with fast friendly service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    65
    44
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our family of 7 just had a fantastic Father's Day meal at Clancy's. the fun, beachy atmosphere, friendly service, and tasty dinner were worth the wait. Most of us ordered various menu items involving shrimp--all YUM! Don't miss Clancy's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“earns it's reputation every day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Even during a busy special event night, Clancy's came through. We had a pleasant, attentive, and efficient waitress, despite the crowds from a special event. The pre meal salsa and chips are exceptional. Many mexican restaurants serve them, but these were fresh and tasty. Our meals were properly prepared and delivered hot and fresh. When in New Smyrna Beach, this is a must stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30628
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food is a 1, service is a 3”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is definitely tourist food, it is on the main 'drag' in New Smyrna Beach, so great location. Decent service. But the food was terrible. The decor was cheesy 'Mexican'. Booths , high tables and regular tables. Tv's on the wall, but you can't hear them.
From the free salsa, which tasted like a jar variety, to the disgusting entrees, I won't go back. We had 4 in our party. We ordered fajitas, chicken & cheese quesadillas, chicken and black bean burrito, and a beef burrito. For dessert we ordered so papilla sand fried ice cream.
Fajitas were mostly onions and peppers with a few skinny strips of dried chicken. Quesadillas with shredded chicken were decent. Black bean and chicken burrito was disgusting with square chunks of chewy chicken, no visible black beans, but plenty of black sauce mess, topped by a layer of melted cheese to hide it all. Yuck. The beef burrito was ground meat smothered in a red enchilada sauce, again from a can, hidden by cheese.

The service was attentive and available. Dessert was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Clancy's is very good if your looking for a casual place with great food. The service is always good and attentive. There is rarely ever a wait. I recommend the Quesadilla and Fajitas.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Clancy's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clancy's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.