We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food/great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outriggers Tiki Bar and Grille

Outriggers Tiki Bar and Grille
248 N. Causeway Blvd, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
386-428-6888
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food/great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We enjoyed outriggers. Hubby had the fish sandwich and I had the fried fish and Belgian waffle. It had heat to it! And was delicious. Daughter had a Greek salad. The view was amazing and the marina made for a great photo op.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    21
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They miss the mark every time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Outriggers,
I've given you more than a dozen visits. Your beautiful location and fantastic fresh fish and drinks are tainted every time by the lack of care. The restaurant business is all about the details. Unattentive bartenders, slow servers, and management that doesn't seem to care is too much to overcome. Would it be too much to ask that when you greet a table the servers would inform guests of the specials or fish of the day? Or when someone orders a fish sandwich that you offer tarter sauce, a chicken sandwich offer some mayonnaise? How about having salt and pepper on every table. Perhaps when there is a party of 10 the dirty dishes could be removed before you put down our checks, without offering another drink or asking if anyone would care for dessert. The servers are order takers, food runners have no follow up either. I have yet to visit without needing to flag some one down. I'm not a difficult person to please, actually quite the opposite. I have brought many guests here and each time pray that you've gotten the service together, dissapointed everytime. I've never written a restaurant review before. I hate to be negative. Just wanted to give you a heads up, every time some one speaks of this restaurant it's the same story. Food Awesome, Environment Awesome, Service ruins it !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“power outage but next time for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Next to the marina, we could not stay due to the power outage but this will be our first stop next time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not A Fried Fish Joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Tried Outriggers for a Ladies Luncheon and wasn't disappointed. The menu is mostly fish entrees with a few other selections like pulled pork or chicken sandwich, burger & a pot pie. I ordered the Drunken Mermaid Fish Sandwich which was grilled and marinated fish filet covered in slaw, remoulade and melted provolone. Topped the sandwich with candied bacon that gave it a "kick". It was a very good choice. The more unusual platters were shrimp or fish on a Belgian style bacon waffle, fish & grits cakes, sausage beer Cheese Mac. Fried Green Tomato Stack,
Fat Kid Fries (American Fries smothered in cheddar cheese, bacon, scallions served with chipotle ranch), Brussels sprouts with candied bacon were on the Teaser section. Fresh Fish Lover? ask for "what was just swimming" with the Fish of the Moment. Combine a well rounded and tasty selection of food with a beautiful dockside Tiki setting and you will experience a delightful afternoon. The service was good, the price reasonable....with tip $15. I intend to take my husband to Outriggers for an enjoyable supper with an Island cocktail.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment! Beautiful view, horrible food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a gorgeous tiki bar and restaurant. We sat outside by the water and I absolutely loved the atmosphere. We ordered fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and ceviche for appetizers,and a hamburger and chicken sandwich for our meals. The ceviche had absolutely NO flavor and the goat cheese on the fried green tomatoes was horrendous...totally ruined the dish. The hamburger was extremely greasy and tasted like it wasn't even 100% beef. The chicken sandwich was edible and the broccoli salad was good. The service was not good. I was so disappointed. I really wanted to like this place. It is such a lovely tiki bar! I hope that they improve the quality of their food and service because it is somewhere I would like to try again just because it is so pretty there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outriggers Tiki Bar and Grille also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Outriggers Tiki Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outriggers Tiki Bar and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.