We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little diner/drive in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pappas Drive-In & Family

Pappas Drive-In & Family
1103 N Dixie Fwy, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-6950
(386) 427-0633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice little diner/drive in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love the gyro's and the french fries are good too. Unfortunately they don't have sweet tea, they have tea and sugar at the table just not the same.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Old-time atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pappas is a New Smyrna Beach institution. We have passed it hundreds of times, but only went for lunch recently. It was quite nice - a very down-home atmosphere, excellent grouper sandwiches, and a large chocolate milk shake, more than enough for my wife and I to share. It's not a fancy place, but is quite a favorite among the locals and appeared to have a substantial number of regulars in attendance when we were there. Another friend commented on their having excellent breakfasts as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Cold Food, Slow Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Took my mother and aunt to Pappas for dinner this evening. I ordered the flounder dinner. It consisted of two sad little cold planks of fishy tasting flounder. The server forgot my french fries and said she would be right back with them. I reminded her two more times and she assured me they were on the way. After we finished dinner and were getting up to leave she came to the table with the french fries. The coffee was so strong that my spoon stood up in it and the broccoli and cheese was mush. This place was crowded with old folks battling for the early bird specials. Don't waste your time or money on Pappas. There are too many other good restaurants around to waste a night out on this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The quintessential hometown spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's so cool to have an old-time drive in right here in the middle of town. The value at this place is really tough to beat. And the crazy thing is that despite having some of the best values around, they still offer coupons and early bird specials! The breakfasts are outrageous and we've had solid drive in fare pretty much any time of day that we've stopped in. We've always had great service, even if just stopping in for a few milkshakes late at night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nine Mile Falls
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lots of good food, locals love it, friendly staff, great value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a find! Locally owned and operated, this not-very-impressive-to-look-at family restaurant has the feel of an old-fashioned diner (complete with double counters!) and for the truly nostalgic, curbside service (but the servers don't use roller skates - bummer...).

Want huge portions that are very reasonable? This is the place. Want an early bird special for under $5.00? Come to Pappas. Like peanut butter pie? Theirs is awesome. Hungry for breakfast? They consistently rank as one of the best places in the area.

'Nuff said. Check it out yourself and I bet you, like us, will be favorably impressed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Drive-In & Family also viewed

 

Been to Pappas Drive-In & Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappas Drive-In & Family, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.