We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mahi, portions on the small side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crabby Chris

Crabby Chris
440 North Dixie Freeway, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
386-957-3878
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great mahi, portions on the small side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband, a friend and myself ordered mahi, rice and asparagus from Crabby Chris and had it delivered. The cost was $9.00 per person plus tip for the driver. The fish was blacked and very well seasoned. The rice was cooked in a fruit juice and the topped with grilled asparagus. You need to pair this entree with a salad or some other side dish as the portions are on the small side. Delivery service takes place Tuesday - Thursday from 9-5. Orders need to be placed by 3:00 pm the day before. There is a limited menu, but it is quite varied and differs each day. You can text or email your order. They accept check, cash or credit card. If you're not home when they deliver, you can leave a cooler filled with ice and they will leave your meals. You just heat them up when you're ready to eat. It's an interesting option and we will try it again soon.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

A nice, local hole in the wall that foes more than one thing right. I'm from Bama, and I know my BBQ. The pulled pork sandwich is second to none (get the spicy sauce). I also went for the Maryland Crab. It's one of their more expensive choices, but well worth it. Large lumps of Crab with no filler. It was delicious. Chips were so-so, but I'm not a chip fan anyway, so no great loss. I ordered takeout , but the seating is outside and Reggae music abounds for those eating there. Very happy with the food. Absolutely will be back. Loved it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Casual and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had a hankering for fish tacos and somewhere easy. This is certainly the place. We had the mahi and whitefish tacos. Excellent and fresh. House made chips were great but a little salty for my taste. Still I will give this 8 or 10 more tries because of the test of the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stopped there as we were just passing through to go to Daytona and decided to stop and try this place. We are soooo glad we did. Love the crab sandwiches. We are close enough we will go back and try more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We bumped into some locals at the NSB Brewery and they recommended this seafood shack and could not have been happier. This is a laid back joint, where you order at a window and eat at mited picnic tables while Bob Marley pumps through the speakers.

They have fresh specials every day and a great, affordable, diverse menu. I had the mahi fish tacos which were $8 and came with homemade chips which were great. The taco was fantastic, and the two on the serving were packed to the point I needed to finish with a fork and knife.

My wife had the shrimp and lobster quesadilla, which was one of the specials for $12. Amazing and packed with meat.

Beers were around $3.50 and there was a nice selection.

We will be back here soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Chris also viewed

 

Been to Crabby Chris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabby Chris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.