We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great palce to enjoy a burger and fries without having to change out of your swim suits when coming from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers

Breakers
518 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2643
(386) 428-2019
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A great palce to enjoy a burger and fries without having to change out of your swim suits when coming from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Breakers could best be described as a dive bar adjacent to the New Smyrna Beach front. There are several items to choose from and the food is fresh and tasty. The clientele are dressed very casually--in fact the majority of the people are in swimsuits, or shorts and tops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    176
    42
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great burgers with a stellar view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the perfect restaurant for dinner after a day spent on the beach. My friend and I were able to sit right down at the bar in front of a window that overlooked the Atlantic Ocean at dusk. Even though we had been looking at the ocean all day, you just can't get enough of it!
It couldn't have been prettier, especially with the sun going down.
Service was fast, and the food was really good and fairly priced. It's very casual - it was packed, but we were able to sit right down without a wait. You could tell that it's a place that is always crowded, because the food is so good and the view is second to none.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Every time we visit NSB we always go to lunch at The Breakers. Have to admit I've only ever had their Burgers and Fish and chips. I always order the Blue Cheese burger and it is excellent. Slaw is good too. Great atmosphere, nice to look out at the beach while you're eating. They have a good selection of on tap beers too, always goes well with the burger. They're fish and chips are pretty good also. A return visit is a must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sandy feet welcomed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The breakers is our favorite off beach spot in new smyrna beach. Great burgers, great view. Choose the barstools with beach view, the shrimp or mahi with the breakers house lime seasoning and your favorite cokd drink. Come straight from the beach..sandy feet are welcomed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is a local hangout that you must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I drop in at Breakers every year when I am in NSB. They are so popular that this year there was no signage up. I guess the tourists and the locals know all about this place. They don't really need any more customers! No matter what time of day or night this place is always hopping. Try to grab a couple of bar stools along the front with the open windows and watch the surfers, particularly after 4 p.m.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers also viewed

 

Been to Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.