We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garlic

The Garlic
556 East Third Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
(386) 424-6660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are locals and have been to the Garlic quite a few times and always had great food and service, However at the end of January we went with another couple and the bartender, Cory was great as usual, but whomever the woman was that was bartending couldn't have been any more rude. I have worked in the Industry my whole life as my parents owned 3 different Italian Restaurants in Maryland. If I would have ever treated any customer the way we were treated, I would have been fired, family or not!!!!

I have nothing bad at all to say about the food in the past, however as the service was so rude and horrible this night, we didn't even get a chance to order dinner since everyones appetiite was ruined. We just left and went somewhere else. Just thought someone should know about this from management to hopefully correct it. At this point both parties agreed we would have to think long and hard before we would even consider going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    172
    76
    46
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, authentic itialian food. The patio is a must and the bread with roasted garlic is awesome. We had a remarkably good meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the place to eat for good Italian food. You won't find Americanized Italian food here....no spaghetti nor lasagna. The portions are very generous and we usually take some home. We had
Pasta Puttanesca , this description copied from the menu "our house specialty sauce - spicy, chunky, tomatoes with imported olives and capers, served over linguini " and Spuntitori Italiano, description from menu "italian sausage, meatballs, prime rib, and mini pork osso buco sautéed with onions, sweet bell pepper, basil and marinara sauce tossed with rigatoni " . Wonder ful meals. Each meal comes with tasty bread and roasted garlic and a side salad. Only problem we experienced is we were originally seated by bar area....we asked to be moved....very noisy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The ambiance - particularly in the outside dining area - is magical. We were there this past summer with our two daughers. At first, I was really excited thinking that we had stumbled across a wonderful "find" in a locally-owned, non-chain restaurant. Even in late July, the outside dining area was comfortable and beautiful with all the twinkling lights and coziness. The roasted garlic they served was yummy, but the bread left me wishing for more. It seemed to have come from frozen bread dough and lacked the homemade, fresh taste I had hoped for. The menu prices wouldn't have been an issue if the food had been great quality, but it just wasn't. I ordered a beef filet that was tough, not all that hot and fibrous. I've cooked better on my backyard grill. Our other entrees weren't great either. The waiter - when we saw him - when friendly and funny, but we just didn't see him enough. The service was not good. Once we ran out of drinks, we were out of luck - no refills. This could be an AMAZING place. They have a prime location, great atmosphere -- and they're in New Smyrna Beach with hungry vacationers! But...they have allowed the idea of a captive audience and good ambiance cause them to forget that people choose a restaurant to get great food and relax and be served. Both food quality and service were sadly lacking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Besides excellent food and wine selection, the restaurant ambiance is tops! The outdoor dining area is not only beautifully decorated; but has a fireplace, lights on the trees and quaint walkways on a luscious garden. You and your guests will be well impress the minute your walk in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garlic also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to The Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garlic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.