We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Closed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GrantLee's Florida Brigade Tavern & Grill - CLOSED

GrantLee's Florida Brigade Tavern & Grill
2004 N. Dixie Freeway, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It's Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

GrantLee's Florida Brigade Tavern & Grill didn't last very long. Drove by it yesterday and it's closed. It's for lease again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    8
    3
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have had lunch at GrantLee's 4 times and all have been excellent. the service is good and the good was super. The GrantLee sandwich was really something, so many tastes and flavors. You really have to be hungry to finish it.. The Pulled Pork was also really really good. The atmosphere is very pleasurable, we enjoyed each visit. I am going back again for the Brisket and am looking forward to it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
“FOR THE PEOPLE "ON THE FENCE"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Unfortunetly, there are A LOT of disgruntled EX employees out there. As the owner of GL's, i would like to be the first to remind the general public to NOT believe everything you hear or read. This restaurant (GrantLee's Tavern & Grill) is a family owned and operated establishment, we are 3months old in this town and I didnt realize how hard it would be to tap into this close knit community. BUT WE WILL NEVER GIVE UP!! Thank you for the great reviews. My husband, daughter and I come here daily to make sure the service and the food is top notch. We give 100% into everything we do here. Please come in and check us out, we promise you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another failed attempt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Last evening, my Wife and I went to GrantLee's for dinner. Looks like another failed attempt to have a restaurant in the beautiful building we locals call "the old Skyline". We were seated right away(no problem as the place was practically empty). Music was very loud, and then the two piece "live" entertainment started. Music got louder. What would dinner be without re-hashed Jimmy Buffett and country music? Our young waiter took our drink and appetizer order. He came back to take our dinner order, so we ordered ribs. He informed us they were out of ribs and chicken. BBQ? No ribs or chicken, OK. Plan B. We ordered the fried catfish. Our appetizer of Jalepeno Poppers came. They were cold, looked like the poor things had been under a hot lamp for a while.After about 40 minutes, our dinners came. The catfish was rather nasty, breading falling off, and not cooked all the way through. The Mac and Cheese was hot, but very dry, with no flavor. We left about half our meals on our plate. In the meantime we noticed small children running all over the place, and figured out they were the employees kids. Nothing wrong with that, but the kids should not be allowed to play in the restautant. We also saw a waitress reach down to move a small mat on the floor, wipe her mouth with the towel she moved the rug with, and proceed to wipe off a table. Real nice. We had to find our waiter to get our check, and said he was surprised to hear we did not like our meal. Of course, he did not offer to do anything about it. Needless to say, it was a bad experience, and we will never be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great concept, good BBQ and service... Just needs a little polish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This might be the up and coming gem for New Smyrna Beach. The BBQ is good, the people are great... The side dishes are in need of some work to polish off the menu, with a focus on fresh rather than re-heated, pre-cooked items.

The owner was a great guy, came out and checked on us and our experience. I will keep coming back as long as the place is around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GrantLee's Florida Brigade Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrantLee's Florida Brigade Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.