We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel w/ fab bed and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Save Saved
You added Black Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   916 S Riverside Drive, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel w/ fab bed and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay! The owners of this hotel are very pet/family friendly nd did their best to make sure we felt like it was gone. Everyone should def visit this cute place they were so great with our dog and breakfast was great! Can't brag enough about this Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for your insightful comments regarding our pet-friendly facilities, our fabulous bedding, and our accommodating staff who contributed to your great stay at the Black Dolphin Inn. We very much appreciated your positive comments - and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Brett Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
88
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were so happy to find this jewel of a B&B! Not your ordinary place, the hosts were so nice, accomodating and they accepted our dog. Very relaxing with an enclosed courtyard and a dock across the street where we watched the dolphins swim and fish jumping around! They have a wonderful choice of breakfast fare deliciously prepared. Our room was large, comfortable with an interesting, eclectic decor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

As one of the few pet-friendly lodging properties in New Smyrna Beach - it was our pleasure to welcome you and your "extended" family to the Black Dolphin Inn. We thank so much for your positive remarks with respect to our "accommodating" staff and we appreciated having the benefit of your comments regarding our dock area - where sighting of dolphins, diving pelicans, exploding schools of baitfish, and soaring ospreys - are almost a daily occurrence.

We thoroughly enjoyed being your host during your recent visit with us and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This place was truly amazing! Words just can't describe how pleased my husband and I were with the service. I couldn't be happier that we found this place for our anniversary. They set up the room so romantically and the rooms are truly breathtaking! Bed and breakfast with a modern look.. It doesn't get any better!!! And as for the breakfast? It was absolutely DELICIOUS! We can't wait to go back for our 2nd anniversary. Bret, Sheila, and Taylor made our stay amazing! They were awesome! I definitely recommend this place!!! 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for making the Black Dolphin Inn your hotel of choice to celebrate your first anniversary. We were truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciated your kind words regarding the romantic ambiance of our "breathtaking" rooms and your "delicious" breakfast - not to mention the service of our staff. We didn't want you to leave either - and we are sincerely grateful for the 5 star rating and we couldn't be happier that you are planning to return to the Black Dolphin Inn next year to celebrate your 2nd anniversary.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great great place and a lovely set of owners. The establishment is immaculate and I love how the main lobby is designed for social interaction with friends and other guests staying at the Inn. I will stay here every time I go to New Smyrna for now on. You guys are the best! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

The Black Dolphin Inn is unique in that our sense of style and design forsakes traditional grandeur - yet it provides a cozy sanctuary that lies between the intimacies of a bed and breakfast and the indulgent comforts of a boutique inn. The integration of the open-air kitchen into the lobby area was designed to provide a platform that would enable our staff to "connect" with our guests and to create that social environment that you alluded to in your review.

I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our inn (Black Dolphin Inn Rocks) - and that you plan to return every time you decide to stay in New Smyrna Beach. We thank you for your patronage and we look forward to earning your future loyalty on your next visit to our area.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This IS the destination! There are many nice places for vacationers to stay in New Smyrna, but the Black Dolphin Inn is not just a place to stay, it is a reason to go to NSB. Each room is star quality with no expense spared,and each one is different. The breakfast was beautifully displayed (remember we first feast with our eyes) and the homemade cinnamon rolls were made from scratch, beginning with potatoes to make the dough. The inn is across the street from the river which is viewed from every guest room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for identifying the Black Dolphin Inn as the "destination" within the city of New Smyrna Beach. This characterization is very much appreciated and hopefully one day the Black Dolphin Inn will be synonomous with guests who are looking for that special place when visiting New Smyrna Beach.

We are also very grateful for your generous remarks regarding the "star" quality of our guest accommodations and for commenting on our continental breakfast which was beautifully displayed with homemade cinnamon rolls during your visit with us.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to wecoming you back to the Black Dolphin Inn in the very near future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife, children and I love New Smyrna Beach. We have been coming here for years. Unfortunately, until now, the hospitality options have been less than desirable. No more. The Black Dolphin Inn, a first class operation, buries the competition!

Ownership/management is a family affair. Scott, Brett, Sheila, Taylor and Chef Joe are friendly, attentive and fully invested in delivering a memorable experience. Service is a 10.

The rooms and common areas are architecturally and visually stunning. The open air contemporary kitchen, coupled with a casual, inviting breakfast bar are, quite simply, cool. If you need to remodel or decorate any part of your house, steal their ideas.

Chef Joe shines. The Black Dolphin Inn should win the Orlando Sentinel “Foodie” award for the best breakfast in Central Florida. Don’t miss breakfast, and for that matter, other tasty treats that appear throughout the day.

We spent the Memorial Day weekend at the Inn, which has an edgy, happy personality. The prices are reasonable. The rooms are unique. If you crave the beach, like to fish, or just want to chill, the Black Dolphin is for you. There’s a New Kid in Town!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your recent experience at the Black Dolphin Inn - vis-à-vis your post on TripAdvisor.

As the "new Kid in Town", we certainly understand the importance of providing an exceptional level of attentive service to our guests and we were very pleased to learn that our staff was fully invested in making certain that you and your family had a most memorable experience during your visit over the Memorial Day holiday period.

With respect to the competition, our strategic plan was to fill that void in which there was an absence of a high-end sophisticated lodging product in New Smyrna Beach. We set out to create a unique lodging alternative, complimented by a splash of intimacy and serenity - in a refined yet relaxed atmosphere that would ensure the absolute comfort of our guests. Your very favorable impression of the Black Dolphin Inn is a validation that we are on the right track - especially as it relates to providing a strong value proposition for our guests.

Lastly, we are most grateful for your generous comments regarding our interior design elements, stunning architecture, and the performance of Chef Joe with respect to our full Southern breakfast that was served during the holiday weekend period. Thank you again for your descriptive portrayal of your stay at the Black Dolphin Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband, baby, and I stayed here recently, and I can’t express in words how amazing it was. The location was incredible, minutes from the beach, shopping, great restaurants etc. We stayed in room 207, and loved it! It was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable, and the room was larger than I expected. We had a lot of stuff, including a portable crib, stroller, excessive bags (I have a packing problem,) and there was still plenty of extra space. The bathroom was amazing; the deep bathtub even had jets in it! On weekends, there is a complimentary breakfast with three choices. One was usually sweet, one savory, and one was a standard eggs, bacon, toast type. All day there were fresh juices, pastries, and coffee available. This was all complimentary! We ordered a few beers, and were never charged for them either! The staff was extremely courteous and gracious. I would highly recommend this place, and I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

We are very proud of our recent ranking as one of the top 10 B&B's and Guest Houses in Florida by the Guardian. Each and every day, we must have a singular focus on quality as it relates to both our vacation product and service levels. From the sound of it - it appears as if we exceeded your expectations and we very much appreciated your kind remarks regarding one of our Bay View Suites (Unit #207) and your dining experience attendant to our continental breakfast and complimentary afternoon refreshments.

We do hope that you will return to the Black Dolphin inn and we thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Address: 916 S Riverside Drive, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's east-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, AAA Four Diamond Award, BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveIns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.