We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Verde

Cafe Verde
Flagler Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL
386-957-3958
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Go here for great food, friendly service, and a wonderful experience! I was so disappointed in The Garlic but visiting this restaurant after that experience made me appreciate (even more) how wonderful this place really is!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    42
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great food, clean and fresh. I might be biased, but this is my favorite type of food. So unlike the typical corporate American greasy meat-fest. Just refreshing Where else can you get a side of Yucca fries?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very pleased with Cafe Verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food was fantastic. I had the grilled chicken bowl and my wife had chicken tacos. The service was very attentive and kind. The price was very competitive so no complaints there. Overall we were very satisfied with Cafe Verde. My only complaint is that the tables are a little bit sticky, they could probably do a better job of cleaning the tables between turns.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequent traveler
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food! Lots of vegetarian items”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have been to Cafe Verde twice and loved it both times. It's a bit of a drive so we don't get down to New Smyrna often. Had the vegan tacos (tofu) and yuca fries both times and they were great. The tacos look small but with the 1 side order it was all quite filling.

Service was friendly and efficient.

HIghly recommended. Certainly will go back next time I'm in NSB.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just had lunch there thanks to trip advisor. It's very nice inside (too hot to sit outside). The staff was all great and surprisingly well informed about what was in each dish. I had the adobo chicken tacos, my friend the carnita tacos with fried yucca. Both taco plates were excellent, but the sauces caused the second tacos on each of our plates to crumble about 1/2 way through. And the yucca could have used about 90 seconds more in the fryer. But those are minor quibbles.....based on quality and price we would definitely go back for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Verde also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Cafe Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.