We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyrna Dunes Park

Smyrna Dunes Park
Peninsula Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL
386-424-2935.
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Orlando
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great piece of Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very nice beach and park. Section that allows pets too. Great view of the Ponce lighthouse. Very active with surfers and fishing on the jetty. Huge white sand beach.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    37
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“interesting walk to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Found this a nice way to walk to the beach and observe the dunes along the way. You also have an excellent view of the lighthouse. The New Smyrna Beach is quite nice without too much crowding. There is a $5 fee, cash only.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is a really great place to take our dogs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have three dogs from age 1 through 11 that we took here for my birthday earlier this year. The beach is clean and was uncrowded for the time we chose. The walk is long (had to carry the eleven year old back) but peaceful, quiet and very pleasant. The grounds have plenty of trash cans and doggie bags all around for if you forget your own.

It is difficult to write a review for a beach, particularly one intended for dogs, but I couldn't have had a better time during our visit. Here's a short video we took of the oldest: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNJYtXUsmgM

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome view of the inlet and lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a little gem of a walk (1.5 miles around) that encompasses the sand dunes of FL, the Indian River on one side, and the ocean on the other. There is a observation point (2 flights of stairs) that will provide a stunning view, of both, in addition to the Ponce Inlet lighthouse. Best times for pictures are sunrise, and sunset. This is a dog-friendly beach that has excellent facilities for cleaning the dogs, and people, off after a fun day on the beach. Parking is limited, so arriving early on the weekends, is key.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

the boardwalk path is about 1.5 miles in length...you are in the sun most of the way...must wear shoes...you have access to the inlet and beach...not too crowded...reasonable fee...if you are in the area and plan to use park more than five days get the season pass...you also get access to the drive beach with the pass...good restrooms available...pet friendly

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smyrna Dunes Park also viewed

 

Been to Smyrna Dunes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyrna Dunes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.