We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Smyrna Museum of History

New Smyrna Museum of History
120 Sams Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
386 478-0052
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Thoroughly Enjoyable! This museum brings to life the daily experience in New Symrna Beach and what attracted the original settlers to the area. My great-aunt Masie Truett use to visit these beaches each fall/winter from Bar Harbor Maine to paint the sea-scapes of this area. So the museum brought to life what it had been like to come here back in the early 1900's and vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Museum and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am a lover of all things history, and very much enjoyed our trip to the New Smyrna Beach Museum of History. As far as I am concerned, it was the highlight of our trip! The items on display are above and beyond amazing! I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the items were and how well they told the history of the area! The museum's layout and display of the objects was interesting and well thought out! The staff there was so friendly and very knowledgeable on the history of the area, and all the items displayed at the museum! I highly recommend anyone vacationing in New Smyrna Beach to take the time to stop by, and visit this rare gem! The smiling friendly faces and items you will see there are worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More Florida History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited the New Smyrna Beach Museum History recently and enjoyed learning more about the settlements in Florida. The history of this small town is amazing. It was started by a group from Scotland that adds a new twist to Florida's history. It is a free museum and includes one of a very few Korean War exhibits in Florida. Donation is requested.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a nicely done museum. Very informative. A nice way to spend a morning or rainy afternoon. Gives you a lot of information regarding the history of Florida.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Local history well told”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I agree with other reports, this is just a neat place. It shows the complete time-line of how the immediate area came to be - from the earliest native inhabitants to the present. Many artifacts and pictures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Smyrna Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to New Smyrna Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Smyrna Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.