We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Discovery Center

Marine Discovery Center
520 Barracuda Blvd., New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
386-428-4828
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dolphin Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We didnt see a single dolphin but the boat ride and the nature guide made the tour an enjoyable trip. I am thinking of going again for this lazy ride down the river. We did see manatee and a shark and many shore birds.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, West Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Dolphin Viewing ride, Not!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We took the boat trip out into the water to sight-see the Dolphins for 2 hours. (marine discover center).

The narrator pointed out all the differant birds we seen and discussed the behavior/make-up of the dolphins.

I thought they would take us to where we all could see many dolphins? but, we chased down a couple and tried to get pics. of them coming up out of the water, without success!

Should just advertise boat ride and drop the costs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eco Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was unbelievable....saw almost 40 dolphins and so many bird species. Guide was very knowledgeable

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic Volunteers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent excursion. We learned quite a bit about the eco system, watched dolphins and even touched a few sea creatures. I would definitely recommend this for families looking for something to do.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“guided kayak tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great 2 hour guided kayak tour. Wonderful guides. Tours of the Indian River Lagoon shows a tranquil side of Florida. Different birds were spotted along the route. Dolphins swam near us.
We'd do this again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Discovery Center also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Marine Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.