We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Deck Bar & Grill

Upper Deck Bar & Grill
1414 Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
386-424-1024
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We came to this restaurant on July 22nd for lunch and dinner. Lunch was very good but dinner was excellent! My husband had the mahi-mahi blackened and I had the red snapper. It honestly was the best piece of fresh fish I have ever had. I will go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    24
    12
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We visited here on 21 June, 2011 at about 6:00 PM and we were seated immediately. This restaurant is located on the second floor above Boston’s Sea Food Restaurant, (which did not have that many good reviews). The atmosphere was nice with an indoor and outdoor eating area which offered a small view of the ocean (across the street), with a bar which was adjacent to the tables. My wife and I both ordered the Blackened Mahi-Mahi (mine with the spiciest they could do) with a salad and French Fries for me and what is called ‘loaded’ mashed potatoes for her. The Mahi-Mahi were a fairly good size, and they were both extremely good and well prepared. The fries were good and crunchy and mashed potatoes were also very good as they were mixed with sour cream and cheese.

I grade all the restaurants mainly on how well they prepare the blackened Mahi-Mahi and this place had the best out of the three we went to. This is a must visit if you are going to New Smyrna Beach.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011 via mobile

Great food, service and deck. Love the champagne seafood. Best food in New Smyrna Beach.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Average to Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Their appetizers, gumbo, and house salads were below average. Their blackened chicken pasta was quite average. The dungeness crab was good. The side order
of aspargus was dry and tasted as though it had been re-warmed or cooked twice.
One of the water glasses was dirty and looked as though it had come from another
table and not from the dish washer. Service was o.k. but the overall dining experience
was quite forgettable. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't go here-fake food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We went here to try out this new restaurant. We both ordered lobster salad rolls. Nothing on the menu said it was made with fake lobster. In fact we asked if they used Maine lobster and they said yes. When we got the order and took our first bite we discovered it was indeed fake lobster and had 2 "real" pieces of lobster-2 knuckles. They mixed it with sweet relish. Now everyone who has ever had a real lobster salad roll in New England or along the east coast of this country knows you NEVER use relish of any kind in this dish. They mixed sweet relish in with the mayo. We asked them if there was relish in it and they admitted it was. Needless to say neither of us will enver go back to this place. They use fake food fillers and charge for the "real" stuff.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Deck Bar & Grill also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Upper Deck Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Deck Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.