We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5015 US Hwy 19, New Port Richey, FL 34652 (Formerly Ramada New Port Richey/Gulf Harbor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in New Port Richey
New Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is the worst Ramada we have stayed at. Windows dirty, desk area dirty, bathroom dirty, strange smell, We will only stay at a Ramada if nothing else is available ever again.
Also advertised $49.99 but were told those rooms were not nice I hate to think what they must be like. also the coffee in our room was old and stale. for $ 80 dollars we feel ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    51
    49
    49
    52
See reviews for
104
63
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
monroe,g
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

me and my company had to work here for two weeks in jan. 2011 i had 9 rooms i stayed in room 208 it faced the water . i travel alot for my company 3-5 weeks at a time all over the world this hotel was one of the best i have ever stayed in. the bar was great and the people were even better. i will be back down there in a few months with a team of 46 men.
a special thanks to the owner and the bar tender liz for a great time at bayside

sincerely Zack Brown

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I booked my rooms online for $51 a night. Upon arrival, I was told that that rate was for non-renovated rooms, and that it would be $10 more to stay in a renovated room. Asked what the difference was, the clerk said the non-renonated rooms are "like 30 years old and not that good".

I paid the extra 10 bucks, but am mighty angry at the deceitful tactics of the hotel. Nothing was mentioned at all about renovated versus non-renovated rooms during the booking process.

This is my last stay at this hotel. Had I been able to find a room eslewhere, I would have walked out instead of checking in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010 via mobile

We have been coming to the hotel for years and always enjoy our stay. The rooms are always clean and the staff are very friendly. They now have a complimentary breakfast buffet. Throughout the years they were always updating the rooms, but now they have redesigned the front half of the building with the hallway in the center of the building, and private balconies for each room. My wife and I love the new beds, they are more comfortable than ours is at home. Our room had one of the new flat screen tvs and a refrigerator and microwave. We stayed in room 222 last weekend, and were so impressed that we reserved it for three nights this weekend.

Also, for those who wish to rent a boat, this can be done at the hotel's dock. Note that the rentals are not part of the hotel. They are a separate company. I have rented pontoon boats from them, and they are very nice.

I see that they just opened a Thai restaurant but have not tried it yet. Will report on this soon.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our stay at the Ramada Bayside was pleasurable. The rooms are old, and could probably use some updating, but they were clean, and well stocked. I was pleasantly surprised at the value for the money. The boat slips were very nice, with water and electricity. I would not recommend the restaurant only because it smelled musky and only has wall unit AC's that needed a very good cleaning. The pool area was nice, but the water was cloudy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the hotel. It's in a fantastic location, right on a lovely little inlet with sail and power boats moored. They are undergoing upgrades to the hotel and when it's done, it will be really nice. Our room, on the first floor with waterview, was dated and worn, but the bathroom and linens were clean. The little restaurant is a gem! Very reasonable breakfasts and dinners were great and very inexpensive. The the Lobster Cave is the name. We ate all our meals on the deck overlooking the water. The pool like good, but we didn't us it. Some other guests there were up late at night and enjoying themselves outside our room so that was a negative, but for the cost of the room it was worth it. The free wi-fi was intermittent in our room, but could access it in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We visit Florida several times a year and stay at many different hotels, most are nice but this hotel tops them all! The bayside view is great, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The sales manager, Lisa Tipton, went all out to insure we enjoyed our stay, she was a true delight and a rarity in this day and age. We will be back soon. thanks for a wonderful week, Jane

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey

Address: 5015 US Hwy 19, New Port Richey, FL 34652 (Formerly Ramada New Port Richey/Gulf Harbor)
Location: United States > Florida > New Port Richey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in New Port Richey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind on the Gulf of Mexico at Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey Hotel. Located on the waterfront on Route 19, our hotel near downtown New Port Richey is ideal for your experience in the area. Walk the streets of downtown New Port Richey, just one mile away, or enjoy a day in the sun just a short drive from our hotel at Green Key Beach. Play a round of golf at one of the 20 golf courses within 10 miles, or shop brand-name stores at Southgate Shopping Center. Weeki Wachee Springs State Park features water slides and mermaid shows, Tarpon Springs SpongeDocks and nearby Busch Gardens offers thrilling rides and family-friendly activities. While staying at the pet friendly Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey, start each day with a complimentary continental breakfast, get in a work out in the fitness center, Stay connected with the powerful free high speed internet service and take a refreshing dip in the crystal clean outdoor pool. The on-site restaurant is open for lunch and dinner and offers outdoor seating overlooking the bay. Room service is also available. Parking is free, with plenty of room for oversized vehicles and boat trailers. All guest rooms are nicely equipped with coffee makers, microwaves, mini fridges, hair dryers, free high speed internet access, alarm clock radio, cable TV with extra stations, iron and board, electronic door locks, free local calls, and individually controlled heat and air conditioning, and electronic door locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Bayside Hotel New Port Richey
Ramada New Port Richey
Ramada Hotel Bayside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.