We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price smoke smell room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Neptune Beach

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Neptune Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Neptune Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Atlantic Boulevard, Neptune Beach, FL 32266 (Formerly America's Best Inn Neptune Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Neptune Beach
Potomac
1 review
“Good price smoke smell room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Reasonable price. Awful smoke smell in room. Breakfast was ok for being included in price. Waffles not good - other hotels have much better product. One plus, breakfast started at 6am to 10am. Front desk was very knowledgeable of area. Lobby area has mini convenience store that sells frozen dinners, snacks and even beer and wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Neptune Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Our apologies for the smoke smell in your room – we are, however a 100% non-smoking property and we try our very best to ensure it at all times. We hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    65
    54
    42
    25
See reviews for
98
60
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First of all, the employees here were great. They were very helpful and accommodating. In general, the rooms were clean, the pool was nice, and the location near the beaches was great. You cannot find a better value this close to the Jax beaches.

However, this property has so many issues that it should be condemned. There were buckets to catch water on the second floor - and those buckets have been there for months according to prior reviews. All of the rooms reeked with a smell of mold, smoke, and deodorizers to cover it up. Several in our group had difficulty sleeping due to the air quality issues. I just don't see how this property could be fixed, with the smells permeating the entire facility.

We booked this via Hotwire. If we had seen the reviews on TripAdvisor, we would not have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Neptune Beach hotels

Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Older hotel. Very nice and attentive staff plus very cheap rates. Clean room and a straight shot to the beach...only about a mile! There are lot of places to eat, supermarkets and banks around. Its right on the outskirts of the "Beach area", which is why their prices are low, but its close enough for you to enjoy all that Neptune and Jacksonville beach have to offer.

The little things killed me though. I got a room on the first floor and you can hear everyone walk by, inside and out. I was switched to a second floor room and it was a lot quieter.

The air conditioner is one of those big units in your room. Its it temperature controlled, but the darn thing keep going off and on, ALL night. It was super loud every time it went on. No matter at what temp I set it, it will hit that temperature, turn itself off...then no more than 5 minutes later it will go on again. It did this, all night......at BOTH rooms. Either both were broken or that's just how it worked. But I had trouble falling asleep....even wearing earplugs.

The other thing that looked super bad was that the second floor hallway was lined with buckets. Apparently to catch water from leaks on the roof. I did not notice a leak in my room, but the carpet was damp.

Everyone I encountered from the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Late night stop on a longer road trip. First, let's start with the good...

1. Found a last minute deal ($10 off) with HotelTonight mobile app.
2. Pet friendly, for only $15 extra.

It pretty much goes downhill from there.

First, upon check-in the person (Jeff) couldn't find the reservation, even though we showed him the reservation confirmation number on our phone. He just didn't know what to do. Since the hotel was only about half full, you might think just book us a room at the advertised price and forget about the reservation, but that sounded like crazy-talk to Jeff.

25 minutes later (I don't know how we kept it together during this time), possibly by miracle, a room key was provided and we were off to unload the car, with baby, dog, and a few bags.

Upon entering the hotel at a far end-entrance, we realized that this was certainly all budget and nothing more. Windows were dirty, carpet was really old, musty, and stained badly all over. Even though this is Florida, and no smoking is allowed in any hotel room (and we got a non-smoking room, to which I thought was strange) as we opened our room door and stepped in we could instantly tell it was definitely a smoking room. Outside our door was a no smoking placard, and that same placard was in the room next to the phone, and the clean, empty glass ashtray. There was a second identical clean glass ashtray on the other nightstand table, which was obviously cleaned by the room cleaning staff. We thought about changing our room, but after the experience at the front desk, we figured it would take another hour to get that done, and we were already very tired from driving a long way and it being late already.

Ended up eating a frozen pizza (DiGiorno) bought from the lobby freezer. The rooms do have microwaves and mini-fridge.

Before long we were asleep (on the ancient, collapsed and very uncomfortable mattress) and then up in the morning. Free continental breakfast - there's a plus. Slim pickins, but coffee, milk, cereal, toast, banana, and waffles (the kind you make yourself) was a welcomed sight.

We got the heck outta dodge quickly, and hopefully we won't find ourselves there ever again.

There was a pool that we didn't use, and I think it had a small fitness room, but can't recall.

I've been in worse places, but this one was ranking among them, even if slightly better.

I would have rather spent an extra $25 somewhere else for at least a better room.

Room Tip: Not sure, but the rooms far from the lobby are nasty - maybe close to the lobby would be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is, in general, a good value for the money but the mattresses on the beds are broken down and not adequate for me or the members of my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Neptune Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are undergoing a small renovation and the beds issue will be addressed. We are constantly working on improving upon our interiors and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Neptune Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Neptune Beach

Address: 1401 Atlantic Boulevard, Neptune Beach, FL 32266 (Formerly America's Best Inn Neptune Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Neptune Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Neptune Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Neptune Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Neptune Beach Mayo Clinic NE offers the best value at the beaches. We are passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Enjoy our delicious complimentary Daybreak Breakfast featuring Biscuits and Gravy, Hot Waffles, Florida's Natural Juices, Fresh Fruit, Cereals, Bagels, Muffins, Pastries, Fresh Coffee and Tea. Days Inn Neptune Beach Mayo Clinic NE is conveniently located less than a mile from the beach - a few miles to the internationally renowned Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida and near the Mayport Naval Station. Inquire about our free Mayo Clinic Hospital shuttle. We also offer Pet Friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Neptune Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Neptune Beach Hotel Neptune Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Neptune Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.