We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Beachfront Find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Oceanfront Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neptune Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorse Oceanfront Inn
Save
You added Seahorse Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
120 Atlantic Boulevard, Neptune Beach, FL 32236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Bradenton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quaint Beachfront Find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay in a lot of hotels, mostly chains like Marriott, Hampton Inns, Embassy Suites, etc. and they set the standard I expect. However, we are also cost conscious and hate spending $250 to stay beachfront each time we come to visit our college son. We found this little inn and oddly feel like we've stepped back in time. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable enough, the bathrooms (specifically the caulking around the tubs) need some TLC. The location and the view couldn't be better though. We've have tried a number of times to get the adjoining suites and they are always booked, so it would appear that many others see the value in this little inn too. The front desk staff are always nice and helpful. The bar if a lot of fun when open during season and brings a lot of the 20's and 30's crowd who mostly appear to be locals. All in all, great place to stay but be prepared to book well in advance as they are always full!

Room Tip: Main floor rooms have concrete patios. 2nd floor rooms have private balconies. All rooms have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
roanoke
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

While this hotel is older, we had a perfect trip! The rooms were clean, and the hotel was not crowded or too busy. We were provided with everything we needed, and thoroughly enjoyed the pool and bar area! The hotel was within walking distance of several excellent restaurants. The view was wonderful, and the beach is only steps away from the pool. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For our vacation to the JAX beaches, we wanted a hotel that was right on the beach. We wanted a balcony overlooking the ocean, a clean, comfortable room, and preferably the ability to walk to nearby shops and restaurants. Oh, and we didn't want to spend more than $100/night. Fat chance, right?!

But the Seahorse Oceanfront Inn had everything we wanted. It's a 70's era motel that is perfectly situated and well-maintained. They recently upgraded their landscaping with lots of new palm trees and grass and they installed free WiFi. The staff are friendly and helpful. As per the recommendations on this site, we asked for a room on the second floor (so we could look out at the ocean) and far away from the Lemon Bar. We also wanted a microwave. The staff had absolutely no problem accommodating us.

We also liked being steps away from the Neptune Beach Town Center. That area has really improved over the years. It is now a cars-free pedestrian mall with quite a few good restaurants and shops, and live music at night. We also had fun taking the ferry across the Johns River at Mayport and going on a Segway nature tour at the Omni Amelia Island Resort in Fernandina Beach. That was a blast!

For those who prefer a modern "big box" style hotel, the new Ocean One Resort is right next door. Of course, not all of the rooms at Ocean One have ocean views and it's more than twice the price. But if that's your "thing" go for it! But for those of us who prefer to spend their vacation money doing fun things like Segway tours, the Seahorse is perfect.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor (note: no elevator) so you can see over the dunes to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is an older hotel that has been nicely updated. There is still a little work to be done on the concrete decks but all in all it is very clean and modernized. The views from the balcony are lovely and the pool area is well maintained and also very clean. The staff are very friendly and they provide a small basket to go breakfast and decent coffee in the office.
The location is wonderful for shops and restautrants within walking distance. Park your car and you have no need to move it until you leave this lovely area.

Room Tip: As far away from Lemon Bar as possible, although you can still hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Clean spacious rooms. We stayed in room 225, which has beautiful views of the ocean, pool and sunrises from the balcony. You are literally 200 feet from the white sand beach and ocean. The grounds, pool area and lemon bar are very well maintained and cleaned daily. Walking distance to nice restaurants. Hotel staff was very friendly. Could not have asked for more!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Seahorse is a great alternative to over-roiced, stodgy luxury hotels. Stayed here in September 2012 for a conference at the One Ocean Resort, and was very glad we did. The seahorse has large, clearn, well-appointed, comfortable rooms. All rooms have ocean views, with either a balcony or patio. A great, gated courtyard is in the center, providing each room a view of the pool and pool/beach bar, as well as th ocean. Each room has a large mini-fridge which is nice. Simple, but good, breakfast baskets are provided free of charge at the front desk everyday. Parking is literally outside your room, and complimentary. Service is friendly, and helpful. This is not a fancy place by any means, but the large rooms, nice sourroundings and great location (less than a block from lots of shoping, dining, drinking and nightlife at the Beaches Town Center) make this a place we will go back to. For a fraction of the price of other nearby "fancy" hotels, this is a great alternative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location on the beach is awesome for the price you pay. Walk out your door and down a path and you are on the beach. You can also walk to The Town Center and do your shopping and eating. There are quite a few restaurants to pick from and everyone we tried was very good. The rooms in the hotel are older, so if you like fancy or very modern you might want to go elsewhere. They were clean but we did have a few bugs around the sink. The beds were older, but we were able to sleep ok. There is a bar in the courtyard so it can be loud outside, but our air conditioner drowned out the noise pretty good. Overall, it's a great location for the price if you don't need an ultra new or modern room.

Room Tip: Don't get a downstairs room if you don't want the bar outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahorse Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Oceanfront Inn

Address: 120 Atlantic Boulevard, Neptune Beach, FL 32236
Location: United States > Florida > Neptune Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Seahorse Oceanfront Hotel Neptune Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.