We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for transients, poor for extended stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Rosa RV Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Navarre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Rosa RV Resort
Save
You added St. Rosa RV Resort to your Saves list
8315 Navarre Parkway, Navarre, FL 32566   |  
Hotel amenities
Ontariariario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good for transients, poor for extended stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

St. Rosa RV Resort is as advertised, but, as I have told friends who asked, there appears to be more importance put on what would look good on a brochure than on what would be good for campers. Here are some reflections from our month-long stay:

- The park is right beside a very busy 4 lane highway, the only east-west road along the coast. With an airforce base to the east and personnel living to the west of the park, do not count on using the highway anytime from 2:30 to 6 pm - it is stop and go for miles and miles!
- The sites on the north side of the park are less than 50 feet from this highway. Yes, one does get used to the hum of traffic and the scream of all the sirens (at least 3 times a day), and it was not too bad at night, but when you can't sit outside and carry on a conversation with your friends, it is a little too much.
- Being close to an airforce base results in nighttime manoeuvres. Be prepared for booms and rat-a-tats of ammunition, and reconnaissance planes overhead. This was mostly after 8 pm and didn't go all night.

The above, the park can't help, but just be aware when you make your plans, that this will not change.

Now for things that should be part of the park management's concern:

- The pool looks lovely on the internet and in their brochure, but it is not heated and, with the very cool temperatures that are part of the weather in the panhandle, it is far too cold to swim in. Other campers who were in the park from December to April had not seen a single person swimming, and it is no wonder.
- The wifi is terrible! It just is not good enough for a park of this size and calibre. We want to communicate, the park is advertised as having wifi, but it has to be stronger and work more consistently to be of any use. Some in the park had given up on the park's system altogether and spent their own money to upgrade to individual Verizon systems to have better reception. Either there is sufficient wifi available for the park or there isn't. Don't blame campers for using Skype and Netflix and don't blame a disagreement between the server and the supplier. Just get it fixed!
- There are some essential services available in most parks, for the convenience of campers, but this park does not think they are necessary.
The first is the availability of a landline phone in the form of a payphone or some other office-situated service. Not everyone has a cell phone that can work far away from home, and telling a camper who inquires how one is to call for help in an emergency that they should find someone in the park with a cell phone is sloughing off the responsibility from their own shoulders. Having stayed in many parks with an available phone (and at a desk with a chair, a light and some privacy), I am sure that the park management's fear of misuse must be exaggerated.
The second is providing a directly hooked-in ethernet cabled computer for the convenience of guests. This would be especially helpful given the poor wifi in the park. There is alway someone in the office during regular hours, so a little corner of the office dedicated to a computer and desk, or an available ethernet for campers to plug in their own laptops, would not be susceptible to misuse and would be greatly appreciated.
- There is a recreation building which looks quite lovely on the internet, but which has not been outfitted with campers in mind. Pipes stick out of the wall for water and drainage, but no sink, taps, countertop or cupboards have been provided. When the self-organized campers have a potluck dinner, there is no water to clean up. And the 9 pm lockdown time, which is manically kept by staff, chaffs a little with seniors enjoying a movie they have provided themselves. The couple in charge of activities tried very hard to provide events, but did not appear to have the full cooperation of management. Kudos for them for all that they did do for us!

To show where management's interest lies, one day when campers were in the rec hall, they were asked their opinion on what color umbrellas the park should buy for the pool area. Honestly, wouldn't better amenities in the rec hall and better wifi and more camper-oriented conveniences be more important than the color of soon-to-be purchased umbrellas? But colored umbrellas would look good in pictures in a brochure or on the internet, wouldn't they.

Okay, I have to be fair with some positive comments: the park is very, very well kept. The 2 washrooms are immaculate and well-appointed, the cement site pads make for less clean-up in the trailer, the sites on the sound side are lovely, the views across the sound are beautiful, the proximity of the spectacular beaches is great and the campers themselves were a lot of fun! But this resort is geared toward transients, is not cheap, and will not be a destination for us for a long-term stay again.

Room Tip: Take a site on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We are sorry for any unhappiness you have had at our park. Yes, there are items out of our control, we are working on all the other items you mentioned in our control, even the umbrellas. The management and staff wish we could make everyone happy. Thank you for your review. JInks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent a total of 4 months at St Rosa on two different occasions. This is an exceptional resort located on the Sound and just a short distance to some of the best beaches in FL.

The manager, Jinks, does an outstanding job keeping the place in pristine condition. Her staff is friendly and helpful. The workampers work hard at keeping everything neat and clean.

Due to the limited places in Navarre for building near the water, St Rosa is next to Hwy 98. Yes, you will hear traffic noise. We did not find this overly intrusive. We had a waterfront site during both stays. Having a buffer of other rvs between us and the road may have helped filter a little road noise.

All sites are FHU and completely level. Water pressure was 60 psi. Cable was excellent. Wifi can be spotty to nonexistent when the resort is full. My only recommendation for management is to increase available bandwidth. I understand an upgrade was made previously, but there are still times when wifi is unusable.

We enjoy this resort and already have reservations for later this year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
I don't know how to say thank you for this great review. We all try to hard to make our guest happy and enjoy their stay, while it's hard to please everyone, we still try. See you next year.
THANK YOU for the great review. Jinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Santa Rosa RV Resort for two weeks in April, 2014. We chose a waterfront site and it was beautiful. We were only about 20 feet from the Santa Rosa Sound. The views across the sound of Navarre Beach and the breezes off the water were delightful, including a fireworks show one night. The park is relatively new and paved including paved sites large enough to accommodate our 42+ ft. fifth wheel. There are restaurants and grocery stores nearby and the Navarre Causeway which takes you right to the beach is only about 1/4 mile. Laundry facilities, shower/restroom facilities, pool and office are all well maintained and clean. The only "cons" are that the pool is not heated (it was a little chilly in April) and the occasional noise from roadwork at night. We would definitely stay here again if we are in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we're so happy you enjoyed our view. It was a good time at the Fun Fest and how nice the fireworks were right across the waterway. This happens for July4th also, don't even have to leave the park to see the fireworks. Again thank you and we look forward to your return. Jinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was the second spring break stay here for our family of five in our fifth wheel. We have no complaints and will definitely be back. Every waterfront spot has beautiful views, we loved site 23 because it has unobstructed views from both the back and side. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the park is immaculate. Very short drive to the public beach where they had ample parking and clean restroom facilities, and the public beach area looked less crowded than the beachfront area in front of the condo high rises. Very dog friendly park (we don't travel with our dog) but seemed that most campers had pooches, but were very respectful and we didn't see any doogie messes or encounter any noisy, loud dogs. The only possible negative is the traffic noise at night, but we slept with our fan on and by mid week barely noticed the noise. If you are all about the view and close proximity to a beautiful beach, then this place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we agree the view is great. Knowing that you like the park enough to return year after year just means we're doing our job. This is our goal to help you have a memorial vacation. Jinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

As one of the nice camper said to me he has never seen a more hateful group of people. road noise all day and night. Wifi does not work at all, and half the time tv cable is the same. The maintenance man run a fix it when he need to be at work and from what i hear he does it even do that right and charges to much. so he can kick back to the manager.

Room Tip: don't stay here if you want to have a good night sleep, and no heart burn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We hate you feel you had a bad experience at the park for your 6 month stay. The park is located on Hwy 98 but is also located on the St. Rosa Sound, I guess we get some bad with good, not all guest have a problem with the road noise, sorry you did.
I would like to say that I'm not sure how you got the impression we had RV Repairmen in the park, we don't. We do have repairmen that advertise in our site map that guest call in themselves. We all have different ideas of what we like, I just had a guest check out that stopped by the office and told me the park was so beautiful and everyone was so kind to her. We are happy when guest have a good time, this is our goal. Jinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed at Santa Rosa r.v. from oct 2013 till march 2014.. Every day perfectly clean sites and property. I found that every body who worked there was kind and helpful.
Only issue is the rush hour traffic on hi-way 98.....but I slept just fine !! The hi-way noise is not a factor for me.
I happened to bring my little sail boat. I anchored my sail boat just off the beach for 5 months. I was able to store my boat trailer in a trailer or dolly area for the entire 5 months.
The sites any where .near the water are spectacular.
During my stay you could watch the sun rise and set along the gulf.
Restaurants close by, lots of things to do away from the park also !
Thanks for a great stay : Bill

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we always try to please. I'm glad we're able to offer the extra parking for your boat. Have safe travels and keep us in mind the next time you're coming south. Again thank you for your stay at St. Rosa RV. Jinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diberville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Park is beautiful, level, and clean. It is close to the island. Road noise is really bad even at night. The beach isn't really a beach, but the pool is nice and facilities nice. Had difficulty sleeping with the road noise.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Manager at St. Rosa RV Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're hoping that when they finish the new road they're paving, the noise will be better. Maybe you'll give us a another try when they're finished. We try every day to give our guest a pleasant visit, some items are just out of our control, but we're working on that. Again, thank you. Jinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Rosa RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Rosa RV Resort

Address: 8315 Navarre Parkway, Navarre, FL 32566
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Navarre
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Navarre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Rosa Waterfront RV Resort is an ideal Gulf Coast destination. People love our location because everything you need for a perfect vacation is within easy reach. We are located in on St. Rosa Sound in Navarre Florida, close to Destin, Pensacola Beach. We are less then 1 mile from the famous snow white sand beaches of Florida’s Gulf Island National Seashore which was voted one of the top beaches in the world, by Trip Advisor.We offer 24 waterfront sites located directly on Santa Rosa Sound. All 88 of our spacious RV campsites have full hookups, 30/50 amp electric, water, sewer, cable, wireless internet. Enjoy our luxurious family friendly amenities such as a brand new club house, waterfront pool, fitness room, playground, and private beach.The resort is near parks, bike paths, championship golf courses, charter boat rentals, fishing, scuba diving and snorkeling.The larger towns of Fort Walton, Pensacola, Pensacola Beach, and Destin, are a quick drive away for shopping, dining, arts and culture. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Rosa RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.