We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rib Shack of Navarre

Rib Shack of Navarre
9532 Navarre Pkwy, Navarre, FL 32566-2906
850-936-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 67 Restaurants in Navarre
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Rib Shack has good BBQ, but not great. Seems to do a lot of take-out business. We had the pulled pork and the beef brisket. The pork was good, as was the brisket, although it was a little on the dry side. We did not try the chicken. I'd say this would be a better take-out eating choice as opposed to an eat-in choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GREENVILLE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time visit, deserves another.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We were well pleased with our dining experience - excellent food, excellent service. This was our first time in the area and we were unsure of where to eat. Glad we chose the Rob Shack. Love BBQ and this was some of the best!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Who is running this place? (Or not running it I should say!)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Saw some reviews for this place, left it for our last day of our stay, so we were excited to eat here. Came into the restaurant & found an empty table, dirty, but empty. After waiting about 5 minutes, went up to the cashier to ask if we were to order with him, or if we had a waiter. He explained he was the waiter & would be right with us.

At one point, he had so many people trying to check out, I could no longer even see him at the counter, he was so backed up with people trying to leave.

After being there for about 15 mins, another couple came in & sat behind us. 20-25 mins later, he finally came over & took the newer couples order! We still waited patiently thinking he would come over to us next, (we had no drinks on our table & he had to pass right by us to get to them!) & of course, he did not. He went back to the register & started ringing more people out.

I'm not blaming him, he was working very hard & trying to wait on a lot of people, but he was the ONLY one waiting on the ENTIRE restaurant & ringing people out to! Are you kidding me!

Not sure what's going on here, but wasn't sticking around for that circus another minute!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pulled pork sandwich EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are new to the Navarre area and were trying new restaurants. The rib shack is a little hole in the wall, but the Barbecue is amazing! The pulled pork sandwich is only 5 bucks! and it is the best I have ever tasted. The brisket wasn't too shabby either. I love this place! If you want a great meal for two for less than 20 bucks. Go Here. Very friendly and close to Navarre pier. 5 Stars!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ! Where the locals eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent flavor, huge portions, great food, great service, great value! In strip center (shopping) area -missed out for a while since it's kinda off the "beaten" path (not right around beach area) a local referred us. From TX where BBQ is everything, this is the closest we've had in a year!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Shack of Navarre also viewed

 
Navarre, Florida Panhandle
Navarre, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Rib Shack of Navarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rib Shack of Navarre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.