We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reply to Meacher's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Apartments & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariner Apartments & Motel
Save
You added Mariner Apartments & Motel to your Saves list
1295 Gulf Shore Boulevard South, Naples, FL (Old Naples)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reply to Meacher's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been visting the Mariner for over 18 years. We come across from our share apartment in Pompano for two or three nights to lovely Naples. The apartments are dated but always clean and fresh, although our stays have always been short we have always been treated with courtesy by the owner and the staff. It is good to stay somewhere where there is an assertive manager/owner. Isn't it funny how free loaders like the Meacher's don't like to hear the truth. Don't be put off by their review. A polite enquiry could have saved any misunderstanding.

Room Tip: Get one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead,Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After searching online for hotel rates in Naples, we decided to not book with any hotels until we could see the surrounding areas, since the rates were pretty high. Well, we arrived in Naples on a Thursday and drove to the beach and the pier first. The beach is awesome, the sand is so white and the water so clear. We then observed this motel which you can tell has been here a long time. The exterior is kept up along with the landscape. We spoke to a couple in the parking lot and they highly recommended it. We went inside the office and met with a male who answered all my questions in reference to the rules, etc. We asked if we could see a room and he said no problem. The room was like a studio apartment (living area , beds, and dining table all in one space. The room had two twin beds which we did not know if we were gonna like but sometimes you can do without the little things. Yes... the rooms are out dated (i.e the decor, windows, phone, etc) but they are clean. The room has a kitchen with a large fridge, stove, sink , glass ware and utensils. We did not come here to spend long periods of time in the room anyways. The bathroom is small but clean. The pool has a maximum depth of 8 ft and it is heated!! The motel was very quiet and peaceful. If you want to be loud, party and grilling, this is not the place for you then. I just had knee surgery approx 3 weeks ago and the short walk from our room to the beach and the pier did not hinder us one bit.The surrounding neighborhood is that of million dollar plus homes, you will see the police conducting a lot of patrols which is great.... keeps the bad at bay. The shops and dinners are very close also but we did not experience them as we decided to go to tin city for shopping and dinning.
I highly recommend this motel if you can be simple.

no ice machine after office is closed which i believe is 9 or 10pm. No pets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an unbelievably terrible experience here. Following some nasty-looking clouds chasing a group of us from the beach, we decided to gather at our friend's rental here to wait out the impending rain. Since the places are so small, the natural place to gather was around the pool area- our children swam and we stood nearby. Let me make it clear, our children are all 10+, were very quiet and respectful, and at no time was anyone loud, boisterous, or disrespectful. We were quickly approached by a older man (from the facility) who began to yell at the group about who was staying there, what room, etc. and then told there was a no guest policy. At no time was he friendly, understanding, or polite. At one point, he was berating one of our kids about where he was staying and why was he there! When our friend who was renting there tried to make an apology for not knowing the "no guest" rule to diffuse the man's obvious anger, he raised his voice again and verbally insulted her.
This place is old, outdated, and a joke in the Naples area. The location is great and apparently enough to stay in business regardless of the behavior of the staff or the condition of the property. I have stayed in dozens of hotels/rental properties and have never been met with a "no guest" policy in the middle of the day much less been treated in that way by a staff member.
This place sucks- DO NOT stay here. There are WAY too many other nice properties in the immediate area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked 2 rooms here 3 months prior to staying with HELEN at the front desk who at the time of booking was rude and abnormal to deal with for a front desk clerk. We arrived with our 3 kids and were told our baby could not sleep in the same room that we booked. Helen then barged into our room and threatened to call the police if we didn't move our infant baby into the 2nd room we booked. Mind you this was with in the first hour of our arrival. She was unbelievably unprofessional and would not even explain why we were booked in rooms that did not accomidate children yet knew we booked a room for 2 adults and 3 children. We tried to cancel the non-child room and was threatened in be kicked out. The a/c is worthless and the rooms are old and decrepit. Run from this location if you are looking for hospitality, kid friendly, and cleanliness. Helen should be fired immediately.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stumbled across this brilliant little old folks home, sorry, motel. It's actually an apartment with all separate rooms. Its right next to the beach and the pier in an upmarket neighbourhood. The receptionist is a 60 year old ex- marine, so probably it explains lack of email response if trying to book on line. Lovely central garden with tropical plants and a separate pool and sunbathing area.
Decor is old fashioned but new-ish and clean, wi-fi works fine and has a new toshiba flat screen tv.
We paid $90 for a night.

Room Tip: Room 214 was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Located right next the famous pier and I block from a beautiful beach this motel is very old but well kept. Booking is only available by phone and email. Make sure you check the dates: I screwed up once and they didn't even contact me to ask me why I didn't arrive in November instead of December. They were nice enough to give me a room during the busiest season.
The best things are: the location, the heated pool and 2-bedroom suites with a kitchen large enough to accommodate a big family with kids. Will come back for lack of alternative accommodation in the area. :)

Room Tip: Get rooms closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

This place has 2 things going for it-price and location. You get what you pay for here! Poured concrete building means no wi-fi inside, a/c not great, nothing bigger than twin beds, tv sucked, and I think they are still using the same bedding as when it was originally furnished in the 60's! If you're on a budget, and won't be relying on posh accomodations or amenities, you can't complain about proximity to the beach and shopping and eating!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariner Apartments & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Apartments & Motel

Address: 1295 Gulf Shore Boulevard South, Naples, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Naples
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner is a motel of suites (apartments) ideally located a block or so from Naples' famous fishing pier, its white sand beaches and the fabulous Third Street shops and restaurants; not to mention the Fifth Avenue shops, restaurants and theatre in the other "Olde” Naples area, nor the Crayton Cove Yacht Basin that are both close ... without being too close! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariner Apartments Hotel Naples
Mariner Apartments And Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Apartments & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.