We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We received exceptional service from the entire staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vanderbilt Beach Resort to your Saves list
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Columbus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We received exceptional service from the entire staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We have experienced wonderful times at the Vanderbilt Beach Resort in the past, but we continue to be impressed with the updates in service and the facilities. We spent 2 weeks having a great time with family and friends. All staff members went out of their way to make this possible.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    33
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
61
57
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Vanderbilt Beach Resort is a rare bit of old-time Florida, a low-rise resort right on the beach, umbrellas and beach chairs included (the Ritz and others charge extra for this basic!), kitchenette, lounge chairs outside the room, free parking. I was frazzled and exhausted and just wanted to wake up on the beach without a lot of other people around. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the beach is pristine, and a stroll around the Ritz (one of many high-rises on either side of this little gem) drove home how much more relaxing it was to be at a small hotel without having to deal with elevators, screaming kids, snooty people, or extra charges tacked onto the bill. It's about a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Naples, the restaurant is kind of pricy, the rooms are a little old-fashioned, but there are ample grocery stores, including a Whole Foods on the way in from the airport, and the living is easy. This is how my family spent time in Florida when I was growing up in the 60's and 70's, great beach, easy living, no need to spend a fortune to feel like a million dollars. If you want the glitz and the glam, there are lots of other great place in Naples, but you don't have to pay glitz and glam prices to be on the beautiful, beautiful beach and swim in the warm Gulfstream waters!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

we had just left a disastorus stay on marco island at the apollo, the first time AND LAST TIME WE WILL STAY THERE. our first impression of the vanderbilt was ," we have found our new favorite place". we absolutely loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the condo across the street from the beach was very spacious with a great view of the bay for a morning sunrise and just a quick walk to the beach which was spectacular!!!!!!!!!! Pure smooth sand with chairs and an umbrella to use for a small fee ,Russ was great as to accomadating our needs.we had great room service on a daily basis. the restaurants on the beach was very good as was the check in desk help etc.. Nicely located to grocery(Publix), restaurants, shops etc..
We had a great time and will definetely be back . again the condo was spacious with in room laundry, full working kitchen, nice balcony view, large bedrooms and clean!!The staff was very accomadating which means alot!!!!!! Sunsets were geat as were he walks on the beach at dusk. Dolphins,Manatees, Stingrays etc..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Everything about our stay was great! The location is superb- right on the beach. The rooms are immaculate, the staff extremely accommodating. We can't wait to return. I think this hotel is especially good for families.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Location is beautiful! Service was outstanding, very customer friendly!!
Rooms were very nice. This was a lovely vacation!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I have been staying at this hotel for several years so that I can visit my grandchildren often during the entire year. The hotel staff treats everyone with warmth, great service and a big smile. The hotel sits on the beach and offers a wonderful sunset experience. The restaurant attached to the hotel offers exquisite food and top notch service. The hotel is centrally located and near stores and shopping. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

I contacted the property directly in January to enquire about a small (~30 people) May wedding. After viewing the website I was very exciting about the property and the restaurant, and a family friend and the mayor of Naples had recommended the venue.

I spoke with George and it was the most disappointing conversation. The first words out of his mouth were, "We discourage people from having weddings here." I asked him why, and was essentially told that the staff was not competent enough. I politely reminded him that I was talking about 30 guests, and was once again told that they could not handle that capacity, were not a full service resort, did not have any service in the rooms after 2 p.m., etc. I asked him what made think we would need all of these things, and he simply replied, "We are not set up for this sort of thing." As a last stitch resort, I asked him if the resort, which has 18 apartment/efficiencies and 16 condos, and according to the website numbers, the ability to have at least 120 people, if not more, was really unable to host 30 people, to which he once again replied, "We discourage this type of thing and will not be able to serve you."

Although the beaches are beautiful, I would think twice about interacting with the resort if you are looking for hospitality or welcoming accommodations for your family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vanderbilt Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Address: 9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#14 Family Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanderbilt Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Beach Resort has been welcoming guests and their families for over 50 years. Our pristine beachfront location provides a tranquil escape from modern worries. Wake up to the gentle sounds of the Gulf of Mexico in our beachside one-room efficiencies, one bedroom apartments or waterfront condominiums that overlook the Vanderbilt Lagoon. End the day with dinner at our award-winning Turtle Club Restaurant or watch the sun set over the Gulf without ever leaving the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Vanderbilt Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Beach Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.