We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much for a romantic weekend..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vanderbilt Beach Resort to your Saves list
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so much for a romantic weekend..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

when we had to sleep on the couches in the living room, the mattress in room 42 was so old, we sunk in it when we tried going to sleep..I told the woman in the office at check out and she told me she would make management aware, they emailed me a survey and I told them about it and still no reply, an apology would have been nice, for almost 300 a night I should have been sleeping on a new mattress.

Room Tip: dont accept room 42
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanderbiltbeach, Owner at Vanderbilt Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are very sorry that you were not pleased with the mattress in Room 42. It is our goal to try to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. This is the first complaint that we have received about the mattress in that room. We regularly replace our mattresses, and all of the mattresses in Room 42 were just replaced in December, so the mattress in that room is relatively new. These mattress are high-end, hotel-quality Simmons Beautyrest mattresses. They are plush-firm mattresses, with a pillowtop. We understand that people have different mattress preferences and that we will not be able to please everyone. Most of our guests love this type of mattress and many guests have even asked for the information to be able to try to purchase one. We very much appreciate your honest feedback. We have noted your complaint and may consider changing mattress styles if we receive other complaints. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
61
60
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Love this place! Found it last year and have been there 4 times! I have stayed in the regular hotel room w 2 doubles and just tried the small junior suite in the beach front building. It has 2 twin daybeds that serve as couches in day with 2 arm chairs and tv. Then a double bed is sectioned off by plantation shutters and a pocket door. Very small quarters..just your bed and a night table. Comfy mattress. Room is equipped w a small bar area that has an apt size fridge, sink and single burner stove(?) could be 2, but didn't use it so I am not sure. One down fall, a tiny alcove which is the closet and no space for your suitcases to hide..NONE. Other than that..you are beach front and can't get better than that.
we moved over to the condos which are great and super spacious! We have friends that live in Naples and this space allows us to have visitors over for some drinks. 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, waterfront screened in porch and it is also right across the street from the beach.
The staff is always great!
I own 2 Sheraton timeshares and can go anywhere and yet I pay out of pocket to stay here! love it.

Room Tip: corner unit condos or upper level hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Great service, excellent location. Great atmosphere.
We have stayed here so many times since 2012, and is always the same perfect place. I recommend this hotel specially for families with little kids.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington, pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed here only one night as a 'pit-stop' as we were traveling from Key Largo to Tampa. Really wish we could've stayed longer!
The staff at the Vanderbilt was superb especially Sean who went out of his way to keep us comfortable on the beach.
When my son inadvertently left his homework binder in our room, the staff called us right away to inform us and overnighted it to us.
Will definitely try to make it back ASAP!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 49 which had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We have been staying at the Vanderbilt now for 4 years. The atmosphere is TOTALLY laid back and the service is great, yet there is so much to do. Sean, the beach guy is the absolute BEST and the NEW motorized paddle boards really made our stay this year! We recommend this resort to EVERYONE even though, we want to keep it as our secret!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We have been coming to VBR for over 20 years, I would guess that shows they are doing something right. We have a gulf side studio, that has everything we need. We cook many meals in our room but there is an abundance of great restaurants close at hand to include The Turtle Club. The staff and management are top notch and for us it's almost like coming home -- they are family. We will plan to continue to make Vanderbilt Beach Resort our annual winter get away. To the management and all staff we would rate a 10+

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

As I am reluctant to share a positive one for fear of making the VBR even more popular - it already seems hard enough to get dates!

Traveled with family of 5 including 2 teenagers and all agreed it was absolutely wonderful. We stayed in a 2 bdrm condo in the 4-storey building across the street from the two storey resort proper. The condo unit was spacious and clean. Only real complaint would be the age/condition of the beds - did NOT look forward to turning in every night - so I would recommend that they look into "Heavenly Beds"-type beds for the rooms/condos. Apparently the condos are only managed by VBR and are individually owned so I am not sure how any renovations would work. There were a lot of little imperfections with the condo - stained ceilings, chipping paint on lanai, older furniture, patio doors without locking mechanism, etc. but, when you are staying at a beachfront vacation property, who cares!! Great pelican-watching from the back lanai of the condo.

I was not there to cook so we went out for dinner all but one night (ordered pizza that night from Jets - very thick crust but good and quick, courteous delivery) which included two dinners at the Turtle Club on site (which was excellent both times). Having a full size fridge was great for storing beverages and breakfast/lunch fixings. The kitchen is fully-equipped if you want to cook. We ate at DaRuMa once (Japanese teppanyaki restaurant within walking distance) where the food, chef and service were very good. The Beach Box is a take-out place a stone's throw away where we had a couple of lunches. It's also a small bar with walk-up window service and they sell beach stuff there too (paddleboards, boogie boards, beach toys, umbrellas, etc.).

The Mercato outdoor shopping centre was a 5 minute drive and had several good restaurants. We dined at The Counter (excellent) and the Rusty Bucket (not so excellent but is what it is). We bought supplies at the Publix which was across street from Mercato and at Whole Foods which is in the Mercato complex.

Service at VBR varied depending on the day/hour. Mike and Shaun (sp?) on the beach were pretty much fantastic. Tip them - they work hard!! The beach drinks service was prompt. Front desk was professional but not overly-friendly. Housekeeping was courteous, unobtrusive and very good. We felt pretty anonymous overall with the staff which was fine. Kind of like Groundhog Day where every day it was like the first meeting.

We found the clientele interesting - several small but loud and boorish groups* but mainly quiet groups, quiet older and middle-aged couples and a few families. Beach chair placement could make or break lounging experience depending on who was in the immediate vicinity. This is an issue at ANY resort. Unfortunately on a couple of the days some non-guests from the "public" plunked themselves right at our feet (between our chairs and the water). I guess the beach area is public but there was a lot more beach down the way that they could have just as easily located themselves on. It's not easy to get front row beach seating at VBR so to have someone take that from you is disappointing. If you are in the front, mark out your 'territory' LOL or you may be encroached upon.

*these would be the same types that, even though seated at the front-most tables at Turtle Club for dinner, would stand up en masse to take photos of the final bits of the sunset thereby blocking the view of all of the people at the many tables behind them...

This has nothing to do with a review of the resort but is more of a public service: To All Vacationers - Please be considerate of those around you when you are on the beach, at a restaurant or anywhere in public!!

Swimming great - the pool was quiet and had good shade; ocean and beach were beautiful and clean. Rented paddleboards ($25/hr) which was enjoyable - best to do in morning when water calmer unless you like a real challenge!

We did Captain Mitch's airboat tour and saw 4 alligators and lots of different birds. Visited downtown Naples for shopping and to walk the pier. Also went to dog track at Bonita Springs which was a lot of fun. All of this within 20-45 mins of the VBR. On-site parking for VBR is good - it may look full due to valet parking for restaurant but spaces for guests were always available and we had no trouble parking even when coming back during busy restaurant times.

I would have given a 5 star rating except for the kind of 'beat up' condition of the accommodations. We will definitely be looking at returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vanderbilt Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Address: 9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
#22 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanderbilt Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Beach Resort has been welcoming guests and their families for over 50 years. Our pristine beachfront location provides a tranquil escape from modern worries. Wake up to the gentle sounds of the Gulf of Mexico in our beachside one-room efficiencies, one bedroom apartments or waterfront condominiums that overlook the Vanderbilt Lagoon. End the day with dinner at our award-winning Turtle Club Restaurant or watch the sun set over the Gulf without ever leaving the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vanderbilt Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Beach Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.