We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vanderbilt Beach Resort to your Saves list
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 2-week stay at the Vanderbilt Beach Resort. We have visited some beautiful beach resorts, but this was our most pleasant experience ever.

The Vanderbilt Beach Resort is located on a 5-mile stretch of one of the worlds most beautiful beaches, on the north end of Naples Florida. Accomodations range from beach-side motel rooms, efficiency apartments, to beautiful condos. The cost of each is very reasonable. Even though the cost is reasonable, you can still expect 5-star service. We were treated like royality throughout our stay! Everyone on the staff made sure that our stay was wonderful. The Vanderbilt is a family oriented resort. We met families from all across the United States, Germany, France, Holland, England, etc. All agreed that the Vanderbilt was a place to come back to. We plan on returning with our children soon.

The Turtle Club, (the best beach-front restaurant in South Florida), is attached to the resort. You won't get better food or service anywhere.

We have enjoyed our trips to St. Thomas, Cancun, Dominican Republic, San Juan, etc, but none compare to our Vanderbilt Beach Resort experience. We will return every year.

  • Liked — Great Staff - Great Location - Great Beach
  • Disliked — It rained one day!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    31
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
54
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We made a phone reservation at this resort 2 weeks prior to our planned arrival. We travel quit a bit and know something about reservations. They informed us that they would email us a conformation. Three days after our reservation we decided to switch our reservation to another local hotel. We called the hotel 11 days prior to our arrival, which was three days after we made our reservation and where informed that there policy is a 14 day cancellation policy. On the phone they where rude when we explained that they never told of this policy and that even though they never emailed or mailed our conformation, that was tough, and we had to pay $189 deposit. I then told them we would dispute the charge an he replied " we get credit card deputes all the time, and we usually win". WOW, what a way to run a business. If they are this arrogant on the phone I would hate to meet them in person. Stay away.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed in a large 2 bed condo with a sofa bed and this was more than adequate for 5 adults. Superb inshore harbour views from the balcony, and the beach was on the opposite side of the quiet access road. Every mod con: wi fi dishwasher, laundrty 2 t v's aircon - very well equipped and confortable. Wild Dolphins swam with us on long sandy beach in Gulf of Mexico, sea temp 80 degrees F. Car essential, private parking provided. Elton John and other celebs have bought nearby - average waterfront condo sells for over US$2m!

  • Liked — spacious well appointed
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

A favorite get away spot for many South Floridians from the east coast is to hop over the "alley" for a SW Florida getaway. Just got back from a very enjoyable long weekend at the Vanderbilt Beach Resort. Up till now our favorite was the Hyatt at Bonita Springs. But, this "little" old style Florida Resort is giving the Hyatt a run for the money. We had heard very good things about the resort but were still skittish. No need to be, the property was recently renovated. Rooms were very clean andcomfortable with the property in excellent condition - lush landscaping with a wonderful view of the best beach in SW Florida. Each room has a kitchenette perfect for snacks and breaksfast - enjoyed our morning coffee outside our room looking out over the beach and beautfiful blue waters. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent enjoyed a very nice lunch. It's quite the spot for locals to watch the sunsets and have dinner. Very busy but not intrusive. The beach area is perfect to just relax with a good book or spend the day dozing by the water. We so enjoyed our 3 days, I've already planning on a few more getaways. Next time we're thinking ov staying even longer. Go and enjoy.

  • Liked — The non bustle of the bigger resorts. Old Florida feel
  • Disliked — Very small TV's
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2004

The view was great, the rooms clean and nice, and the staff are fantastic. We ate along the beach at the in-hotel cafe. Over all a real Florida motel not another nation wide boar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vanderbilt Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Address: 9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#16 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanderbilt Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Beach Resort has been welcoming guests and their families for over 50 years. Our pristine beachfront location provides a tranquil escape from modern worries. Wake up to the gentle sounds of the Gulf of Mexico in our beachside one-room efficiencies, one bedroom apartments or waterfront condominiums that overlook the Vanderbilt Lagoon. End the day with dinner at our award-winning Turtle Club Restaurant or watch the sun set over the Gulf without ever leaving the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vanderbilt Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Beach Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.