We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy customer service beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Vanderbilt Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 hotels in Naples
Media pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lousy customer service beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had booked 2 ocean/gulf view rooms.
Confirmed the above the night before and was told all was right in the universe.
Upon arrival we were told that our booking was non existent
They stated we could have one of the dual room condo units facing the canal with no price reduction that is the best they could do . The room is shabby to say the least run down is more like it. The front door lock didn't work properly. The furniture was abused, Couches ugly and worn, bathrooms dated and just plain yuck. Kitchen worn terribly. This place reminds me of the rental duplexes in northeast Philadelphia which is lower income area in Philly.
The only thing I was impressed with so far has been the valet probably want to get you separated from your vehicle before you realize how crappy this place is and this is after being here for only 30 min.
Now I'm not on the snobbish side I've been in the army and eaten MREs in the dirt also camped with the boy scouts as a scout leader and work as a fire fighter so I've lived on the rougher side.
I will post up again in 24 hrs to up date

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanderbiltbeach, Owner at Vanderbilt Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We were surprised and disappointed by this review. We have no record of this guest staying with us and management was never notified by this guest of the problems described in this review. We are committed to maintaining and improving our property for the enjoyment of all of our guests. In the Spring we replaced all of the carpets in the living areas of our condominium units with new tile, and in September we just concluded a renovation of our hotel bathroom units. We also completed a complete redecoration of our beachfront restaurant in September. While we understand that tastes can differ, the suggestion that our property is somehow "low rent" and that we provide poor service is simply not an accurate description of our values or of the experience that we provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    29
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
47
48
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had a nice time at this resort.Unit was nice,updated and everyone was very friendly.The pool and hot tub were great.A few little complaints but nothing major.Will come back to stay again just because of the great view and amenities.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton beach fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have stayed at this motel many times. This time we took our 2 granddaughters, ages 10 and 7. Our room was extremely dilapidated and needing upgrades. Furniture and bedding very old and musty; towels were of poor quality.

Receptionist at front desk was unfriendly and going through the motions- almost rude. In fact when i asked for a map of the area, on our second day, I felt as though I was intruding. He handed it to me- no comment, no may I help you, etc.

Breakfast was sparse- packaged waffles, muffins, boxed cereal.

Although the Turtle Club is lovely and food is good, service was not up to par on the night we dined there. Same children's menu across the street on the bay side was $5.00 less per child.

Would we return to Vanderbilt Resort, I don't think so.

Room Tip: Unless rooms are updated, I can't suggest a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath unit with a full kitchen. TV's in both the bedrooms and the living room. The unit had a washer dryer which was great. The balcony looked out over the ocean, beautiful. You could lay in bed and see the ocean. Everything was very clean, grounds well kept. There two sides to the resort, bay side and ocean side, each side has a pool and hot tub, there is a very quiet street with little traffic to cross. Great resort, everyone is very friendly and helpful. There are two pontoon boats at the resort that you can rent for $75 for three hours which was fun. There is a fishing dock on the bay side. Very happy with our trip, highly recomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We LOVE this place. We have been coming here every year for 10 years. It's so laid back, and non-pretentious. It's a little slice of heaven. The only way it's lacking is the lack of a spa and/or exercise room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Even though our stay was rained out, great location, terrific food at the Green Turtle very nice rooms,hope to go back again with better weather!

Room Tip: Try to get a garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have never, ever stayed at a Resort where I have been treated as good as George and the staff here at Vanderbilt treated us. Great Service. GREAT room ( what a view ) Clean and nicely appointed. GREAT value, and let us not forget the " Food and " Drink" Barry, and Jane were so incredible as well as out servers. As a Chef I am pretty picky about the food at Resort's, not here, the food was 5 star and the cocktails were delicious. The sunsets and the company at the ' Vanderbilt made this Vacation a memorable one. George is really awesome and I am returning next year. If you need anything just ask George, he will amaze you too.

Chef Patricia Lenahan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vanderbilt Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Address: 9225 Gulfshore Drive North, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#17 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanderbilt Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Beach Resort has been welcoming guests and their families for over 50 years. Our pristine beachfront location provides a tranquil escape from modern worries. Wake up to the gentle sounds of the Gulf of Mexico in our beachside one-room efficiencies, one bedroom apartments or waterfront condominiums that overlook the Vanderbilt Lagoon. End the day with dinner at our award-winning Turtle Club Restaurant or watch the sun set over the Gulf without ever leaving the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vanderbilt Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Beach Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.