We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World style in a New World destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Naples to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Naples
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Old World style in a New World destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

The only real problem with the Ritz Carlton is finding it at night. It was quite an ordeal. Though i arrived with my 2 sons (12 and 10) at 2.30am we were warmly greeted and nothing was too much trouble including a room upgrade. The hotel is certainly impressive.Our room could not have been bettered and the Bulgari soaps and shampoos made a nice touch of luxury at bathtime. The hotel is right on the beach and the amazingly warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. During the one overcast day in our 7 day stay i tried out the spa and the "Ritz Carlton relaxing massage". Bliss. I was talked into trying a reflexology session which was something i had not tried before.
Beach or poolside the choice is there for the taking. Having said that i do have a couple of gripes. Firstly is paying $25 for an umbrella and sun loungers on the beach which are free by the pool. This fee reduces to $15 after 2pm. Is this strictly necessary though there is no resort fee so often charged at other establishments. Secondly,evening dining. The buffet breakfast is great and though we never had it lunch looked pretty good. Dinner though is something of an extreme. On oneside is the exhorbitantly pricey (even by London standards and a weak dollar) Grill restaurant. Lots of pretentious wood panelling and a rather dull menu. Too much meat and not enough fish.My fillet steak and fois grois was incredibly salty. The portions were just about ok for small English stomachs. The only alternative is the Terrace. Again the menu is dull though what one had was perfectly good esp the Gazpacho. Room service menu was varied but staying in the room is boring and the service add ons costly. The beachside restaurant was better but was only open for our last night. To avoid disturbing the turtles hatching it is plunged into near total darkness which makes dining hard work. Portions far too big. If one was staying for a 2 week holiday one would have to eat out of the hotel to stop culinery terminal boredom setting in after a few days. It was only my children that stopped me heading out during the evening. That said certainly a place to return to.

  • Liked — Grandeur,beds,fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — The evening dining
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat out in the evenings if you have the strength
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    223
    78
    30
    14
See reviews for
266
343
21
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

Spent four nights to Naples this summer and I did select the Ritz beach based to the overall experiences and posts about this hotel. I was absolutely not impressed , the hotel is old , the rooms just average ( nothing special ) the service so-so... Best new addition for the rooms are the Tv Flat screen while I found the bathroom very very small .. The breakfast at the Terrace restaurant was just mediocre and the service there not polite..
Not bad the Limbo restaurant in front of the beach with a good and smiling service.
We alwas decided to eat for Dinner in some local restaurants so did not try the Artisans resturaurant and the Grill.
The plus for tis hotel are the beach ( very nice) and the spa , absolutely lovely.
In reason of that we left the hotel early , two nights before our expected check out..
It seems to me the RC Golf is a much better hotel and the service much more friendly. While play the Tiburon Gold Course was a big disappointment !!

  • Liked — Tv Flat Screen
  • Disliked — Size and bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Our family went to Naples early August for vacation. We went to Naples specifically to visit this "famous" hotel. We have stayed at Ritz Carlton hotels 4 to 5 times over the past year. The resort without a doubt is beautiful. The newly redone rooms are beautiful with upgraded bath products. Despite this beautiful location the service was lackluster at best. The pool and beach staff made no extra effort in anyway. The lobby lounge was under staffed and dirty glasses and plates just sat. Housekeeping was sporadic. Rates at this resort merit better service. We will not return.

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Naples and had stayed here 2 different summers way back when the resort first opened. The resort is beautiful. Although there were many pleasant staff members we encountered, there were too many not trained to the Ritz Carlton standard. I agree that I began noticing it with the valet attendees, and the housekeeper appointed to our room was terrible. She left our coffee cups in the bathroom and the coffee station in the foyer completely unreplenished. We had left the room late that morning closer to noon ( and had even left a tip with a note which she took...) but it seems to me that she was trying to make some point of her annoyance at having to service our room late(??) Not Ritz Carlton quality! Another housekeeper in the hallway who we asked something for simply told us she didn't have it with no offer to get it for us. The level of education and training of their staff seems to have declined from when we were last there. We made our feelings known as I hope others will. It would be a shame for The Ritz Carlton not to maintain their reputation for excellent service above and beyond at their Naples resort.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York - San Francisco - Dallas - Chicago - Miami
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We were planning to stay for three nights but we checked out early and went to the Ritz Carlton Golf Resort instead. The difference was night and day!

We drove up and sat in our car, waiting for a valet or a bellman to acknowledge our arrival, nobody came while we sat there in silence, so I ended up having to get out and start unloading bags myself. It was only then a bellmen finally came to assist.

After checking in at the desk, I looked for the luggage cart to get my computer - I asked the person at the bell desk who simply pointed off in the general direction I should go to find my luggage. I finally found the luggage cart unattended and sitting outside in direct sunlight, we had a small bag there with chocolate that was melting away as a result.

After arriving to our room, we waited at least 25 minutes for our luggage to arrive, and after hanging our clothes - we found water dripping from the closet ceiling. Generator noises were coming from above the room at irregular intervals.

Staff seemed indifferent to our complaints, and twice the privacy sign on our door was completely ignored.

Room service took nearly an hour to deliver a salad and everytime we ordered any food the server ignored attention to detail - leaving glasses covered with wrapping and not offering to take away other trays. When we finally called to remove the tray, nobody came until we called again 2 hours later.

You get the idea, there are too many other good places out there, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, fl
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

There is always someone who has something to say bad about a good hotel. I am the one for the Ritz Carlton in Naples. We stayed there for four days. The hotel is definatley beautiful. The room we had was better than average with an excellent view.
The desk staff, bell staff and car staff are very friendly.
Now for the problems we incurred. When we got there, we called up housekeeping for supplies. We went down for lunch. My wife has food allergies-there is very little choice for people with problems-everything is preseasoned. We went back to the room-housekeeping had never showed up after two hours. We called again, went for a ride to check out the city (just for your info-there is nothing to do in Naples). We came back to the hotel-still no housekeeping, after 4 hours-we raided the trolleys that were in the hall and helped ourselves. The bed we had was very uncomfortable to sleep in. Dinner selections in the restaurants are very expensive, as to be expected. There were a lot of kids running around, more than you would see at a Holiday Inn, pardon the name drop. You come to a hotel like this, that is rated way at the top of every poll, and expect better. We went to the better restaurant for dinner the next day-of course very expensive-
service was good but not excellent, as you would expect. The food was very good, but way overpriced. My wife had an "accompaniment" as they call it, which was supposed to be a 1 1/2 "pound" lobster-must have been a misprint, they probably should have said 1 1/2 "ounce" lobster, so help me it was two bites for $42.00.
Maybe we are just one of the few unfortunates, that are spoiled, and expect more, but that is the way it was. We have stayed at the one in Amaila Island, Florida-better food, service, and accommodations. And just so you know, we have gone to Europe numerous times and have stayed at the "American" chains and rate them better.
Take this review for what it is worth, we have travelled quite a bit all over, and would not stay here again, unless things changed or if the price was more in line with other hotels.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel
  • Disliked — Types of food selections available
  • Tips/Secrets — Go knowing that the selection of food is not for everyone.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

My daughter and I just returned from a five-night stay at the Ritz Carlton, Naples. We are making plans to return next summer for our vacation.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The hotel definitely lives up to its five star rating. If you like impeccable service, large well-appointed rooms, with comfortable beds and linens, marbled bathrooms, beautiful chandeliers throughout the hotel, (even in the elevators), antiques, oil paintings, and oriental rugs, then this is the place for you. The view of the gulf is incredible. Don't miss the sunset over the gulf.

The ladies and gentlemen of the Ritz Carlton go out of their way to please and to make sure you are well-satisfied with the service. We had a wonderful stay and very relaxing vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the Naples area for a very memorable vacation.

We can't wait to return, and we loved every minute of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Spa Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#9 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Naples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.