We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Naples to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 58 hotels in Naples
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

As you would expect from a Ritz, it's nice. I've had larger rooms, but it was well-appointed and comfortable. My room had a balcony and a water view, so that was nice. The common spaces were quite nice (pool, gym, lobby, etc.). The staff was excellent as was the food. My only complaints have to do with the the nickle-diming stuff. Though commonplace, I still can't get used to having to pay $26 to park and $10/day for internet on top of a $400 room and $24 glass of port. Margin of error stuff, perhaps, but mildly irritating nonetheless.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    210
    74
    29
    12
See reviews for
250
315
21
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here after our company Christmas (Holiday) party. We got a great rate on an oceanfront room and the view was nothing short of spectacular. Even for a catered event the food was great and the hotel convention staff did a great job of putting on a party. Everything is a bit pricey for my tastes. I am not one who believes that even if you are willing to pay for a nice room that the prices on other things needs to be necessarily exorbitant. In room breakfast was great but a bit expensive as well as lunch at the beach-side bar. Overall, a great experience but can be a bit tough on the wallet if you are just a casual traveler.

Room Tip: Partial Gulfview is fine for a long stay but Oceanfront with a balcony is the way to go if you are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Spent week between Christmas and New Year's here. Beautiful rooms with spectacular sunset views of the gulf coast. Extremely responsive and friendly staff across the board. Even when packed, in our experience we were able to get great service at all restaurants and resort facilities. It's a family resort, lots to do for kids and adults alike. Easy also to get into Naples, Everglades etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I went to the Ritz Carlton for the week after Christmas. We always try to find a warm place to thaw out from the fridiged winter in Minnesota. Someplace elegant, quiet..........hmmmm.....did not find it here. Elegant ( could have been ). Warm - cold front moved in right after we got there. Quiet? It was quiet alright - Quiet as a indoor ice rink filled with hyped up, sugar overloaded, caffeine overdosed spoiled brats. And I am not just talking about the kids. When you see a father and son throwing a ball back and forth in the lobby - you know you might have a problem. Granted - about 15% of the kids and families were just fine, but do you remember when it used to be 15% that were the problem and not the other way around? Sigh - Beautiful place, great staff, amazing spa (where I hid out most of the time), but come on - who would have thought that a 5 star hotel like the Ritz would be a high end Disney park?

Go to the hotel - DON'T go after Christmas.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this amazing property. We received an upgrade to a partial ocean view, enabling us to watch the sunset from our balcony. The service is amongst the best I have ever experienced. EVERY member of staff was helpful, friendly and really couldn't do enough for us. The beach is beautiful, with good drinks service and complimentary loungers.
The buffet breakfast was good value for money with a great choce of food.
A visit to Gumbo Limbo for a post-sunset meal is a must. The food is delightful- particularly the crab nachos. The atmosphere is so laid back and friendly.
My only issue is that we didn't stay here longer- we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I decided to get away the week between Christmas and New Year's without the kids. We are Marriott rewards members, so we used our points to stay at the Ritz which is owned by Marriott. Our first impression of the hotel, was understated elegance. it was very lovely inside all decked out for Christmas. We were surprised at how many families were there. The Ritz has a ton to do for kids! The service is impeccable. Every staff member is friendly and helpful. Even if you are just sitting in the lobby, you will eventually have someone come up to you and make sure there is nothing you need!
Our room was nice. Enough for two people. The balcony was small and too close to other balconies to really enjoy. This is a smaller hotel, so the rooms are pretty close. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had 4 nights of great sleep! The turn down service in the evening was a favorite thing of ours. The only complaint I have is that for the amount of points we used to reserve here, the room was average. For the same amount of points I could have stayed at a seriously upgraded suite at a high category Marriott. The Ritz refused us Club level access because you needed to be a platinum member when at the Marriott you need to be a Gold level member. The inconsistency across the board was annoying especially considering the amount of points I just traded in to stay here and the fact that they are owned by the Marriott.
The resort is very well kept. The grounds were very nice. It had two good sized pools one being a lap pool ( no kids). There are always big jugs of lime and lemon flavored waters and cups to help yourself to. They also have mini bottles of water to take to the becah with you all for no charge. The beach was right there and chairs are free. Umbrellas and cabanas cost a fee. The guys on the beach were great and would get us a good spot on the beach. You can reserve a front row spot in advance. Again, the service is impecccable. A guy next to me forgot his sunglasses in his car and they happily retrieved them for him so he didn't have to leave the beach. The sunsets here are spectacular and everyone gathers at the allotted time to watch and take photos. They had an artist creating beautiful sandcastles like I've never seen on the beach! At night, he had them lit up with little pits of fire!! Really amazing!
We ate here several nights. We had breakfast at the Terrace. It was very good, but all the food was very pricey. We certainly don't mind paying more for food, but when they overcharge for the basics like coffee or juice, that bothers me. Two small cups of coffee cost us $4 a piece! The blintzes at the Terrace are melt in your mouth! Like eating clouds!! So good!! The tapas restaurant Bytes was also fun and tasty!! Go for the fish tacos!! The poolside cafe was tasty. Our least favorite was the cafe right on the water. The service at all was great!!
Do not leave this resort without using the spa. Worth every penny!! It was beautiful and so relaxing!! It is truly world class!! Pampering at its best!!
We rented a car and Olde Naples, the pier and 5th Avenue were only a 15 minute ride!!
Overall, this was a very realxing vacation for us in a very lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms never get any sun. If you want a room on the sunny side, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton, Naples, is a consistent charmer with a terrific beach-front location on Florida's gulf coast. While the property has much to offer in amenities -- pool, spa, beach, etc. -- it has a comfortable and intimate feel, not at all like a mega resort.

The rooms seem slightly smallish, but they are very well appointed -- comfortable beds, big marble bath, decent sized balcony. I think the actual square footage of the room is reasonable, but the way the room was laid out contributed to the perception of it being "smaller" than average -- the room had an entry foyer (vs. opening directly into the room) with a large closet and additional bureau, which reduced the "living space" in the room proper.

We enjoyed our gulf view and spectacular sunsets on the beach each night. I was also treated to a gorgeous view of the moon and stars over the ocean when I happened to wake up during the night. It was worth getting out of bed!

The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Every meal was top notch -- outstanding cuisine. The pools are gorgeous. Our first days at the resort were unseasonably cool, but the pools were well-heated so the kids in our group could still swim.

My only regret is that I didn't make it to the spa this visit, but my fellow travelers raved about the services they received.

Looking forward to another visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples, soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#6 Spa Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Naples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.