We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in the united states” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Naples to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“best hotel in the united states”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We love this hotel. Great location. Great beach. Great service. Great rooms. Great food. Great club level. Everything that make a Ritz a Ritz is present in this hotel. It is expensive. You will have a hard time keeping money in your wallet at this hotel. But in all of our travels, I honestly can't think of a hotel I like more in the US than this particular Ritz.

We just spent eight days at this hotel for our teenagers' spring break. I would say that the hotel was one third business travelers, one third families spring breaking and one third "Ritz" people. The hotel was at 95+% capacity. The pools were pretty busy, but the there were chairs on the beaches and the hotel's restaurants absorbed the guests very well. The spring break crowd to either side of the Ritz was pretty rowdy, but at the hotel, it was a calm atmosphere perfect for teens and younger kids. I only saw a few groups of college kids by themselves at the hotel. And they were really great.

We had club level rooms, which are spectacular if you are traveling with kids. There is constant food in the club lounge. Something is going on all day. I think you nearly offset the extra cost of the club level by saving on breakfast, drinks and snacks. If you can afford it, the club level is the best way to go.

I have two very minor quibbles.

First, if you are charging me $900+ a night for a room, please don't nickle and dime me for wifi. Ritz, as a chain, you need to fix this issue. If the Hamption Inn can provide complimentary wifi, so can you. This is stupid.

Second, this particular Ritz even more so than others at which we have stayed tends to attract high net worth people who monopolize the attention of the hotel staff. I don't blame the staff . . . they are simply responding to hotel guests. But Thurston and Lovie Howell occasionally make it difficult, if not impossible, for "normal" guests to get the level of service that Thurston and Lovie demand. The hotel needs to remind the staff that the family driving the SUV is paying the same price for the their room that the folks who drove up in a Bentley are paying. THIS IS NOT A STAFF ISSUE. It's a hotel culture issue.

Again though, these are just minor quibbles. This is the best beach hotel in the United States, bar none. If you can afford it, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    215
    77
    29
    12
See reviews for
258
321
21
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Awesome stay! My kudos to restaurant chef - best food I got from long, long time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, NY
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is an amazing Hotel. The staff is fabulous and they cannot do enough for you. The location is perfect if you are a beach lover as it is literally on the beach. The bed was plush and luxurious, the rooms spacious, the restaurants magnificent, and the concierge staff creative and accommodating. Probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
But is it worth $700 a night to have everyone say hello to you and ask you how you are, that can get a bit tedious after a few days.
Every room has at least a Gulf of Mexico view, with more than half being water front.
Aside from all of this, I hate it when high end hotels nickel and dime you for parking and internet service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel last June for my cousin's wedding. The room was gorgeous, the service was outstanding. We had a wonderful time and every request we had was fulfilled with a smile. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights for business/pleasure. They have many positive aspects but have forgotten that they are a hotel first and an event venue second. When I brought to the attention of management that the party venue below our window was still being taken down at 12:30am, accompanied by considerable noise, they were sympathic and responsive at the time. The next night was the same issue- no changes made. I paid $800/night for an oceanfront room to hear the ocean not the racket of hotel workers. Why not dismantle the next morning?
The $10 additional charge is insulting and if younwant an umbrella with those beach chairs it's $28 extra! After several stays here, this is not what I expect from Ritz!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I really love this hotel, and was debating for the last 3 weeks whether to give it 4 or 5 stars, this hotel is almost perfect, but there were some small flaws that took it down a small notch. I will definitely go back, the hotel is wonderful.

Pluses -
Service impeccable, really maybe the best or second best service I've ever experienced at a hotel!
Facilities are great - think Las Vegas style pools (in size and service - but not the partying).
Beach is wonderful but it does cost $25/day to rent an umbrella unless you're on the Club floor.
Food was excellent but avoid food at the sushi bar.
Rooms were a good size, not huge, but fine. (Avoid low floors on the north side of the building - that's where the loading docks are. Heard about that from some people we met.)
Maybe the best showerhead I've experienced. Or at least up there. Tub is a little slippery though - but they have a grab bar. (no separate shower)
Concierge got us into an impossible restaurant.

Negatives (none huge, but just to be balanced since the place isn't perfect) -
The average age of the place seemed to be a bit high - going to guess 53. But then there were many 30-something families with young kids as well.
The charges for food and drink were very high (esp alcoholic drinks) - above typical hotel upcharges. $14 for a standard mixed drink for example; and food prices were double what you'd see at home at a restaurant. The service did make up for it though, but just so you know.
Mattresses were older and soft and just generally needed to be replaced. Was a little tough on my back.
Some peeling paint in the room - not a surprise for a facility of this age, nothing major.
Bugs - there were a ton of them flying around certain areas. Especially Gumbo Limbo and the Pool Bar. (flying into food etc.) Wife got stung pretty bad one time, and they were in our food a lot. This was the biggest negative to the place - and something we may think about before rebooking.

Still overall - a fantastic facility.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaithersburg md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Something is usually wrong somewhere but this experience was as close as close to perfect as I've ever been in all my hotel stays including other Ritz Carltons. It really was impeccable across the boards from the staff, to room cleanliness, comfort and extra touches. Not even a flower out of place in the gorgeous landscaping. Someone in an earlier post mentioned a need for updating but it wasn't apparent to us at all. The only---and I mean only--thing less than stellar was the impatient waiter at Gumbo Limbo who tried to rush us through our coffee and dessert when we came near closing time but other than mentioning it here, I'm keeping all the great ratings. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#6 Spa Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Naples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.