We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms dated with major maintenance problems, good spa, lots of fees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Grande Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Naples Grande Beach Resort to your Saves list
Naples Grande Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   475 Seagate Drive, Naples, FL 34103 (Formerly Waldorf Astoria Naples) (North Naples)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rooms dated with major maintenance problems, good spa, lots of fees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We just returned from a 4-day stay at the Waldorf where our expectations of service were not even close to being met. Aside from the rooms needing a cosmetic update, their functionality and maintenance was oppressive. We reserved a bungalow which gives more of a condo feel, but the bathroom door wouldn't lock or close completely, our shower control was stuck on an unusable high heat (maintenance came out twice to address it and got it from scorching hot to cold and told us not to touch it because there was nothing they could do), and our A/C broke our first morning. They begrudgingly agreed to move us at 11 PM to the last available room in the tower and were still charged the bungalow rates since they couldn't adjust post-check-in. We weren't given a hotel credit, a complimentary breakfast or any sort of offer for our continued inconvenience and discomfort.

The nice thing about the property is the beach is clean, though as others have said, you pay a $30 resort fee for towels, I suppose, and $25 for a beach unbrella on top of that. There seem to be a lot of families and is very busy on the weekends. It's about 10-20 minutes from good local restaurants and the parking is free so that's also a plus. The rooms are large though outdated and rooms were pretty quiet given the sell-out crowd. The spa is great. A few of the staff we interacted with were also friendly, in particular Tonia at the Concierge desk.

Room Tip: Bungalows are nice but inspect upon arrival and ask to be moved immediately if there are major issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    536
    328
    156
    99
See reviews for
608
552
38
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

First off just want to say Ashley at the front desk gave me the best customer experience I ever had! Another thing I love about this resort is they give you free ice coffee at check in. :) This was is perfect resort for families and couples. I just love love love this resort and will be going back. My son loves the water slide, they have an adult pool and a kid pool. The give you a free ride to the beach, its just an amazing resort and once again thank you ASHLEY at the front desk! You were super nice and helpful and you made sure that we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Stayed 2 times and both times rooms perfect, quiet, clean, enough space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Waldorf Astoria, when you hear this name, you think great service and the highest level of comfort. We were very disappointed! We won't be coming back. The resort fee is a joke. You get nothing for it. Oh, maybe "Free" internet. For 30.00 a day you still get charged $6.00 for a bottle of water in your room, lounge chair at the beach gets picked up around 5:30 so you have no seating if you want to enjoy the sunset on the beach. Umbrellas are an extra charge.The shuttle service you get on the boardwalk to the beach is not exclusive to the resort. Kids activities were not included in the daily resort fee, but an extra 49.00 per child. Parking is an extra fee. (10.00 per day for self parking) so what is the resort fee for? This place nickle and dimes you to death. Not really resort feel at that point. Rooms were large and bed was comfortable but not worth the money I spent there. The family renioun party that I had all agreed that it wasn't really a family friendly "resort" and nobody was impressed. We can all say we stayed at a Waldorf and leave it at that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was pretty excited to attend a conference that was planned at a Waldorf. Having recently stayed at the Orlando Waldorf at Bonnet Creek, I was expecting something similar. I was disappointed. While there is a gorgeous lobby and common area, the room was definitely not a traditional, high end Waldorf type room. Bed was comfortable, sheets were nice, but everything could use an update. I have heard that there is a new owner and that there will be a significant upgrade in the next year. If so, I will look forward to visiting again.

My biggest complaint is that this is a hotel that hosted a convention but without any of the traditional conference services. I actually had to go to the back of the hotel package room and pull out my own 75 lb conference case and lug it to the conference area with NO ASSISTANCE. So a woman in heels was forced to pull this out herself while the bellman (not sure if he was a bellman) watched. This isn't the kind of service I was expecting.

I had room service one night and it was great, breakfast downstairs the next morning was also good, but a little pricey.

I'd definitely stay again, the service was good except for the conference package issue, the property just needs a facelift.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is located within a beautiful residential area and is close to restaurants and within walking distance of an upscale shopping mall. The grounds are beautiful and the lobby area is very chic and modern, but cold and unwelcoming. Our room on the 9th floor was spacious, with a large balcony and great view of the city and a glimpse of the gulf waters between the condos in the distance, but once again, the décor was chic but uninviting. However, the marble bathroom was spacious and had a large garden tub and a separate shower. It also included a safe, mini fridge, and coffee maker. The room wasn’t as clean as I expected it to be. There was dust on the headboard of the bed, and in the dresser drawers, plus I found several dark hairs around the sink and near the tub.

This property has a lovely terrace area and the pools are very nice. The gym is large with the usual cardio equipment and weights in addition to a steam room and shower facilities.
This hotel is not a beach front property. The beach is actually a 15 minute brisk walk from the pool area. There were golf cart shuttles constantly running between the beach and the hotel, but we noticed there were often lines of people waiting to take the shuttle back from the beach. Still if you don’t mind walking, there is a beautiful, shaded boardwalk between the beach and the hotel.

I would rate customer service at this property as only average though the lady working at the transportation and activities desk, the young men working the beach rental area, and the Sunday evening bartender all provided excellent service, excluding those three areas, the overall customer service was just O.K.

I’d heard so much about the Waldorf-Astoria brand and was looking forward to our stay. Sadly, I have to say that this hotel did not live up to my expectations of the Waldorf-Astoria resorts and I was disappointed with our visit. Nevertheless, it is located in a gorgeous area of Naples, FL, the beach is beautiful, the grounds are lovely, and if I could get a good rate, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The high floor rooms over looking the spa offer great views of the city and offer a glimpse of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a very nice vacation destination that has many nice amenities. From pool to beach access it has all the things needed for a great family vacation. However it is not a cheap place to stay at and there is a $60 daily resort fee for added stuff such as chairs at the beach to two " free " daily drinks. Not sure if this is negotiable. Anyway a very nice getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the bellmen, to the front desk, to the bartenders, and late night crew, every staff member was hospitable, helpful, kind, and a joy to converse with .

Having the tram down to the beach is a huge help...highly suggest renting an umbrella with the heat and sun.

Dylan (Silva?) with the beach/cabana crew was extraordinary....very courteous, hard working and a great staff member to have. I'd hire him in a heartbeat at my Hilton property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Naples Grande Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Grande Beach Resort

Address: 475 Seagate Drive, Naples, FL 34103 (Formerly Waldorf Astoria Naples)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples , Pelican Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Family Hotel in Naples
#31 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Naples Grande Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naples Grande Beach Resort is Southwest Florida's insider secret for couples, families and business groups looking for an eco-smart beach retreat with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Set on 23 waterfront acres adjoining a 200-acre nature preserve and mangrove estuary, the resort is celebrated for its genuinely friendly staff who embody the highly hospitable philosophy of "The answer is yes; what's the question?" Inviting features include spacious guestrooms, suites and bungalows with private balconies or patios; same-floor meeting space and break-out rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows; energizing recreation, including championship golf, award-winning tennis and water sports on three miles of sugar sand beach; three signature pools, including one with a 100-foot water slide; a rejuvenating Naples Grande Spa and inventive dining options. It's also just a short stroll or bike ride on palm-lined streets to unique shops, restaurants and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Naples Grande Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Naples Hotel Naples
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Grande Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.