We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Grande Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Naples Grande Beach Resort to your Saves list
Naples Grande Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   475 Seagate Drive, Naples, FL 34103 (Formerly Waldorf Astoria Naples) (North Naples)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“5 star all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria . Great service, nice rooms . 5 star all the way! Make sure to catch the sunset at the beach. You also should take the complimentary electic cart to the beach. It is a bit of a walk through the mangrove swamp.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate the time in which you have taken to share your comments. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope you will come and visit us again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    543
    334
    159
    98
See reviews for
622
561
38
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I took a mini vacation (4 nights) with our 2 year old and 8-week old baby. We have been to 13 of Hilton’s Waldorf properties, and Waldorf Naples lived up to our expectations. The property itself is older, but has been renovated (some parts are totally renovated, some parts are refreshed/updated but not completely renovated). Here are some of the things to know before you visit:

1. The location is excellent and there are many nearby shopping and dining options (a short drive away).
2. Both check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. At check-in we were warmly greeted and recognized as Hilton Diamond members. We met Hunter (the General Manager) who personally greeted us by name and spent a few minutes chatting. You can tell that Hunter genuinely cares about the guests, and he goes out of his way to ensure guests enjoy their time away from home. I emailed the hotel in advance to let them know we were traveling with our young children and would need a crib. They gave us a special welcome gift for the kids and wine and cheese for us—a nice touch and great way to kick off the vacation.
3. The Suite Experience—if you’re traveling with more than 2 people, consider upgrading to a suite. We had room 901 and it was HUGE, plenty of room for a family of 4. The suite included a mini kitchen, dining area, living area, separate bedroom, a half bath off the hallway area, and a large balcony. The room and the view were wonderful. The bed was very comfy with crisp, fresh linens.
4. The rooms have been refreshed, but not fully renovated. Some of the architectural features still appear older, so set your expectations appropriately. However, the rooms are more updated than the Ritz Carlton Naples rooms (see my separate review of the Ritz from July 2012).
5. It’s worth a visit to the spa! The spa facilities are fully renovated and have a zen Asian vibe. Though it’s not a huge facility, it has all of the perks of a large spa…sauna, steam room, outdoor Jacuzzi and relaxation area. I enjoyed the 80 minute deep tissue treatment.
6. The pools are great. As other reviewers have mentioned, there’s a larger “family” pool with a slide, as well as another good sized pool that isn’t specifically designated adults only, but seemed to be quieter with less kids. Cabanas were available for rent at the “adult” pool, which may be a good option as chairs seem to fill up quickly during the prime hours. The cabanas were not very big, but had enough room for a table and chairs and a mini fridge set up. Most had a big potted plant that took up one corner of the cabana.
7. Check out the Strip House restaurant. The food and service were excellent!
8. Friday nights are “Veuve Clicquot happy hour” from 5-6pm in the lobby bar. You can order flutes of Veuve Clicquot champagne for $5 (a great value as bottles usually go for ~$150 off the regular menu). There’s also other drink and appetizer specials during this time
9. You can walk to the beach (takes about 10 minutes or so), or take the golf carts. Do keep in mind the golf carts also transport people from the public beach (I am guessing the Waldorf had to accommodate this in order to gain beach access as the property is not directly on the beach?). We walked most of the time and enjoyed the natural surroundings of the mangroves all around the boardwalk to the beach. I could see it being a hot walk in the heat of summer though and would likely opt for the golf carts.
10. The gym has nice, new equipment and a locker and steam room. The views from the elipticals were great.

So how would Waldorf Naples compare to other Naples hotels? We have also stayed at the Edgewater Beach Resort (sister property of the Waldorf). The Edgewater has a more “boutique” feel to it—a good option if you want direct beachfront and large pools and spa facilities aren’t as important to you. When comparing the Waldorf to the Ritz, I would say there are certain similarities—both are larger properties with restaurant and spa options. The Ritz has an “older” feel to it (rooms are not as updated at the Ritz), though the Ritz will be closing later this summer for a major renovation. I think the Waldorf Naples is a great option for families or business travel and I would definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge on a suite if you're traveling with more than 2 people. Ask for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We were just thrilled to see you post on the Trip Advisor and very impressed with your thorough and detailed review. It was absolutely wonderful to meet you in person and I appreciate you taking the time to meet me. I am a true believer in the value of time and even on vacation you gave me some of yours.....not only then but now by writing your thoughts on this site. We do hope that other travelers will read this and that they too will come and enjoy our facility as much as you did. Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We are here for an event we are hosting so have taken over 70 rooms and meeting rooms. The staff have been amazing are always on hand and no job is too large or small.. We have just hosted an evening on the beach, with the sun setting what a perfect night.
I am staying in one if the bungalows here and have a lot of space perfect to unwind.
There is great run down to the beach and along the boardwalk too.

Would recommend this location to all.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bunglalows, have your own pool area too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
There is nothing better than getting a review like this! Thank you so much for your kind words. Although you were here for business it appears that you were really able to enjoy the special things our resort offers and we appreciate your sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor site. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at Naples Grande 5 years ago so when we returned there this past week, i had high expectations for the hotel, now called the waldorf. We were spending a week there as a fam before my hubby leaves for his 4th deployment overseas. We were insanely surprised at how kid friendly the place was...the waterslide rocked, my boys swam for 5 hrs a day!!! lol it was great! they had kid activities each day, the totes were so cute and the tie dye shirts were a blast for them! the staff was awesome, wesley and remrem at the pool, luke at the beach, you have to do the beach bed--we were in heaven! lastly, the food & bev. manager, Amber, was the best part, she took such good care of us, even taking a fam pic for us by the pool to remember our trip since my hubby was leaving--it turned out so cute!! def. ask for Amber!! my kids said they wanted to stay forever! :) luckily they still have the adults area and we were able to steal away for a drink down at aura and enjoy the relaxing pool cabana's and you HAVE to order the adult grilled cheese and tomato soup--i'm still wanting more. the last fun part for us was the ice cream social on sat.--such a fun idea and we all enjoyed it! looking forward to coming back next year to celebrate my hubby's return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! It was an absolute pleasure to have your family as our guest before your husband’s deployment. Your story touched a lot of our staff members and it was a great opportunity for all of us to come together and help create a memorable experience for your family. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you all back when your husband returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne nj
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

wonderful hotel, great location. Special shoutout to Nino he made the vacation even more special, great guy!! all the staff were sweet, plesant and very caring. the breakfast is super, and well worth the price.location can not be beat, the pathway to the water is beautiful.

Room Tip: always face the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We will certainly pass along your "shout-out" to Nino and we appreciate you singling him out. He truly is one our stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great resort with good restaurants and great pool area. The beach is very pretty and the staff that sells you the cabanas or lounge chairs are very friendly and helpful. Blue waters and white sand, no jelly fish or sea weed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the Trip Advisor community. It certainly appears as though you enjoyed your visit in particularly the beach and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel has changed hands many times; it now seems to be run by an organization with some staying power.

Overall, the hotel is very, very good. Terrific pool area; or, if you prefer beach, very accessible. Spa is excellent. Good steakhouse. Room was ok; one shortcoming was the size of the bathroom. Didn't meet my wife's expectations, and most women will find it lacking. There is NO counter space in the bathroom.

Location is excellent. Staff is terrific, helpful, polite. The number of Hilton points for rooms while we were there was outrageous, but that seems to be a trend throughout the industry for upscale hotel rooms. better off paying for the room.

Room Tip: most rooms have a lanai and an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, of course with the exception of the counter space in your guest room. I have to confess that this is the absolute first time I have heard this and I wonder if you could send me your room number. I am intrigued to find out if it was an accessible room which may have limited counter space as you have mentioned.

It appears from your words that you are a repeat guest and we certainly value your continued loyalty. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naples Grande Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Grande Beach Resort

Address: 475 Seagate Drive, Naples, FL 34103 (Formerly Waldorf Astoria Naples)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples , Pelican Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#15 Business Hotel in Naples
#29 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#31 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Naples Grande Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naples Grande Beach Resort is Southwest Florida's insider secret for couples, families and business groups looking for an eco-smart beach retreat with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Set on 23 waterfront acres adjoining a 200-acre nature preserve and mangrove estuary, the resort is celebrated for its genuinely friendly staff who embody the highly hospitable philosophy of "The answer is yes; what's the question?" Inviting features include spacious guestrooms, suites and bungalows with private balconies or patios; same-floor meeting space and break-out rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows; energizing recreation, including championship golf, award-winning tennis and water sports on three miles of sugar sand beach; three signature pools, including one with a 100-foot water slide; a rejuvenating Naples Grande Spa and inventive dining options. It's also just a short stroll or bike ride on palm-lined streets to unique shops, restaurants and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Naples Grande Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Naples Hotel Naples
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Grande Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.