We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Grande Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Naples Grande Beach Resort to your Saves list
Naples Grande Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   475 Seagate Drive, Naples, FL 34103 (Formerly Waldorf Astoria Naples) (North Naples)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Orlando
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been coming to this property for many years. The management, staff and food continue to remain excellent. We bring our three kids here and the place is always perfect. We enjoy the view, clean rooms and friendly staff. Theo the manager always is there to ensure the hotel gives the perfect experience. The food, bar and staff remain top quality. We think this is the best value to enjoy Naples, since the hotel is central, has an amazing beach and the view from our lanai is perfect (always is regardless of if they say it is Gulf view or not). I highly recommend this hotel for either a short or longer stay (we stayed 4 night and 5 days) Happy Days as we look forward to our next time to be here.

Room Tip: Location combined with top service at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage to our property and thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you once again enjoyed your visit and it there is ANYTHING we can do in the future to make your stay extra special please don't hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    541
    334
    158
    98
See reviews for
621
561
38
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Going on 6th year. Property service improves every year. Front desk staff is excellent, as is pool and beach staff. One of the best fitness rooms I've ever seen. Rooms are getting a little dated, but are still very spacious and comfortable. This resort is great for families with small children as well as for adults looking to get away from it all. There is a very large pool for families with children (zero entry and a slide) and there are also several quiet adult-oriented pools. The beach is beautiful as well. Getting to the beach requires a tram ride or a walk on boardwalk. Aura Restaurant was also good. Kudos to all the staff for making this another memorable stay!

Room Tip: Gulf-view suites are very large and the balconies are the best feature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for once again sharing your feedback on the trip advisor site! We are delighted to see that we have improved since your last two visits and we value your loyalty to our property. Please remember that we are here to make your stay as memorable as possible, and if there is anything we can do to make your stay even happier, please let us know. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not much, apparently. At least for Hilton's supposedly flagship brand.

In Naples for business. The hotel was not very busy, which kind of made me a bit suspicious when I first entered. However, to be fair, not in " season " yet.

After parking in garage, walking up to elevators I noticed the stairwell was just plain trashy and property feels old. Check in was pleasant enough and I even got an upgrade. Things were looking up. However, after getting into room, I was disappointed to see a couple of pills right under bed in plain eye site, a emery board on floor by the desk and hair in bathroom. Obviously, no supervisor checking behind for cleanliness.

Upon waking the next day, went down for coffee at 7am. They were still getting situated and lady serving me was not friendly. On top of that, coffee was average at best and she tried to sell me a way over ripe bananna.

If you're looking for top notch accommodations in Naples, highly recommend the Ritz!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoriaNaples, Marketing & Public Relations Coordinator at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. We are certainly disappointed and honestly, embarrassed to hear about your experience. Cleanliness and perfection is something we pride ourselves on and I apologize that this was not the case during your trip. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future so we may change your opinion of our resort and staff. Please feel free to reach out to me should you need assistance with reservations. I’d be happy to personally oversee that your trip is a much better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent hotel for families. The service was great. The only thing is that I don't recommend staying at the bungalow. Stay in the hotel. In the pool they give free diapers for babies. The main pool is very cool for kids and grown ups

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days and the hotel overall is nice. However, the beach is very small which was very disappointing. The great thing is that we were able to go to the other WA property, the Edgewater Beach Hotel. Since the Edgewater is right off the beach, the beach was much better at this property than the WA Naples. As for WA Naples hotel rooms, the carpeting needs updating and a few other cosmetics needs to be done. The hotel bar and the pool area was great. I do appreciate that the hotel sent me chocolate strawberries for my birthday. That was a nice gesture and it made me feel special. Although I found this property nice and convenient to the mall and restuarants, I would stay here again if it's during off season since the price was cheap.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have 2 balconies if you want a room that faces the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to our Waldorf Astoria Naples. We were delighted that you were able to enjoy both the WA Naples, and also the Edgewater property. We love both of our locations and feel that each one has something to offer every kind of traveler. We would love to see you again and we hope that you will come in the off season again, as you had mentioned. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel and rooms are clean and up to date but its nothing special. The food was average, but the drinks were strong. The level of service you come to expect at the Waldorf was not present here. Take your money and stay at the Ritz!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent experience with us. We will share you comments with our management team and we can assure you that we will take all your comments into consideration. We do our best to remain competitive in pricing within our competitive set and we will continue to survey other properties to ensure we are in line.

We do you'll reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at WA Naples for two weeks in September for a family vacation. With the season almost over, prices plummeted - which we quickly took advantage of. We arrived exactly on the day the hurricane's wing touched upon Naples, and so WA were wery thoughtful, providing us with flashlights, water supply and emergency instructions at the check-in. Nothing happened, though. They even set up a "hideaway place" in one of their conference rooms, with chairs, movies, drinks and snacks - for those bored with the 2 days of heavy rain and wind.

From the start, everything looked impressive - from the elaborate pleasantly smelling contemporary-design reception hall (with water streaming down a huge wheel - still can't figure out how water was sticking to it on negative angles) to cozy waiting "lounges". The check-in was very fast, and the room we got (a double queen) was spacious, with generously sized bathroom and a large balcony.

Personnel everywhere - from the reception to restaurants to housekeeping to trolley drivers - was polite and helpful.

The quality of food was decent, and they ran a promotion allowing kids to eat breakfast for free. The buffet at the breakfast may not have been the most exhaustive I had encountered on my travels in terms of variety but still very tasty, and we enjoyed it a lot. For those who get tired of the bar and restaurant for lunch/dinner, there's Strip House on premises - a nice addition to the menu. Nice steaks (not as good as at their NYC location, though). You can also check out other restaurants in the area - e.g. the ones in the mall within a walking distance.

Among notable amenities I should mention a large garage where you can park your car for free, a nice spa (quite expensive, though), tennis courts and the gym. The gym is top-notch, with lots of modern equipment, free weights, showers, lockers, saunas, etc. And, unlike in many other hotels, you may access it whenever you want, be it 5am or 10pm. There are also three outdoor pools (normal, warm, hot) and even a waterpark-type slide.

The beach is accessible via a boardwalk winding through mangrove forest. It's a 15 minute walk or a short ride on a trolley. Please mind that they lock it down after sunset, so if you decide to stay at the beach longer, there are two unpleasant things on the way back: mosquitos attacking you in the dark, and the closed gate which you'll have to climb over to get back to the hotel. The beach itself is very nice, with fine-grain sand and a relatively easy entry into the water. You can rent lounges, umbrellas and cabanas at the beach (expensive), as well as kayaks and waterboards, and there's also a bar/mini-restaurant.

I have no qualms giving this facility five dots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter H, General Manager at Naples Grande Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience with us for two weeks in September. It was most unfortunate that you arrived in conjunction with Hurricane Isaac but we can see from your comments that it didn't have a negative impact on your experience. Our priority is guest safety and guest service, and we were happy to hear we did a good job.

We will surely share your feedback with the team so they are aware of your compliments.

We truly value your continued patronage and we look forward to seeing you for many more vacations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naples Grande Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Grande Beach Resort

Address: 475 Seagate Drive, Naples, FL 34103 (Formerly Waldorf Astoria Naples)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples , Pelican Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#15 Business Hotel in Naples
#29 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#31 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Naples Grande Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naples Grande Beach Resort is Southwest Florida's insider secret for couples, families and business groups looking for an eco-smart beach retreat with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Set on 23 waterfront acres adjoining a 200-acre nature preserve and mangrove estuary, the resort is celebrated for its genuinely friendly staff who embody the highly hospitable philosophy of "The answer is yes; what's the question?" Inviting features include spacious guestrooms, suites and bungalows with private balconies or patios; same-floor meeting space and break-out rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows; energizing recreation, including championship golf, award-winning tennis and water sports on three miles of sugar sand beach; three signature pools, including one with a 100-foot water slide; a rejuvenating Naples Grande Spa and inventive dining options. It's also just a short stroll or bike ride on palm-lined streets to unique shops, restaurants and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Naples Grande Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Naples Hotel Naples
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Grande Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.