We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Access to Great Fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25000 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, FL 34114   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easy Access to Great Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have been fishing the "Ten Thousand Islands" for 40 years. On trips of more than one day, Port of the Islands is by far the best place to stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the pool area is terrific. The boat slip area accommodates boats of all sizes. We like the fact that they're floating docks that take into account tidal shifts therefore making tying up effortless.

The staff is great and very helpful. They bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

If you're bringing a boat, there is a county owned and operated boat launch and bait store next door to the hotel property with plenty of room to park your car and trailer. This is one of our favorite launch sites and includes a nice fish cleaning station.

Room Tip: Cottages on the south side are quiet and some have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Snookcatcher,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Port of the Islands. I am delighted to hear you were happy with your accommodations, as well as our pool and boat slips. Our staff takes great pride in their work and, they are always striving to serve our guests with the highest level of customer service and products available. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Deana Paul
General Manager, Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    74
    28
    17
    27
See reviews for
48
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Don't even step foot in the place.. It is NASTY! Went into the room, pulled down the bedspred and picked up our bags and ran out.. After we demanded our refund. There was bugs or some kind of droppings all over the sheets!! The place should be closed down by the health department. Do yourself a favor and don't even consider this place.. Was there 02-02-13

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friend has stayed at the resort before and played bingo with her friends so she told me about it and bam there we were. What a Great Day we had someone meet us right off the bat and stayed with us until we got to the room I ask if he could get us something and with ease he was gone and then back with our apple. OK that's another story.. we Dance on the beach during the day and dance on the beach at night we used the out door hot tubs and the pool we had them all to our shelf's that night The Bar tender name spike made us feel right at home.
When we Dance our way to our room Man oh man what a Night we had an Ocean Front room
and the sound of the waves wow Great really Great and what a Great night sleep we both had I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ocean Front for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Josheph T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Port of the Islands. We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations and ocean front room. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Deanna Paul
General Manager, Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Port of the Islands Resort and found it to be very comfortable and charming. If you want to explore the Everglades as we did, then this is the place to stay.
This property has a wonderful pool for those warm Florida days and nearby Everglades City has great places to eat, as this hotel does not have a place for breakfast.
I would recommend this place with confidence!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Anita C,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our Port of the Islands Adventure Resort property. I am happy to hear you are more than satisfied with our products and level of customer service and that you took the time to enjoy our surround area offerings as well. My staff and I appreciate your feedback as we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Deana Paul, General Manager
Port of the Islands Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sorry but this was a nightmare! Do not base your stay on the photos. The pool was pea green, the lawn in front had not been mowed, the walls in the room were full of holes, cob webs hanging from the ceiling, etc. Sleeping in our car would have been a better option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, ky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were too late in booking our everglades portion of the trip and didn't get to stay in everglades city more than one night- I'm glad we chose POTI! It's only 10 miles from Everglades City, and what a lovely stay we had. The room was perfect, with a fiew of the water from the balcony. Only complaint is that we never found the ice machine, and the restaurant seems to keep strange hours. It was open when we checked in Sunday afternoon, and the bar was open that night, but we didn't see it open Monday at all or Tuesday morning. There are really no close-by options for eating, so that would be great to have it open. However, we walked around, there's a very nice pool as well. The staff was very helpful when she was there - they have no staff before 8:30 am or after 5 pm, but she gave me instructions on getting my key, etc and everything went well. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was a charming hotel for an overnight stay vey old Florida. Nice pool. It is out in the middle of the Everglades and about 20 more minutes to Naples. It was clean. Good value for money! The lobby was great. Old Florida room with high ceilings and a large fireplace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear CityFan 101,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Port of the Islands Adventure Resort. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our resort's historic charm as well as our Everglades location and proximity to Naples and all it has to offer.

I am glad your experience with our resort met your expectations as my staff and I pride ourselves greatly on offering high level customer service and daily well-maintained spaces for each and every guest. We truly look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Deana Paul, General Manager
Port of the Islands Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort

Address: 25000 Tamiami Trail East, Naples, FL 34114
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port of the Islands Resort is the premier gateway to the Florida Everglades. From airboat tours to fishing expeditions, we offer a wide variety of adventures to suit any experience level. When you are not out exploring the Everglades, you can relax poolside and enjoy all the amenities of the Port of the Islands Resort and the nearby attractions of Naples and Marco Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Of The Islands Resort And Marina Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.