We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25000 Tamiami Trail E, Naples, FL 34114   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Marathon, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Although this hotel is charming and the staff friendly, it leaves lots and lots to be desired. First, there seems to be constant conflicts between the hotel, the marina and the homeowners association because some of the hotel rooms have been sold as condos. The homeowners associations has padlocked the washers and dryers, the laundry facilities and the ice machine. There is very little parking as some home owners have four or five vehicles and take up most available parking. We saw open confrontations between homeowners, homeowner employees and customers in the parking lot. The pool area is full of locals with very loud and unsupervised children and we found we could not even use the pool. There is a tiki hut that seems to be occupied most afternoon by drunks. The outside restrooms are filthy and often lack paper goods. The restaurant has been closed for some time and appears no sign of reopening. there is a 15 to 20 mile drive to ANYTHING. The website is not a very good indicator of what the facilities are really like. The hotel desk close at about 5 PM and there is no one to help guests and no apparent security, including cameras on site. it is kind of a scary place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel was so creepy. If you like scary movies then you will feel right at home. We took pictures just to see if ghosts would appear. No one was there. When you check out you leave your key in a box. The beach was 45 minutes away. Too eat you need to drive almost an hour because there is nothing in the hotel and no room service. There are so many mosquitoes and the pool is secluded. The service is not good or bad because there is no one there. Wow!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercy0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Mercy0013,

Thank you for your feedback, I apologize for your experience during your recent visit to our hotel. To address your concerns, we are a limited service resort offering front desk services everyday between 8:30 and 5pm. Unfortunately, guests arriving and departing outside those hours will never have the chance to meet our front desk staff. Our hope is that when you arrive your experience with our after hours service agents are helpful in pointing to your clean, well appointed room and that the resort amenities, like our 24 hour fitness center and 24 hour VIP Game room and lounge are ample substitutes for our front desk being closed. Based on your much-appreciated comments it appears you found our facilities without fault, which is our goal!

Sunny Regards,

The Management Team at Port of the Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

florida keys
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

my friend and i booked a girlie time for a few days... she's from venice and i'm from the keys... it was just what we were looking for... quiet, natural, peaceful, friendly... and we love the "old florida, isolation, off the beaten path atmosphere" and off-season makes it the perfect get-away. thanks, mike, for understanding that breakfast and shopping is one word! and patty, we will definitely look you up on our next get-away... which we are already planning... probably in august. and a boat ride with gary to enjoy 10,000 islands... a special place... can't wait to return! thanks to all of you.
teddy, florida keys

Room Tip: an appreciation of natural beauty is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Pa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had read some reviews both good and bad about this resort but we booked several days there to find out for ouselves. The grounds are very well kept and it was nice to walk to the dock and just take some time to enjoy the day. Some people commented about it being so far from a town but it is the Everglades - you can pick between the comfort of the hotel in the middle of town or being in the outdoors. We loved it! It was close to the things we wanted to do - like the air boat tour and just seeing the area. You can book tours right at the resort which makes it very convenient. Although there is no one at the front desk after 5pm the owners live on the property and provided a phone number to contact them at any time. The kitchen area in the room we stayed in was limited and the room was rustic but we planned on being out of the room much of the time so it was fine for us. There is a screened porch area that makes sitting outside nice but we were not bothered by any bugs during our stay there. It was a rainy few days and quite windy so they said this kept the bugs at a minimum. These were not first class rooms but comfortable and clean and a very nice stay in the Everglades.

Room Tip: The kitchen area is limited but there is a fridge. Bare essentials for kitchen items so do not plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendtraveler049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We arrived very early in the morning without reservation. The receptionist was extremely friendly, made the booking online for me for a very convenient rate and agreed to a early check-in at 9 am! Great after a long drive during night! We relaxed at their nice pool area, which is clean, and the pool rather big!
They also booked the Everglades tour for us, which we enjoyed. The lobby is big and clean, the rooms are fine, spacious, but not the newest! To Naples it takes around 15-20 min by car! So the area is a bit isolated, but perfect for Everglades tour!
I would stay there again, and would like to mention again the friendly service of the Reception!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzyy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We arrived late on the 1st night and we have been allocated a room with 2 queen size bed in the main building overlooking the parking lot. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean.

Next day we asked for a room with a view and been relocated to one the other buildings. That room had a small kitchen and a little porch with metal netting along the whole building – felt like a bird cage.

We can’t complain about the rooms both were nice but if not fussed about cooking than choose room with view in the main building as it’s much more pleasant.

NB – there is no restaurant on site. The nearest breakfast place is 10 min drive and Naples about 30 min away. Good for extended stay in Everglades area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stopped at the Port of the Islands Marina for a couple of nights and ran into a strange business environment. The marina is a separate entity from the hotel and it would appear there are political issues that keep the two units from working together.

We could get a slip in the marina but there was no access to showers as the hotel controlled the only showers folks at the marina could access. They had a policy that you had to sign up for a months "membership" to access the showers. The folks at the marina felt bad and indeed went out of their way to help us. There was even a boater that offered us access to the shower on her boat - Great Folks.

We solved our shower problem by cruising into the mangroves and using our "Sun Shower".

With the state of the economy you would think that the hotel and marina would work together to maximize business to the benefit of each unit.

Thus, unless you want to work around the strange relationship at this resort area you may want to pass on this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watersedge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore
Hilton Naples
Hilton Naples
#14 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort

Address: 25000 Tamiami Trail E, Naples, FL 34114
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port of the Islands Resort is the premier gateway to the Florida Everglades. From airboat tours to fishing expeditions, we offer a wide variety of adventures to suit any experience level. When you are not out exploring the Everglades, you can relax poolside and enjoy all the amenities of the Port of the Islands Resort and the nearby attractions of Naples and Marco Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Port of the Islands Everglades - Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Of The Islands Resort And Marina Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing