We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples to your Saves list
LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9891 Gulf Shore Drive, Naples, FL 34108 (North Naples)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 per day Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is a 10. The restaurant and ocean views are the highlights. You can't beat the access and beach front. The rooms were showing some signs of age. Bathrooms had lots of caulking, paint touch ups needed, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! It is indeed hard to beat the view and easy beach access, as well as our award winning Baleen restaurant – at the top of its class when it comes to beachfront dining. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit, yet we hope to improve upon your room experience next time around. We have a quarterly preventative maintenance program that specifically addresses those items you mentioned, and we’ll have to make sure that specific guestroom is next on the list.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to once again be of service on a future trip to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    263
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
369
651
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayer, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I will continue to keep coming back to La Playa for the wonderful attentive friendly service, beautiful beach and sunsets, top notch golf and great food. I've always had a restorative time there, a perfect early winter getaway before the holidays. After only a few days there the staff feel like family, very outgoing and friendly, but attentive. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for once again choosing LaPlaya as your destination of choice in Naples! It’s been our pleasure providing you with the experience you’ve come to expect on each of our visits. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others, as well as your recommendation. Consistency is very important to us here at LaPlaya, and we wouldn’t be where we are today without the continued feedback and support from repeat guests like you.

We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and had a great time. The beach location was perfect and most of the service was exceptional (you could tell that training was a priority). The facility is at times a little dated but the location overrides any concern.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of LaPlaya! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your visit! As you noted, training is absolutely a top priority for us on an ongoing basis, as it ensures we continue to provide the exceptional service for which we are well known. Our pristine location, tremendous food and beverage, and dedicated hospitality professionals are the core of LaPlaya, and feedback such as yours is a vital tool for us as we strive for continued improvement. To that end, we continue to upgrade our facility in all areas, and no doubt you will notice these improvements on your next visit to LaPlaya! Thank you again for taking a moment to provide your thoughts to the entire TripAdvisor community, we are honored to be of service to our guests and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Matt Meyers
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Chile
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This review is long overdue, but encouraged now by that famous sentence, better late tan never, here I summarise my impressions of this beaituful hotel.

We had been planning to go to Naples for a long time and made a reservation directly with the hotel, through their website, where I got a very good deal and excellent service from Joyce and also from Keith Laing in Reservations.

The hotel is very beautiful in its 'provincial' character (not a glass tower as is the case with so many hotels in Miami) especially, is amazingly welll kept and has easy access to rhe beach. If you dont need to be that close to a shopping mall and want to enjoy the peace of a quiet beach with clean sand and silence around you, go no further.

We had breakfast and dinner in the premises several times, both in the outside terrace and inside the elegant dinning room. The staff are all very nice and eager to please you. I remember charming Amalia in the dining room, Kyle the valet --who would get our car in no time from the car park-- and Gallen in the Front Office, who was very kind to help with directions, and suugestions. A real pleasant and courteous gentleman, Gallen.

All in all, a memorable experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to LaPlaya! We agree, better late than never, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience on Trip Advisor.

Wonderful reviews such as yours only help us, as we find many of our guests use Trip Advisor as a gauge when selecting resorts.

I think what we took most out of your review was the fact you named so many of our associates by name. We do have a beautiful location as the only true beachfront resort in Naples, but it's personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. When I see customers remember so many associates by name, I know we made a impact on someone's stay.

Your business (and review) are much appreciated.

Thank you,

Jason K. Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed on the top floor of the tower facing the Gulf and felt the view and overall experience were worth the money. Great location, wonderful beach (with very attentive beach staff) and excellent hotel staff made us feel very comfortable. Food was a bit pricey, but also very good and fresh. Biggest "negative" was a shower that would not rinse the conditioner from the hair of a bald man. But otherwise the room and bath were spacious, clean and fresh. The window looking at the Gulf from the shower was a fun surprise.

Room Tip: Top floor was worth the money. BUT, watch for the impact of resort fee, sales tax, occupancy tax an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort! We appreciate your business, and also are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We understand our guests have many choices when selecting lodging accommodations in Naples, and we are pleased that you selected Naples only true beachfront luxury resort. Thank you for your comments on the personalized service you received from our beach team, it's much appreciated!

Your comments on the shower head are noted, typically our unique rainfall shower heads receive praise, sounds like yours was not operating properly and I apologize for that.

Thanks for your positive review of your experience at LaPlaya, we hope you will return again soon!

Jason K. Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

LaPlaya, the beach in Spanish. The hotel is located directly on the beach with ample chairs and umbrellas and amazing clean sand.

Our family spent Thanksgiving week at LaPlaya in Naples. Though we did not eat meals at the hotel, we did have a late-night snack after we arrived. The salad that was served as a side to a hamburger was fresh and delicious. When we tried to order it again at the beach the next day, we were told that different kitchens did not allow them to honor our request.

The weather was very cool, so we only had one day to enjoy on the beach. One couple near us had some issue with a worker or another family in our area. Tempers raged, words were exchanged, management came, and the annoying woman and her male partner were escorted to another location though she continued to rant. A woman in management came by to our groups and apologized for the behavior saying that it was not typical of their establishment. It was appreciated.

We were in and out of the hotel quite a few times during our stay. The valet attendants were prompt, courteous, and very pleasant. Actually, they and the housekeeping staff were more visible and welcoming than others at the resort.

The rooms...gorgeous views of the Gulf with an expansive balcony. The rooms were decorated beautifully with an old Florida feel. Things missing in the rooms included ceramic mugs for the coffee maker, wine glasses that were not plastic, a shower cap, and a lighted makeup mirror. The only closet was small and located in the bathroom where there was only one sink. Another strange find in the bathroom was a window at the tub/shower with a glass covering on the bathroom side and a plantation shutter on the room side. At any time, the shutter could be opened leaving anyone bathing or showering exposed.

An adjoining room had heating issues during the week. Maintenance came, said they repaired it, and brought a small space heater to warm the area. Luckily, the weather warmed and the room did too. A Florida cockroach also ran through the bathroom. Not a welcome visitor.

Overall, the resort provided a lovely retreat. There was ample pool and beach space. The small shop in the foyer was open long hours which allowed travelers to purchase anything they might want or need. I felt that with additional daily charges for Internet and parking, the cost overweighed the benefits of the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your family holiday vacation! We know that you have many choices when it comes to accommodations here in Naples, and we really appreciate you selecting our boutique resort for this special family event. Thank you also for your thorough review, as we know that many potential guests look to TripAdvisor to get a feel for what we have to offer here at LaPlaya.

The Thanksgiving week was indeed a bit cooler this year, but it’s nice to see that you were able to get out to the beach on at least one of your days. The sand on Vanderbilt Beach is indeed some of the best in the world. Combined with our new padded lounge chairs and upgraded umbrellas, it is truly a great combination for a relaxing day. Unfortunately, I am sorry that you had to experience the disruption between those nearby guests, and am pleased to read that our management team was able to resolve the situation as efficiently and professionally as possible. It is indeed a very unusual occurrence, particularly here at LaPlaya.

The level of comfort and enjoyment of your guestroom is a very important part of any stay, and your feedback regarding your experience is most appreciated. Having recently redesigned all our guestrooms, we once again took the opportunity to continue our Old Florida theme with new case goods, artwork, and lighting. It’s a pleasure to receive positive feedback on these choices. As for those additional guest items that would have helped make your visit a little more enjoyable, we do offer most of them on a request basis. That being said, we are always reevaluating our amenities in our guestrooms as we want our guests to exert as little effort as possible in order to receive the items and services that they prefer. In the meantime, I have updated your profile so that these items are automatically provided on a future visit. Additionally, I have also dispatched our pest company to provide necessary outdoor treatments in the area near your guestroom. We normally are quite successful in keeping pests outdoors when they belong, and I am sorry for the unwelcome visitor that made its way into your bathroom.

While you overall had a lovely retreat, we understand that we need to continue to adapt our service and offerings in order to provide the value that you expect and deserve. Examples such as your salad request is a situation where our staff should have performed better, as well as a greater overall presence from our entire team (not just our wonderful valet and housekeeping staff). We have already shared your review with the entire staff, and we will strive to do better in order to earn your business back once again in the future.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back someday soon. If I may be of any assistance now, or in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just returned from a Thanksgiving holiday with the extended family at La Playa. Positives include great location, beautiful, expansive beach, good service, large rooms and great beds. However, in my experience, there are better luxury properties for the money. The rooms had a foul odor, there were clearly visible worn spots in bathroom and patio, the breakfast buffet was sparse and expensive, and the pool was tiny (much smaller than it looked in the pictures). Also, our room had an exterior entry in front of the steps (vs. the interior hallway for all other rooms) - which was strange. All told, we liked it but didn't love it and would look for a better property, given the price point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for rating your LaPlaya experience on Trip Advisor. At LaPlaya we strive for memorable experiences and our goal is for each guest to leave satisfied. Clearly, we missed the mark with your stay, and I apologize for that.

Your positive comments such as location, service, beach, and great beds are all noted and appreciated. We are glad that you were able to take some positives out of your stay, even though there were certainly aspects with improvement needed. Based on your description, it appears you stayed in one of our north end Beach House rooms. We have many guests who request those specific rooms given their uniqueness, but I can also appreciate if you wanted a interior corridor room. Your guestroom was also located near the smallest of our 3 pools. Some guests enjoy this pool as it's generally "quieter" than the other pools on property, although it is smaller.

Your comments on the condition of your guestroom are noted. Considering we only have a few of the rooms you described our housekeeping team will run through them today to investigate your comments on the foul odor.

I wish your stay you have went better, and I'm sorry it did not. If you have any additional details regarding your visit that you would like to share with me, please call. While we love reading the many glowing reviews of LaPlaya on Trip Advisor, as difficult as it is, reviews such as yours make LaPlaya a better place for all of our future guests as well. We take pride in learning and always knowing we can do better.

Thank you for your feedback,

Jason K. Moll
Director of Rooms
239-598-5114
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples

Address: 9891 Gulf Shore Drive, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Naples
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#1 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#1 Spa Hotel in Naples
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#1 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Naples Florida
Naples La Playa Resort
Naples La Playa Beach
Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Beach Resort Naples
La Playa Resort Naples
Laplaya Beach And Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.