We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous couples escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples

Save Saved
You added LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9891 Gulf Shore Drive, Naples, FL 34108 (North Naples)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$75 per day resort credit
Ranked #3 of 59 hotels in Naples
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous couples escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in July 2012 in a 3rd floor ocean view room in the Beach House. The room had a feel of understated luxury, with a 4 poster king bed. The large balcony had 2 sun loungers and a table and 2 chairs and had a fabulous view of the Gulf. The service throughout the hotel was very good, although somewhat slow on the beach. Breakfast was good and not over priced for the type of hotel. We had a disappointing meal at Baleen, which is definitely over priced. The sunset view from the terrace was amazing and went some way to making up for the bad food. The burger from the Tiki bar at lunchtime was one of the best burgers we have ever had. The frozen drinks from the Tiki bar were also good. The valet parking service was exceptional; one evening when returning we told the guy in passing that we were leaving at 7 the next day to go to the Everglades and when we called the next morning to ask for the car to be brought round it was already there. The hotel overall had a chilled, relaxed feeling, it's high end without being pretentious or stuffy. I would definitely recommend it for a romantic couples break, its not so much family place or for young people seeking excitement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for selecting LaPlaya for your couples escape!

I think our marketing team couldn't have put it any better - "understated luxury!". Our team strives to provide our guests with a experience they will enjoy, remember, and consider returning to again and again!

For the most part, it appears based on your review that we met or exceeded your expectations. I apologize that your experience in Baleen was not typical that our guests have come to expect. I have forwarded your review to them, and we will use it as a tool to remember that each day, each guest, expect our LaPlaya experience.

Thank you for your visit, and we hope when a couples trip comes up again that LaPlaya is considered!

Jason K. Moll
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    233
    71
    39
    21
See reviews for
314
567
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our second visit to La Playa and I am pleased to report it totally exceeded our expectations once again. The location is great and in easy reach of good restaurants, shops etc. The grounds and facilities are beautifully maintained and rooms were light, bright, airy and clean. We stayed in the Beach House with an ocean view and this was really an extra bonus being able to hear the waves crashing each morning. The staff are so polite and friendly - they just cant do enough for you and make you feel pampered and important. I particularly remember Billy and Andrew...Billy the bartender who makes the best Sunset on the Beach Cocktails and Andrew the waiter who kept them coming regularly throug the week. We had a fantastic week and will definately be returning again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for returning to LaPlaya for your recent weeklong vacation! We are always looking to create new fans of our boutique resort – and we’re pleased that your second visit was just as good as your first. Consistency in the cleanliness of our facility, the quality of our food & beverage, and the friendly & attentive nature of our staff is of utmost importance to our mission – and it’s great to read that we continue to excel in these areas.

Thank you for also recognizing Billy and Andrew by name in your review. We will be sure to share your comments with them, as well as provide the extra recognition that they deserve.

We truly appreciate your review and support of LaPlaya – and hope to welcome you back for a third visit someday soon.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed a few days. The hotel was beautiful; clean, fabulous views, very attentive staff, excellent decor etc. However, after paying a lot of money for a room we did feel that the sunbeds and towels should certainly have been free! When we questioned that we hadn't used them for one day we were still expected to pay the $17. The $17 is obviously expected whether the facility is used or not so should have been included in the hotel price up-front. The charges for valet parking were high (but expected) but tipping the very helpful men who parked the car soon mounted up as yet another extra. This was one of the most lovely hotels we have ever stayed at, but the extra charges did leave a bit of a sour taste.

Room Tip: High room facing the sea for a spectacualr view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing LaPlaya for your recent visit to Naples! We’re pleased that you had an enjoyable visit, yet also wanted to offer our apologies for any disappointment with our $17 resort fee. We do charge this on a nightly basis and it does cover popular items such as wireless internet, beach chairs & umbrellas on the beach, and the fitness center/fitness classes. We do share this information with all guests that book directly with us, as well as with third party booking agents. If your booking agent did not share this information with you, please contact me directly so that I may address with your booking company. We want to ensure that this information is clear regardless of the booking method.

In addition, please feel free to contact me the next time you are looking to return to Naples. We offer several packages throughout the year that already include both our resort fee and valet parking fee, as well as other perks depending on the package. The package rate will show higher than some of our promotional rates, but given the inclusions it often proves to be the best value.

Thank you again for your visit and for sharing your experience. We hope to be of service once again on a future trip to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first visit to LaPlaya, and we were very pleased. The staff is the best. Everyone was very friendly, always asking if they could help us is any way. Rarely do you experience this level of sincere customer appreciation that we found here. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, as are the rooms. Our room was in the building across the street. Even though we were not in the main building, we had a wonderful view of the ocean and the sunset.

Room Tip: If you stay in the building across the street, ask for a gulf view and it will be just as nice as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of LaPlaya! We know that you have several options when it comes to your accommodations, so we appreciate you choosing us for your recent trip. It’s great to see that you enjoyed our facility and location – as well as the friendly, sincere service of our entire staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Naples.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We saw the high ratings and location and thought we'd have a great getaway.
Resort wasn't very modern or convenient.
Much better options for the money.
Do not recommend it.
Pools were nice, beach was decent, the rest was very forgettable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to LaPlaya. Unfortunately, I am sorry that overall we did not prove to be the destination you were looking for here in Naples. When it comes to the overall look and feel of our property, we do aim for a theme which conveys an “Old Florida” charm. Many of our new designs and furnishings in our guestrooms and public areas continue to exhibit this theme rather than a modern impression. Our boutique resort does also consist of three accommodation buildings, which does allow for many different room type options. While our resort does reside in a mostly residential area that provides for a peaceful location, some guests do prefer to have a car to travel to some of the entertainment & dining areas. Being a landmark of the Naples community, we continue to strive to offer a high level of service and a well maintained facility in our efforts to ensure a positive experience.

We appreciate you choosing us for your trip and thank you for your feedback. If I can be of any assistance on a future visit to Naples, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
cgrossman@laplayaresort.com
239.597.3123 Ext. 5916
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent a short getaway- just 2 nights - at La Playa last week and loved it! Food and drinks were very good, oceanfront room had gorgeous view and large balcony, entry of chairs at the pools, excellent service from all staff members. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
To start, allow me to comment on that great picture of the sunset you took from the balcony of your guestroom! Our beachfront rooms in the Beach House do allow for some great views, and we couldn’t be happier to read about your overall wonderful experience.

Thank you again for your visit and support. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I couldn't have had a more relaxed and wonderful time at La Playa. The staff were courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. I often found myself tipping more than the average 20% because the staff were so good. The property is immaculately clean and the rooms never disappoint. The seafood was fresh and tasty. I spent my days on the beach and didn't even bother leave the property because between the ocean and the spa treatments I was completely satisfied. I will definitely visit again in the future. So if you are considering this property, I say go for it! NOW!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice but if you can request an ocean facing room all the better because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Manager at LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of your recent visit to LaPlaya! Recommendations from our past guests are incredibly important to us, so a review like yours is very valuable to our entire team and operation.

Additionally, we appreciate you taking a moment to recognize the great service you received during your visit. We share all our guest reviews and comments with our entire team, and they will certainly be happy to receive your praise.

Thank you again for your visit and support. Our beach and spa teams await your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Chris Grossman
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples

Also Known As:
La Playa Beach Resort
La Playa Beach Hotel
La Playa Naples Florida
Naples La Playa Resort
Playa Beach Hotel
Naples La Playa Beach
La Playa Beach Resort Naples
La Playa Naples
La Playa Resort Naples
Laplaya Beach And Golf Resort
Address: 9891 Gulf Shore Drive, Naples, FL 34108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#1 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#2 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaPlaya Beach & Golf Resort Naples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.