We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a nice hotel but the staff has a bad attitude.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn 5th Ave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Inn 5th Ave to your Saves list
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 5th Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could be a nice hotel but the staff has a bad attitude.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location was great, but every interaction we had with the staff was unpleasant. They were not at all friendly or helpful. Example: The maid did not service our room on the first day, despite the fact that we were out of the room from 10 am to 3 pm. When we mentioned it to the front desk, they said that maid service was in the morning (i.e., it was too late now) but they would bring us some clean towels. When we returned from dinner at 7 pm, there were still no towels and the desk staff made no apology for the lack of follow-through. No one is perfect, but the response to this and other requests was very poor. If the staff could improve their attitudes and show some courtesy, this would be a much nicer place to stay. As it is, though, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms close to the lobby on the first floor - you'll hear EVERYTHING. The elevator is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Im so sorry. We have been having some challenges in our front desk department. As I have mentioned in previous reviews, this is a very recent condition and we have been diligently making the necessary steps to remedy this situation. Im very sorry that you were affected by this. We want so much for our guests to feel welcome and cared for from the moment they arrive to the moment that they depart. Thank you for your nice review. Please do return to us in the future and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    176
    91
    45
    30
See reviews for
93
280
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

2 of my girlfriends and I went on a weekend trip for Memorial Day. We found this hotel online and the one girlfriend found it on the Delta website for a good rate. First of all the photos online are very deceiving. It's a very old, run down place where they have made an effort to fix up some areas however other aspects have gone completely untouched. Bathrooms had upgraded amenities however bad patchwork and cracks all over in the walls in the bedroom.

We called to see if our room might be ready around 2 to check in and we were told it was. When we arrived at the hotel we were given our keys to a Bay view 2 double bed room which we booked. We opened the door and the room had 1 king size bed and had a view of the road.

Two of us stayed up with our luggage on the third floor (no door man to help) while the other went down to fix the room. After about 20 minutes of discussion with the front desk staff the only thing they were willing to do was to bring in a rollaway bed and credit us $50. There was barely enough room to walk in the room let alone bring in a rollaway bed.

After I went down to the desk and after threatening to write a review on every travel website I could find about the poor treatment the manager finally came out and agreed to put us in the room we had originally booked and paid for. This took one very nice member of our party trying to explain the situation and get it fixe and one not so nice experienced marketing specialist to tell them exactly what was going to happen if they kept this treatment up and this took a good 30 minutes to straighten out. No one helped us with our bags. No one apologized and said "let us have you take a seat at the bar and we will hold onto your luggage as we figure this out", they had the attitude of "oh well.... cram into a king size bed you three girls."

Our room overlooked a dumpster, was not very clean, pool extremely small, breakfast buffet poor.... I could go on and on.

We overheard 2 other guests having similar issues. Good location. Would not recommend paying more than $80/night for a place like this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am so sorry that we made a mistake when booking your reservation. We are in the process of making some needed changes in our front desk department and are in a bit of a transition stage. Im very sorry that you were inconvenienced by this and I understand your frustration. There were some other things that you stated in your review that confused me a little like "deceiving pictures on our website", "old and rundown", "cracks all over in the walls in the bedroom". Im not sure why you chose to add these things to your review. These are not typical comments that we see on Trip Advisor. I did check your guest room and I did see several cracks in the caulk under your window sill but none in the walls of your room. I will make sure that our maintenance department repairs these right away. Sometimes when a guest gets really mad about something, like not having the correct room type, it can affect their entire hotel experience. I am so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. How about a complementary do over? We would love the opportunity to win your approval. Please contact me at generalmanager@bayfrontinnnaples.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel & we were not disappointed, beautiful views, rooms nice and comfortable, loved the shower room.

Staff excellent always smiling

The only negative was the bottle of water left in the room if you drank it, it would cost you I think it was $3, surely this hotel could afford to give you complimentary water

Annie

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for coming back! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly do appreciate your loyalty. I am sorry that we do not offer complementary water in our guest rooms. This is more of a guest convenience item and we do offer bottles water in our gift shop for only $1.50 per bottle. Next time you stay with us please accept the bottled water in your guest room with our complements. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bayfront Inn for two nights on the start of our road trip around the florida. The hotel is in a great location, five minutes walk to 5th avenue and right next to Tin City...however we found the hotel to be a bit of a disappointment.

We had booked online, and yes we got a good deal so I wasn't expecting a brilliant room..however we got the dreaded room 112! ( see review below). We were not told that the room was a disabled room, nor that it was directly next to the lobby and elevator shaft and therefore very noisy..which wasn't appreciated after a 9 hour flight! All night we heard the elevator shaft going up and down - it was impossible to sleep and drove us crazy! Upon complaining, reception claimed they had no idea what the noise was and that the hotel was fully booked therefore we could not change.

The following morning..after complaining again, we were very kindly switched to a much nicer and quieter room for the following night with no extra charge. We were also informed that room 112 received numerous complaints and that they planned to take it out of use...not sure why we were not pre warned of this?! Also not sure why reception claimed to have no clue what we were talking about the previous night!

Overall I didn't feel that the rooms were very clean..bedding in particular felt a bit grimy. After finding hairs on my pillow i slept with my own towel as a pillow case.

We had one drink at the Bar after dinner, however the staff were very unwelcoming and quite impolitely informed us that the bar was closing in ten minutes - we felt like a nuisance ordering a drink before bed..quite bizarre at 9:50pm!?

Pool area is nice, a bit noisy by the main road but overall okay.

Yes the hotel is in a great location, however we did spend a further 5 nights in Naples at two other hotels and feel that there is certainly better hotels within the same price budget.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Im so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I would like to point out though that you were assigned a disabled room because that is the room type that you selected when you made your reservation. Many guests will select a handicap room because the rates are generally lower than a standard room. While many will take advantage of a handicap room because of the low rate there are disadvantages to booking a handicap room. Most handicap rooms by necessity will be located in well traveled areas and in close proximity to the elevators. While this is a desirable feature for someone who may be disabled, a handicap room is not a standard room and guests who book a handicap room as an effort to save some money should be aware of this. I am sorry we were not able to change the location of your room the first night of your stay. Our hotel is frequently sold out, especially on weekends and this can cause a challenge in the event of a last minute room change. I am happy that we were able to accommodate your second night stay with a complementary upgrade. Room 112 is going to be taken off of the market, however this is not due to complaints. Our entire south wing of our first floor which includes room 112 is going to be converted to banquet, meeting room space, and spa and fitness areas. Im very sorry that you had issues with housekeeping, this is a very unusual complaint, and I will certainly discuss your review with our housekeeping manager. I am also very sorry that by announcing the closing of the bar that the bartender made you feel unwelcome, I will be discussing your review with our food and beverage manager. If you would please contact me by email with the details of your stay I would like to provide you with some consideration regarding the issues that you experienced while staying at our hotel. I am so sorry again that we have disappointed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend – just a little escape to get away from it all and we were very pleased. We had a small but very quiet room on the 4th floor. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.
I have to say that the greatest asset to the hotel is their outdoor restaurant. The waiters and bartenders are absolutely fantastic. They always have a smile on their face and they are extremely accommodating. They have a good Happy Hour with live music which is awesome. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the famed 5th Ave. Tin City is right next door and we were lucky enough to be there for their Blues and BBQ festival.
Housekeeping was also very friendly. They always had a smile and were non-intrusive.
Pool area is small however, it is very, very clean and we had no problems obtaining a spot in the sun.
We had the “Make a Memory” package which gave us a $50 credit to use at the hotel (this went a loooong way during Happy Hour) and our choice of a sightseeing cruise or trolley tour. We opted for the sunset cruise and it was fantastic.
Had the women at the front desk been as cheerful and helpful as everyone else, this hotel would have gotten a 5th star!

Room Tip: Happy Hour is from 4 - 7! DON'T MISS IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and especially our waterside terrace. I am so sorry that our front desk staff was not as cheerful or helpful as they should have been. Please know that our front desk department has a very good leader who is aware of these recent challenges and is making the necessary changes. Please do come back and stay with us again.We take all of our Trip Advisor reviews very seriously and where change is needed change is made. Thank you for your nice review and your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went for a quick weekend getaway. Outside bar is nice for drinks and appetizers. It's within walking distance to several restaurants and a $5 cab ride to the heart of things. Pool was nice and secluded.

Room Tip: Get a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us entertaining, comfortable, and convenient. We hope that you will come back and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visit Naples almost every year. Bayfront Inn on 5th is always our hotel of choice. It's a wonderful Boutique Hotel perfectly located to enjoy the great things about Naples while offering a full compliment of services and a wide variety of amenities (including boats and kayaks since its literally on the bay). We love it and bet you'll love it, too:-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-BarryGHiggins, General Manager at Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for trusting us so many times. As much as you like us already, we want you to know that we are committed to continue improving your guest experience. Thank you for writing such a nice review of our property. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn 5th Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn 5th Ave

Address: 1221 5th Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Inn 5th Ave 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfront Inn on Fifth has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation to become Naples only waterfront downtown luxury boutique hotel. Discover our Caribbean chic decor, while your senses are relaxed into a state of bliss. We are conveniently located on 5th Ave., within walking distance to gourmet restaurants, shopping, art galleries and night life. Discover the Naples waterways with a charter boat or one of our experienced fishing captains, located at our 12 slip marina. We invite you to explore the tastes of the tropics with a romantic getaway filled with tropical sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bayfront Inn 5th Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave Hotel Naples
Bayfront Hotel Naples
Bayfront Hotel 5th Ave

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn 5th Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.